Thanos Demands Your Silence: AKA don't be a jerk

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

The culmination to 10 years of Marvel Cinematic Universe movies, a total of 19 now has led us to Avengers: Infinity War which was released in theaters yesterday. I have several friends I want to see this movie with, but due to their schedules they cannot see the movie until monday. Typically I would go opening night, or VERY soon after for the pure purpose of avoiding spoilers. Sometimes, I don't even watch the final few trailers to keep as much of it a surprise as possible.

Something that came as a surprise to me which I really appreciated is the trending tag across various social media platforms...

#THANOSDEMANDSYOURSILENCE

This picture surfaced a week or so back, and has been passed around the internet enough that I can't find its original source, but it was sent to the public as a gentle reminder not to spoil the movie for others.

One of the most annoying things I have seen recently is the rise of movie spoilers. Don't get me wrong, I love trolling as much as anyone, but there is something extremely frustrating on all sides about having someone spoil a movie.

  • You ruin it for the people who worked for years making it

Seriously... people have spent years making this movie. They worked for hours upon hours. All of them signed non-disclosure agreements, some before they even knew what it was for. These actors, artists, and producers have maintained the highest level of secrecy they can in order to give the fans the purest experience possible.

  • You ruin it for the fan that may have been waiting for it even longer

The second I saw Thanos' face at the end credits of the first Avengers, I immediately knew they were going to do an Infinity Gauntlet arc. I promptly freaked out, and tried to explain the gravity of the situation to a friend who was not quite aware of that comic event. A friend of mine whos favorite character is Thanos, and has a Thanos collection will have to wait a few days before seeing the movie. He has wanted to see this since before we had multiple multi million dollar Marvel movie franchises, before Marvel movies even existed, dreamed of an Infinity Gauntlet movie. "Dude, what if they made this into a movie, how cool would that be" ... not ever thinking that could happen. Well now it is... imagine now that you have waited most of your life for a movie to exist, with your favorite character... and then someone ruined it before you had a chance to see it...

  • You ruin any chance for not being punched in the throat being a decent person

It is not trolling to spoil a movie. It is just a person who can't find joy trying to ruin other peoples happiness. Don't be that guy, if you find yourself wanting to do it... don't. In the immortal words of Dwight Schrute Whenever I'm about to do something, I think, "Would an idiot do that?" And if they would, I do not do that thing.

monster footer.jpg

Check out my other nerdy posts:

Let me buy you comics
Start your comic collection
Starlord and Ego Action figures
DEADPOOL

Sort:  

JFK kills Harry Potter.
This is probably just a publicity stunt. The plot will be that the fifth element is love. It's always love.
Edit: I don't even believe in spoilers. I can't think of a single good movie I've seen where knowing some arbitrary plot point made me like it less. This could be self-selection.

I hear you. I know I will enjoy it anyways but if there are plot twists, I want to enjoy the surprise of the plot twist as it is happening, not before without context

It's more about people being assholes, than the information itself.

Some people are just assholes, because they were born as one. No traumatic childhood or anything like that.

The movie is awesome. the folk behind Star Wars need to take notes.

Not even probably 20 minutes after I got off discord with you last night someone on reddit felt like being an asshole, so I already got hit with a spoiler on two character deaths that I wasn't expecting. So, that's fun.

Yeah looking for the source to that pic i saw people trying to spoil. I literally just would panic scroll. I don't have any spoilers and am staying off most social media

Definitely a smart idea. I got off reddit after that and won't be going back until after I see the movie. Staying off imgur and twitter as much as possible as well. Just fucking sucks that I already know what's happening to several characters now that I would have never fucking expected. God damn it.

At least on steemit if someone spoils they can be flagged into oblivion

Interestingly, there was an experiment done a while back which concluded that, even though people seem to hate spoilers, on average people for which a story has been "spoiled" seem to actually enjoy that story even more.

Here's an article on it. They recklessly throw some (somewhat stale) spoilers in there just to make a point... so, watch out for that, I guess, if you are the type of person who gets angry if you are spoiled for something that is several years old.

I tend to split story-spoilers into three groups:

  • The Oblivious: the possiblity simply never occurs to these people that someone else did not see the same movie they did on the premier weekend.
  • The Malicious: these are the "trolls." They just want to see people squirm. I suppose we are not such different people, because incidentally, I wouldn't mind seeing these people squirm for one reason or another.
  • The Marketing Team: seriously! Movie trailers are getting ridiculous. By the time I have seen the 6th different trailer for the movie, there are fewer "big moments" that I haven't already seen. I avoid them like the plague. Same goes for reviews.

I agree, trailers give FAR too much away lately. Luckily Marvel has been doing somewhat well on that front though

I have been waiting for that movie since I saw the last avengers then watched the unveiling of some characters at Comicon. The infinity stones have been on my mind and I wonder.

Some quick poke at your brain, in Thor: Ragnarok, a gold glove is shown before Hela gets the flame. She does not see value in the glove. Was that the gauntlet without the stones or something else? Or was it a fake?

It was a fake gauntlet in Odins vault. Thanos has the real one

You are the reason why I am starting to understand comics better. This tradition is not ours I tell you :D

You got a 95.16% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @saywha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31