The Wolf Mother Speaks (Comedy Open Mic #8)

in #comedyopenmic6 years ago (edited)

“Liam. No!” I don't even have to look at him to know what he's doing. But I can't hear him so he must be doing something I don't agree with.

A friend jokingly calls me “The Wolf Mother” and he's not wrong. I own four dogs. One of those, the biggest one, is a Czechoslovakian Wolfdog.

IMG_20170727_161658_164.jpg
Look at that face. How could you say no to that? And the dog is cute too, don't you think?

Genetically, Liam is about fifteen percent wolf. That number, however, is no guarantee for the amount of wolfish behaviour a wolfdog will exhibit. Physiologically, Liam is much more wolfish than his DNA would predict.

20170621_184209.jpg
Innocence personified. Right? Wrong!

I love him. Don't get me wrong. But not a week goes by when I don't think: “Goddamnit. He's going to live for ten more years.”

That dog is not only too smart for his own good. He's also creative and resourceful. That combination has me cursing his ass on an almost daily basis.

He opens every door. Every gate. You know those childproof safety gates that your average adult had trouble opening and closing? Yeah. Liam has no difficulty whatsoever.

He opens the fridge and the freezer and helps himself to an all-he-can-eat buffet. Of MY damn food. He likes fish fingers but gets tired of them when the box is half empty, leaving the rest to defrost on my kitchen floors.

David only has to come home to a crapton of fish fingers frying to know what happened. “Liam get into the freezer again?”

20140830_140330.jpg
The gluttonous beast in all its glory.

One time, I'd spent hours making mini frittatas to serve as finger food at a party. I had to get something from the shed and noticed one of Liam’s ears twitching. “Oh no, you don't, Bub,” I said. The wily beast was pretending to sleep, so I made him drag his ass off the couch and go outside with me.

He proceeded to play in the yard so I went around the back of the house to feed my Disney villains. (FYI: I don't have people or cartoon characters chained up in my shed. My chickens are named after Disney villains: Ursula, Yzma and Jafar.)

Anyway. I returned to the front of the house, only to see a big hairy butt shoot out of my open kitchen door and scoot around the house like the devil was after him, tail tucked between his legs. I already had an inkling of what he'd been up to and steam began to rise from my ears as I gritted my teeth.

“Goddamnit Liam! What did you do!?” I ran into my kitchen to find my oven door open. The mini frittatas I'd slaved over gone. Not a crumb left.

That jackass opened a kitchen door with a handle that sticks, as well as the door of my oven while it was still on! He then managed to grab scorching hot frittatas from equally hot molds AND HE DIDN'T EVEN HAVE THE DECENCY TO BURN HIS TONGUE!

The culprit crawled back around, staring at me from the doorway of my kitchen, tongue lolling out. Trying to look relaxed but I knew he'd bolt at the first sign of rage. I also knew it was no use planting my foot against his ass. I was more likely to break my toe than to do more than tickle him. Goddamnit.

I called my significant other. “YOUR DOG ATE MY FRITTATAS!”

Sputtering greeted me from the other end of the line. “Now hon. Calm down.”

If there's one thing you shouldn't do when I'm pissed off, it's telling me to calm down. That's the day my husband finally learned that lesson. I think. Time will tell.

Now… There are perks to having a huge, wolfish-looking dog with a yellow-eyed death stare. I can walk through the busiest, most crowded marketplace or fair or carnival. People will always give me plenty space.

If they don't at first, they learn quickly after Liam has tried to grab the hotdog from their hands as they try to bite into it.

Sometimes people walk up to me and ask to pet him and he loves that and will charm the pants off them. Especially if they smell like they're carrying edible or semi-edible goods.

“Wow, Miss. That is one gorgeous dog. Where did you get it?”

I never answer that question. He's beautiful, and he's sweet and I love him. But he's not the type of pet you get without preparation or without copious experience handling dogs.

And as much as I love him, I don't think my family will ever be ready for another idiot like him.

What are your experiences with smartass pets? Misery loves company so do share. ;-)

Hugs

Tiny

P.S. I nominate @swelker101 (sorry Shane!) and @hispeedimagins


If you would like to read some of my work, feel free to have a look around on my off-Steem blog page by clicking the banner. My library there contains all of the pieces I’ve written since starting my blockchain adventure.








The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

Especially if they smell like they're carrying edible or semi-edible goods.

He's 15% wolf! Everyone is edible goods!

He's actually very people-friendly. Loves kids, and will tolerate anything from them.

I for one, welcome our new dog overlords.

I believe Cesar to be a more appropriate name for him...

Well, his other names are Jackass and Fathead (his head takes up my entire lap), do you like those better? ;-)

It was probably too obscure. I meant Cesar as in planet of the apes, first ape to learn to talk. The way Liam is progressing I feel like this is appropriate:

  1. Step 1 open doors
  2. Step 2 eat cookies
  3. Step 3 ??????
  4. Step 4 Take over the world.

Ooooh. Never watched any of those movies...
God forbid he should learn to talk. shudders

What would his first words be?

My dog knows the word fart. She will disappear real fast if you accuse her.

Very smart of her. That's my kind of dog. ;-)

I'm laughing so hard at this. He's like a toddler, getting in everywhere and making you pull hair out. But he's such an adorable oaf.

He can be adorable when he wants to. You should have seen him as a puppy.

Hope you have pics to spam...

Well, if I had smart pets, I'd share. :P
Nah. My cat's smart, I guess. She just doesn't do anything to prove it. She listens to metal music with me and likes to look out of blinds.
My dog is my mom's faithful companion and, if you're eating something good, she'll jump up on the bench with you and tuck her head under your arm, like "Not auspiciously kissing serious butt or anything."
Your pupper's a looker! I doubt I could handle him though D:

Thanks. Been awhile since anyone called him a pupper but yeah, he's kinda cute. I have to admit. ;-)

I kinda call everyone and everything either a pupper or a fur baby. It definitely beats "dog."

The error of a child begins with his mother's upbringing, and in this you are his mother.
Hehehe hehehehe
Thank you very much for your post.

My other dogs are trained to a T. But it's not fair to expect the same level of obedience and manners of a wolfdog. It's just not in them to be docile.

Hahahahaha! What a smartass!

Awesome dog! Terrible. Yet awesome.

That's him to a T

Liam is beautiful! Even if he is a bit of a scamp... LOL! I'd never heard of a Czechoslovakian Wolfdog, so this was a real education. I read about the breed online and the story is pretty amazing. So, did you specifically want this breed, or was it an opportunity that presented itself? Now I want a frittatta! LOL! 😁

_PYPT-ThanksForSharing.png

Thank you @thekittygirl. It was actually my boyfriend at the time who insisted on getting a wolfdog. We checked out Saarloos wolfdogs and Czechs and ended up going with the Czech. In the end, Liam and I eloped and dumped the guy. ;-)

All jokes aside, he wasn't equipped to deal with Liam, and he didn't have the mindset Liam needed either, so it really was the best solution for him to stay with me.

If you think he's adorable now, check out him as a little bub and a teenager. I think @anikekirsten will appreciate the pics too. And @bex-dk?
7 dec (1)-800.jpg
DSC_0048.jpg
DSC_0145.jpgDSC_0140.jpg
23 nov-800 (2).jpg

Eek! Too cute as pups for their own good!

Liam is such a twat, the blame should go to whoever taught him to open doors😂

He taught himself by observing and experimenting.

Smart dog. Too smart even

Whereas Molly will stand behind a baby gate that isn't shut properly and await a human to let her through. She's not stupid, just far more respectful of boundaries. Shawnee, however, tries to open them. Occasionally succeeding even when they're latched. Shawnee was a destructopuppy as a baby, pulling the fiberglass wall covering down off a section of kitchen wall and shredded it. Poor Molly got yelled at for waking me up until I finally got up and discovered what she was trying to tell me.

Its amazing how dogs have different personalities. I like Molly

Hi @tinypaleokitchen, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EDT or 7PM EDT in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Thank you so much, Shadows. It's an honour. Always is.
refrains

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44