Last minute repairs....

in #classical-music5 years ago

A week or so ago, as I started preparation for a concert that uses the Viola d'amore, I had started to notice that thee was a bit of an unwelcome buzz and rattle coming from the instrument. Well, the humidity and temperature changes can cause a bit of havoc with the isntrument, plus it is now a few years old and the instrument is settling into it's long term shape!

Upon a bit of further inspection, I found that the neck/fingerboard had shifted angle which mean that the resonant strings under the fingerboard were now just touching the bottom of the fingerboard... causing a really annoying buzz! It's pretty interesting that it only just developed, but these things take time in the first decade or so of an instrument, plus the daily stress of about 35-40 kgs worth of string tension pulling at it constantly!

So, it was time to take it to the luthier for a quick repair before the concert!

I always hate seeing my instruments naked like this... the strings are taken off and the bridge is removed! At least this time, he didn't need to lever the entire front off! As a musician it is a little bit unsettling to see your instrument like this, but it is pretty normal for the luthier. He had a good laugh at my discomfort!

Given that there wasn't enough time to make a completely new bridge, the temporary solution was to make a new set of holes for the resonant strings in the bridge. Slightly lower, to avoid touching the bottom of the fingerboard.

All fixed, the drilling of the holes was incredibly quick. The restringing of a total of 14 strings was quite time consuming! Especially the 7 resonant ones, they are thin metallic ones and they poke you and get tangled... plus, they need to go inside under the fingerboard as well... a right pain!

It's a bit of a hack job, and doesn't look too nice... but it is functional and the instrument is in good playing condition again! When I have a chance, I will send the instrument back to get a new bridge measured up and fitted properly, the legs are also a touch out now and not quite standing as flush as they could be!


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

It is so fun to finally start reaching the stabilized shape. I have a few kit instruments that I built in the last 2 years that I tune once a week and wait as they settle. It looks like a lovely instrument.

Nice! What sort of kit instruments do you build?

do you have a youtube channel

need relaxing, then need try to Classic music.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah... yes, Classical music can be relaxing at times... but not always, sometimes it should be dramatic!

A very interesting post. I never thought about instrument repairs, since I have no musical ability. Good luck in your upcoming concert.

Posted using Partiko Android

No, I tend not to think too much about repairs either until the day that they are required! I do my best to look after my babies, but normal wear and tear is expected! It's like going to a doctor, you put it off until it is necessary!

Well, well......today I just learnt there is an alto clef and a new instrument to me! You're a star and I hope the concert goes well. May I ask what the music is please so I can listen and see if its on the list in Wikipedia......talking of which, are you listed there as a player?
Oh. Final question, what other instruments do you regularly perform with and which is your favourite and / or most proficient please?
Great post :-)

Alto is primarily for the Viola, the viola d'amore uses a great range of clefs depending on the music... including the Grand Staff! In my sort of music, I play from original scores generally... there are many many many clef types...

As for recordings of the piece "Rittrato dell'amore" by Couperin, there aren't any YouTube recordings that would whole heartedly recommend. This one (from a playlist that has the whole 8 or so movements) is the best that I could find, but I find it too ponderous...

I normally play in the Historical Style (also known as Early Music) on Violin, Viola and Viola d'amore. I'm decently proficient on all of them (well, at least people don't throw hard things at me when I play...), touring around the world with various groups and ensembles... I don't think I'm listed on Wikipedia!

Gosh the violin is so Nice I wouldnt know how to do that myself

Nope... I have no idea for these larger scale repairs either! I can do normal maintenance, but for the real stuff, the babies go to the luthier!

Do we have Those in the netherlands

Luthiers! Oh yes... it isn't so common these days... but people who make and repair instruments are everywhere!

I knows have a cello reparairist here on the steemisfere

Congratulations @bengy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Bengy (also musicapoetica) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you bengy! You've just received an upvote of 46% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts



Please come visit me to see my latest report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting. Also, come read my latest report to learn about SteemAX! There's now a video tutorial avaiable for you to learn how to use SteemAX to generate more upvotes and gain more followers! If you like @ArtTurtle then you'll LOVE this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67320.55
ETH 3709.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78