Exposition Time | Comic Update #11

in #comics6 years ago

This where the story really starts and when I say "really starts", that sounds a lot more exciting than I mean it to be. I mean it in the,"this is the first chronological event that begins the story" kind of way. After jumping right into the action in the previous pages, I'm dialing it down a bit for some exposition time. We learn a little bit about the setting and who the main character is.

Page_4.jpg

I was thinking of ways I could reveal that the main character is an immigrant without her being like, "Hello, tis I the foreigner" so I decided to have these two men in the background serve to deliver that exposition. They hear her accent and spout some xenophobic nonsense which also serves to establish the anti-immigrant sentiment America had at the time (and unfortunately still has). For a country "built on immigration", America sure has had a hard time accepting them. In this story, I thought it would be interesting to incorporate actual quotes from the time whenever I have characters spout off anti-immigrant sentiment.

Page_5.jpg

And then we meet Hugh Jackman, I mean Top Hat McGee, I mean Everett! He's a well-off tailor with whom the main character, Imelda, will be employed under. Both Imelda and Everett wear a certain facade to hide the aspects of their lives they need to keep secret in order to fit into Victorian society but they have different ways of hiding it. So, I'm not sure if that makes them foil characters; they have similar situations but handle things in opposite ways. I don't know...literary people of Steemit, help a girl out.


[insert comic name here] is a gothic style story set in the 19th century about an immigrant houseworker who uses the spiritualist movement to rebel against the societal pressures of the time. If you would like to read the previous updates about this story, you can find them in the links below:

Update 1: Progress
Update 2: Perspective is The Worst
Update 3: Art Hacks
Update 4: Establishing Shots
Update 5: Changes
Update 6: Loving/Hating Your Work
Update 7: New Techniques
Update 8: Speed Draw
Update 9: Quick Update
Update 10: In Media Res



Thanks for Reading!

If you'd like to keep up with more of my work you can check me out at the following:

Instagram: @la.fumettista
Tumblr: http://la-fumettista.tumblr.com/tagged/art
Twitter: @TheresaChiechi
Website: https://www.theresachiechi.com/

Sort:  

I don't know, her jumping off the coach, her skirt whipping in the wind, and shouting with a mad cackle, "Tis I, the foreigner!" could be kind of amazing.

You know what, you're right. Scratch everything! We're doing it that way!

I love the combination of the bleed panels mixed with the trimmed ones. Tasty 🎖

love it <3 the dark spaces are used so effectively both as layout and as shadows of the houses. the flow from panel to panel is also delicious <3 <3 <3

upvotes

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62352.72
ETH 2953.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62