Silvery Blue Butterfly [Nature on the Farmstead #1]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #colorchallenge7 years ago (edited)

Silvery Blue Butterfly

Male Silvery Blue Butterfly

So, I have a lot of nature on my Farmstead so I hope to have a sort of series. So this is the first entry. It just happens to coincide with the CollorChallenge today!

These guys look very similar to the endangered Fender's Blue Butterfly lcaricia icarioides fenderi, and that's what I thought it to be. However, after speaking with Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife, this is the Silvery Blue Butterfly Glaucopsyche lygdamus.

Location & Habitat

These are located all over North America, but it seems they're mostly in the western and upper north east part of the United States. They seem to only have a range of being in the United States and Canada. Interestingly, they do not inhabit Mexico (from the infos I have).

These butterflies can be found in a ton of different types of habitats including deserts, marshes, meadows, prairies, grasslands, roadsides and just about any other undisturbed area where the larval food plants happen grow. Maybe I am doubly lucky cause I live in the high desert grasslands of Central Oregon. Double Whammy.

Food & Life Cycle

The Silvery Blues like to feed on the legume family type flowers. I figure they're here at my house because I have a ton of native Lupine, and another legume type with yellow flowers that I have yet to identify, on my 20 acres. They lay single eggs on young buds and leaves of their chosen plants and the larvae feed on the plants they're laid upon. The larvae are tended on by ants. The pupas are oftentimes taken away by ants into the ant's nest, silly nanny ants. Haha

larvae

1, 2

Description & Behavior

These are small little butterflies with a wingspan of up to 1.25 inch, they make me smile when I see them. I love their black and white striped antennae, I think that's my favorite part, other than they are a magnificent blue color. After I've run the sprinkler they just flit around sipping up the water that's soaking into the ground. They're not too quick, or at least are very trusting, cause I'm able to get pretty good pictures of them. Apparently they stop flitting around at the end of June, so I better get out and observe them more before they disappear for the year. The pupae overwinter on the host plants, and then once the larvae emerge from the pupae, they go right away eating on the host plant.

I'm going to have to go inspect the lupines and other legume/pea type plants to see if I can find an egg!

Info Sources


As always, @farmstead blogging from Farmstead Smith!

Verify


Check out my most recent Steemit Posts.


By @daddykirbs

Badge by @daddykirbs

Get yours here!

Sort:  

Beautiful post! I love how you formatted the page. The links to your recent posts is a nice touch. You may consider some titles to break up the page between paragraphs for those of us who have shorter attention spans, but otherwise very nice!

Hahah I had a short attention span too, but wasn't sure if I was concise enough to designate titles! Did I do an alright job at that!? Hahah. I will go thru and see what I can TITLE! 0.0

Whattaya think now!? <3

Were you reading on a mobile? Because I bet then it looked more like a text wall than it does on the computer! Haha.

Yes mobile lol... this is easier to read 😁

I'll try to keep you in mind for future posts! ;)

Such a pretty butterfly. I have never seen one like this. Isn't nature amazing? I am looking forward to your other posts. :)

I hadn't seen them either until this year! I really love butterflies and actually, never thought I'd say this, but I like bugs. Not really a fan of them touching me, but I love them. Took me nearly 30 years to realize how important they are to us and the world as a whole. :D

OMG...you love bugs? I cringe when I see bugs. I am sure they help you on the farmstead.

Yeah! Hahah I love taking pictures of them and trying to identify. But I DON'T LIKE THEM TOUCHING ME. Yeeeeesh shudder

Thanks, very interesting.

I'm glad you thought so!

Great post and sharing to my Garden's Shared page on facebook for you.

Awesome! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77