The Things We Do For Art | Comic Progress Update #2

in #comics6 years ago

The Perils of Perspective

So this page was a little bit of a doozy.

This is the third page of my new comic, still untitled (if anyone wants to come up with a cool name I'll draw you in somewhere). Last night I updated you guys on the first two pages, which you can read about here. You can also take a look at the thumbnails again from that post, I didn't feel the need to repost them here since nothing really changes from the thumbs to the roughs.

Page_3.jpg

From the thumbs to the roughs, I really loved the layout of this page. The page flow seemed to really work and it felt like a nice way to punctuate the prologue of my comic. But getting the perspective down in the tight sketch was a bit of a nightmare.

I have a good enough understanding of perspective that can get me through most panel setups without an exact reference. But when it comes to extreme high or low angles, if I don't have a reference to look to it can take me a ridiculous amount of time to get it right.

This was the situation for the first panel. I spent hours and hours scouring google images to try to find the right reference but nothing was quite working. To make matters worse I also couldn't find images of women sitting in big poofy gowns at that exact angle either.

I tried making my own perspective grid but it didn't feel convincing and the drawing felt very stiff. I tried going off of my sketch and hoping that the perspective would magically turn out right in the tighter sketch; it did not. I even tried the dirty trick of drawing everything flat and using the distort tool to fake the perspective, sort of like this:

screenshot

photo source

But nothing seemed to work; I had drawn the first panel over and over and over again. I was nearing my wit's end. Then I thought if I couldn't find the right reference photo, I was just going to have to make it myself. So I walked around my room and found a couple of objects that I could use to recreate the setting.

unnamed-3.jpg

I like to call this piece, "Two Books, Some Jewelry Boxes, A Post-It Note, and Some Tissues". I felt like a mad woman and was praying no one in my house would walk in on me as I was setting everything up but sometimes these are the sort of things you have to do as an artist.

unnamed-1.jpg

unnamed-2.jpg

I also took a giant blanket and a pillow and set it up on some chairs to try to recreate the way a poofy dress would fold. These photos really made a difference when I sat back down to my computer.

Page_3.jpg

It's not quite perfect but sometimes you have to move on if you want to get a project done. I've had many a fellow artist not be able to complete a piece because they get hung up on an imperfection. The 2nd panel isn't as detailed as I wanted it either but I was running out of steam at that point and was ready to put this page to rest.

So that's my story. Overall I'm happy with how page three came out and I'm looking forward to more problem solving as I continue along with this project.

Thanks for reading!



If you'd like to keep up with more of my work you can check me out at the following:

Instagram: @la.fumettista
Tumblr: http://la-fumettista.tumblr.com/tagged/art
Twitter: @TheresaChiechi
Website: https://www.theresachiechi.com/

Sort:  

I just popped in to give you an upvote and compliment your work on Ithaqa. I'm pretty crazy about the color palette and the illustration is wonderful!

Still love seeing your work. Keep it up :)

Aww thank you :) That means so much to hear read!

such a good post with interesting insight into your pages ! <3 i love how you planned the page out and the references that you used really added to the details of the panels! really lovely post and pictures <3

Thank you! I find if I don't plan things out and make sure I have all the necassery references, my drawings never turn out the way I want them to.

I understand that, yes yes. Planning does help a lot, and it is something that I have to learn how to do better :) Looking forward to your posts, as always! :)

I continue to love the growth of your comic. I am of course loving the time period and fashion. The solution for your perspective was genius, I think. Have you thought about doll house size furniture and a doll house? I have one and I love it to collect, but you can also move things around and take a photo to get the perspective of a room. Just an idea. Keep it up, loving it!

Thank you for the feedback! I've always wanted a doll house, my great grandma used to have a gigantic one with every room perfectly decorated. And it would totally make finding/creating reference photos that much easier. Might be time to invest in one haha.

It was very cool reading about how you work through a problem! I think you managed to make it work in the end so I'm glad all of your effort wasn't in vain!

I feel slightly guilty for writing in so many aerial shots now haha

your drawing is exquisite

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47