Start Your Collection Today - Cheap(ish) Comic Reads For People Who Aren't Comic Collectors (Yet)

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

collection.jpg

I love the idea that @modernzorker came up with in his post here that I also resteemed yesterday. He encouraged a few of us in the comics community to do the same, and I really love the idea. It is a super fun hobby, and considering I am fairly new to collecting, I feel like I can help guide a newer reader.

I have a bit different perspective when buying comics, I am basically 100% in it for the story. I don't really care about "collecting" a rare issue, or finding mint vintage finds. What I do care about, are quality stories with my favorite characters... and being able to read that story from start to finish (whenever possible).

My biggest hurdle in getting into comics was not knowing where to start.

"Do I have to start at #1?" "Well this character was introduced in the 57th issue of a totally different character... do I need all those too??" "I like (Insert Character), I just wanna read about them"

The answer to all of your concerns are 3 words...

Trade Paper Back

A trade paper back (or TPB) simply put, is a collection of single issue comics. Usually they will have an entire story-arch or atleast a good chunk of it. Some huge stories may come as several volumes... even then there will be a clear Vol 1, Vol 2, Vol 3, etc... As a fairly new reader, these have been my saving grace for my sanity, and my need to finish a story once I start it. I highly recommend going this route to start if you are new, and want some *good storylines.


For ease of transition, I am going to recommend two Fantastic stories that are in TPB, that were both recently adapted into movies that you have probably already seen. These are two of my favorite comic storylines, and the movies based on them also happen to be two of my favorites.

Old Man Logan

Old Man Logan

At $13-$15 and no prior knowledge needed this has to be one of the best stories you can read. It is a treasure trove of easter eggs, fan favorite characters, and some of the coolest and most brutal panels you could hope to read. The art in this is fantastic, and the story line is probably my favorite thus far. The plot twist in this book literally made me stand up, and yell "OH MY GOD, WHAAAAAAAAAATTT???!?!?"

Obviously the recent movie Logan was loosely based on this idea. While a totally different story, it still has the same vibe of ... Western/Horror/Thriller.

Planet Hulk

Planet Hulk

Slightly more expensive around $16+ is Planet Hulk. Trust me though, that with that couple extra bucks, you get about 2-3x the reading material. This is a HULK of a book, one of the biggest I've read. This is another that is not lacking in plot, it keeps you intrigued in the drama/war/journey the entire time. You get to see the Hulk rise to greatness in this book, and it created what I think is the coolest hulk design of all time. The Gladiator Hulk, whom, if you have seen Thor: Ragnarok you are familiar with. That hulk design alone has caused me to make fan art, go see the movie opening day, and buy an expensive action figure haha.

This book is continued into a storyline called World War Hulk that is also available in TPB, but is not necessary for you to feel as if you "finished" the Planet Hulk story. This is also the beginning of "World Breaker Hulk" which is considered to be one of, if not THE strongest iterations of the Hulk ever.

monster footer.jpg

My last few nerd posts:

Starlord and Ego Action figures
DEADPOOL
Pokemon Collection

Sort:  

Upvoted and resteemed right back at ya! Thanks for picking up the torch and running with it. The Planet/World War/World Breaker Hulk series is an insanely awesome read, not to mention fodder for my favorite "Who would win...?" hypothetical of all time: World Breaker Hulk vs. Doomsday.

Arguments on this front go back and forth, and I think it's fair to say there's no easy answer. What's especially amusing to me is that DEATH BATTLE!'s take on the fight comes out one way, while Epic Battle!'s opinion swings the other.

Apparently if you ever want to start a grudge patch on a comic book forum, just posit this question and sit back to watch the sparks fly! :D

Hulk always wins. Period ;)

.
.
.
Unless its Old Man Logan xD

Clearly I need to re-think my upvote from before! LOL. ;)

... and that kids is how the great flag war of the nerds began

you guys crack me up 🤣🤠

y’know, I think these kinds of posts are tops for growing our Steemit comics community. Will do my own rendition soon !

Resteemed this shiznit

I can't wait to see what you come up with, @steven.nam. But you better side with the right side in the great Doomsday vs. Hulk debate, if you know what's good for ya. :D

I see Speedball taking them both down...

Not mine, but: F2963702-71C0-41BF-84AE-90AAECCED866.jpeg

POKKA time...!

Those are classics on my to read list indeed. But I have to say, although I read mostly in digital format, when I saw an old issue of Ms. Marvel from the 70s on sale I bought it.

@saywha good post... awesome

You got a 100.00% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @saywha!

Even new ones have similar price in my country unfortunately. That's why nerds don't read comic books here lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55981.35
ETH 2368.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35