I'm Ditching Coffee For Good!

in #coffee6 years ago

I think I've been addicted to coffee since forever. Maybe it started in college, when doing term papers and thesis extended til late nights, and there was nothing else to keep me awake until early morning. Red Bull won't cut it, since I didn't like the taste. So coffee it was. And it all started when I would hang out at an empty Starbucks which was open for most of the night. The wifi internet was a bonus. No doubt the staff already knew my name, and they knew exactly where I would sit.

But I decided to cut off my coffee addiction for good. It was a good part of my mornings as an adult, and it made me feel good. Of course, its ingredients are responsible for that, but there were days when I'd go overboard with 3 more cups and I was gaining weight. Besides, the sugar was just bad.

So, I decided to make a change. Since last month, I've been drinking any of these alternatives every morning.

Turmeric Powder
I used to try herbal drinks before, back when I used to manually prepare fresh ginger back then. The bad thing was, I couldn't like the strong, hot taste so I'd add lemon or sugar. Sometimes the taste was so strong it won't go away. So I'd just drink a little less often than I'd like to.

The good news was, I bought a jar of powdered turmeric that turned out to be pretty good. I was wary of trying it but I was glad I did. It had a mild, sweet taste and the spicy taste wasn't there.

IMG20181101164459.png

It's pretty cheap as well, and you only need a tablespoon to make it.

Lemon
There's a supermarket nearby that sells lemons for cheap. Problem is, we don't always go out to buy, and we could get too busy to do anything, really. And when we buy 4 lemons, it can get expensive if we buy more so we don't buy that often.

IMG20181101164354.png

Sometimes I like having a little sour taste in my warm water first thing in the morning.

Black tea
I used to drink green tea a lot, but the grocery store that was nearby where we used to live didn't always have it available, so I wasn't a heavy drinker. I'm reviving it now, by trying different kinds of tea. This time I buy black tea online and the brand I bought was great!

IMG20181101164444.png

Not having any packets of coffee at home tremendously helps, but sometimes somebody would bring home some sachets so I'd briefly thinks of having a cup. But I guess I'm over it now, and I like having less sugar on my daily food intake!

Sort:  

Tea has more caffeine than coffee, I drink as much coffee as possible not for the pick me up but for the taste and the physical activity of making a cup of coffee brings me joy because of a memory associated with it. Everything is okay in moderation. If you think stopping coffee is a good move then thats great and I wish you all the best!

Yes, but I decided to get rid of coffee because I add milk, sugar and a lot of others in it, which would be bad - not just caffeine, which was found in tea.

Sorry for the late reply, what other sources do you use to get your calcium for the day? (*he Kindly asked while sipping a home made frothy latte)

Congratulations @hinata-chan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @hinata-chan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @hinata-chan! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66822.94
ETH 3490.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90