Don't Get Too Wrapped Up With Gift Giving!

in #christmas7 years ago

Hi friends of steemit and merry Christmas, happy holidays or just “happy weekend” if you don’t celebrate any particular holiday. I wanted to take a few minutes to sit down and talk about what this holiday season means to me particularly and hopefully others. To be honest, I used to hate this time of year. I really did! It seemed like it was a competition in a way with certain people to see who could give the best gifts. My nephew’s parent’s divorced several years ago and at Christmas time each parent would try to “out do” the other by buying extravagant gifts for the young boy. They both made pretty good money so when I say extravagant gifts, I mean it! So what does that mean when Uncle Bandit comes over with his small rinky dink gift?

You guessed it…Whaaa-Whaaaa! Uncle Bandit was just a civil servant and didn’t make good money and couldn’t afford to splurge on expensive gifts for his nephew. To be completely honest, even if I did have the money, I probably wouldn’t spoil him that way because that’s not how I was brought up. But nevertheless, whenever he would open “normal” gifts from me or from someone else, you could sense his disappoint in him which in turn made the Bandit feel sad. His mother tried to correct him and teach him to be grateful no matter how small the gift was but still he could not hide the true emotions. This, along with similar experiences caused me to distance myself from my family during this time of year. That was the best way for me to cope with avoiding the uncomfortable feeling of someone not liking a gift that I got them….just not be there to experience it. That worked a few times but it caused problems elsewhere as you can imagine. I’m starting to steer off track a little bit and I don’t want to do that really so I will get back to the point.

My whole point of this blog is not to get too wrapped up in gift giving during the holiday season. Please don’t take my words out of context and I’m doing my best to use them carefully. Giving gifts is a wonderful thing and I have been blessed by being given some wonderful gifts by some wonderful people but I have also had my feelings hurt by the act of gift giving. For example: If you invite three of your friends to your house for dinner one night and after dinner, you give two of the friends Christmas gifts but not the third friend. You tell the two friends that received gifts to open them up and when they do they’re really surprised to find an expensive gift of some sort inside. How is this going to make the third friend feel?

I love giving things to people more than anything. I would rather give than to receive. I have a very small YouTube channel where I have given hundreds of dollars of gifts away for no reasons at all. I never ask anyone to subscribe to my channel. I think I held one or two contests, the rest of the things I gave away were “just because gifts”. And the contests I had, all you had to do was leave a comment in the comment section, that was it lol. I didn’t ask you to do anything else. So don’t get me wrong and think I’m being a Grinch at Christmas. I’ve just witnessed some improper gift giving if you will over the years and I think the true meaning of Christmas has diminished somewhat. It’s not about getting presents folks! At least it’s not for me it’s not. Spending quality time with friends and family is more valuable than any gift that you can get…period. Speaking of which… I need to get off of this damn computer and go practice what I preach. I sincerely wish each and every one of you the best of love, life and laughter!

Your Friend, The Bandit

Sort:  

Yes sir bandito, you are so right. I always have more fun giving than receiving. It is such a nice surprise when things come back to me. Like you I hate the unfairness of leaving someone out. It is cruel and hurtful experience for the person left out. So fun it is. Truthfully, I would rather learn something about a person I didn’t know or have a fun experience as a family or just enjoy a get together in the park. Every year I say it’s going to be different. I’m working on it! Great post my friend. Wiser words could not be spoken. 🐓🐓

I couldn't agree more @mother2chicks! Merry Christmas to you and yours!

MerryChristmas to you and your family too. Let the fun begin !

@bluelightbandit
I will just leave your message alone. You have covered it quite nicely.
We all need to remember that it isn't about the price of the gift.
It is the thought that counts.
And for me. And some others. The greatest gift of all for us is the reason for the season.
Merry Christmas Bandit.

Francis

We are lucky to have all found each other Francis! I completely agree with you. Merry Christmas!

Well said @bluelightbandit, now what did you get me this year? Just kidding. I like Christmas morning with the kids, but before we start we always make each kid think of something that they are grateful for and tell us what Christmas really means to them. I am blessed by marrying into a large, close knit family and also having a daughter of our own. Grandkids at an early age is good, because I get to do all sorts of things with them that I might not be able to do in my 60s or older. For me, Christmas is about relaxing and enjoying the time we have, with the ones that we love.

" I am blessed by marrying into a large, close knit family and also having a daughter of our own."

Yes sir, you are very blessed!

With no children of my own, I take my job of being the crazy Auntie very seriously. My oldest nephew on my side is 10. His birthday was in November and with my sister's permission, I bought him his first Buck knife. (The cost was under $30) I gave it to him with a letter about learning the difference between weapons and tools. I told him that the other part of the gift was teaching him how to use it correctly, that I expected him to cut himself and that I expected him to lose it. "Kid, just prove your crazy Auntie wrong." ;) LOL!

Sounds like you're an awesome Auntie! I only have one nephew and it's a shame that we're not close. That was an awesome gift that you gave him, I would have been thrilled!

Very well put! I prefer to make gifts to give - my boys seem to like things that we create. I did spoil them a bit this Christmas but nothing crazy. The granddaughter was a whole other story lol!! Merry Christmas to you and your family!!

I never would have guessed you were a grandparent, you sure don't look it! Merry Christmas to you!

Merry Christmas to you @bluelightbandit

Merry Christmas!

The season isn't about how many or how much you spend on gifts. It is about the people you love and the time you spend with them. Happy Holidays, @bluelightbandit!

Thats right! Happy holudays to you also!

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65178.97
ETH 3261.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68