Speed Drawing Comic Page | Comic Update #8

in #comics6 years ago

We're switching things up a little bit in this post with a video! I always wanted to try to screen capture some part of the art process and I finally got around to trying it. So this was a little bit of an experiment. I used QuickTime to record me inking page 6 of my comic and I think it went pretty well; I was super afraid that nothing would end up getting recorded or that it would slow down my computer too much. But it all worked out.

I'm just warning you now, it's pretty long so I won't be offended if you skip it or don't watch the whole thing. I think if I plan on doing more of these in the future, they will definitely be shorter.

But if you are curious to actually see how I ink my page, here you go:

You made it!

[If you watched the video] Wow, you made it through that way-too-long video! Congrats
(ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧ Scroll down for inked pages 5 & 6.

[If you skipped it] Listen buddy, I understand. Your time is valuable. No worries, you can still see some art down below!

Page 5

Page_5.jpg

We have a new character introduced, Top Hat McGee. By popular vote, his actual name is Everett. He's a well-off tailor with whom the main character will be employed under. I don't think I ever revealed the main character's name yet; I'm not 100% settled on it but I'm leaning towards Imelda. I'm still shopping around for more Victorian era names, so if you have a favorite old-timey names feel free to leave them in the comments below.

Page 6

Page_6.jpg

This was the page where the fun kicked in for me. Up until this point, inking these page had been a bit of a struggle and I wasn't too happy about how things were coming out. But 6 pages later, I started to become excited again about this project.

Thanks for reading!

End Questions:

  1. Would you like to see more speed draw videos from me in the future?
  2. Which male celebrity do you think Top Hat McGee Everett was inspired by?
  3. If you had to name a comic, hypothetically taking place in the Victorian era about the spiritualist movement, what would you title it? Hypothetically, of course.

[insert comic name here] is a gothic style story set in the 19th century about an immigrant houseworker who uses the spiritualist movement to rebel against the societal pressures of the time. If you would like to read the previous updates about this story, you can find them in the links below:

Update 1
Update 2
Update 3
Update 4
Update 5
Update 6
Update 7



If you'd like to keep up with more of my work you can check me out at the following:

Instagram: @la.fumettista
Tumblr: http://la-fumettista.tumblr.com/tagged/art
Twitter: @TheresaChiechi
Website: https://www.theresachiechi.com/

Sort:  

Lol, I don't know why but Everett in these panels reminds me of David Hasselhoff, from that movie he was a weird CEO of a company, charming and full of bravado! I am sure that it is not what you had in mind, but since you asked...

About the title, we don't know much about the story yet, the title should somehow reflect the protagonist's qualities or her progress, the events or the general feeling of the story, etc.

"Apparitions" and "Gaslight" are two words that come up, the first seems very Poe-tic (pun intended!) to me, the second coming straight from Cthulhu by Gaslight a great RPG set in that era. Gas light was used in the Victorian Age, and it would be interesting to see the beautiful shapes of chandeliers and wall brackets, and how that lighting works in your panels.

Haha, David Hasselhoff. That's funny, I can kind of see it! I had a mixture of Hugh Jackman and the actor who played Mr. Rochester is an old version of Jane Eyre.

Titles are always my least favorite part of the art process so I always leave it to the last possible minute. But Apparitions does have a good sound to it.

Very creative digital IllustrationsUpVoted

Hello @la-fumettista, we are a new community that wants to support talented people focused on art, pieces of work like illustrations (digital and traditional), music, photography, etc. We want to share and interact with other artists and help every quality creation reach every single part of the world. If you want, you could see our blog to more information! See you! 😄

I love this * __ * Your speed drawing video was just amazing <3

upvotes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47