POLIS: The Trial of Socrates - Kickstarter Update and another Inked page

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

KS_Ad1.jpg

So, things didn't go quite as hoped during my first attempt to raise funds on Kickstarter. With nine days left to go, there was just no way I was going to hit my funding goal, so I ended up canceling.


Source

But that doesn't mean I've given up! Frankly, I just don't think I had a large enough starting audience to reach the $8500 goal. And while that amount is what would allow me to break even after production of the book, printing, and postage, etc, I am way too invested in the story of Socrates to let it die there. So, I've cut the goal in approximately half, and I'll just have to pay the difference.

If you'd like to check out the new campaign, click HERE!

And, honestly, I've done very little to become better versed with the Fundition side of things, but I'm hoping support THERE will also help.

Now here's a look at page 2!

POLIS: The Trial of Socrates

A historical graphic novel that examines the events leading up to the trial and execution of Socrates in ancient Athens. On this page, Critias has fond memories of his philosophizing days with Socrates.

Socrates_002.jpg

Socrates_002_v2.jpg

SOC_PAGE_002.jpg

Here we get a glimpse of the Athenian Agora, or marketplace, where much of the city's commerce and conversation happened. You can see that I had Daniel reduce and inset panel 1 into panel 2 - so that the latter could have more of an impact. I really love that Monument to the Eponymous Heroes. And here we meet the young Plato for the first time.

Art by Daniel Becker.

Previous colored pages: Page 14-15 | Page 16 | Page 17 | Page 18 | Page 19


Thanks for your support and any feedback! Your upvote is definitely appreciated. I hope you'll stick around and watch it all come together.

Like what you see? Follow to watch history come to life! @jpgaltmiller

UP-VOTE -- RESTEEM -- FOLLOW


Recent posts:

Sort:  

Highly rEsteemed!

Never got to write to you, but today has been a Steemit-day. To warm to work anyway.

I have to do this myself in the near future so it is all very interesting to me to see all the damn hardship you are going through.

I pledged and I'll reshare.

Thanks! You know, I think it's always tough starting basically from scratch. I am hopeful that, when/if part one is successfully funded, parts 2 and 3 will come easier, because an audience will have built around it. All we can do is try!

My approach has been to try the creative commons way. I am slowly building up some readers (I have some people who know the complex story just as well as I do) but I am not sure I will be able to find the 80-100 people that will have to pay 30$ + mail for the hardcover version I would like to make. I know I should be starting asking around, but right now I am working on the second album and people have been tipping me in Bitcoins so i actually are not in a hurry yet... But I am going to do something like you soon. My two translators (@vcelier and @shortcut) have been talking about making it an exclusive Steem fundraiser and that could be the way I am going.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations @jpgaltmiller! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Backed the new campaign!

What is the meaning behind the green and blue colored pencil? Looks great, BTW. Sorry your Kickstarter didn't work out.

That's something that Daniel has done from the beginning. But I've asked him to deliver the drawings in layers, so that I can animate them for a motion comic later. So the different colors are mostly the different layers.

As for the Kickstarter, it's dead and resurrected. :) Still confident.

Interesting. Thanks. Fingers crossed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67167.83
ETH 3499.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81