Thoughts on prayer 1/4

in #christian6 years ago (edited)

Source

I remember wanting to go to a party while in high school and needing my dad’s permission. Before I approached him I mowed the lawn and washed his car. And as he responded to this unexpected and unprecedented benevolence from my side, I made my request.

It nearly worked, but I had forgotten about my mother…

Do you sometimes approach God in the same way? What do you think will move Him to say yes?

  • Church attendance?
  • Helping someone?
  • Doing good?
  • Preaching the gospel?

Your list may be different from mine or from Paul’s:

Indeed, if others have reason for confidence in their own efforts, I have even more! I was circumcised when I was eight days old. I am a pure-blooded citizen of Israel and a member of the tribe of Benjamin—a real Hebrew if there ever was one! I was a member of the Pharisees, who demand the strictest obedience to the Jewish law. I was so zealous that I harshly persecuted the church. And as for righteousness, I obeyed the law without fault.
(Php 3:4-6 NLT)

Paul had an impressive list, but understood that it was not good enough:

I once thought these things were valuable, but now I consider them worthless because of what Christ has done. (Php 3:7 NLT)

When you approach God today, do not offer any kind of deal. The deal has been made, and Jesus did it all. Not part of it, not most of it. All of it!

So let's walk right up to him and get what he is so ready to give. Take the mercy, accept the help. (Heb 4:16 MSG)

@reonlouw



Sort:  

@reonlouw in every school and every day school start with prayer. so starting a day with prayer is always a great thing . by the way you shared a very good thought about prayer.

it's like being obedient to say yes with every home chores from parents, when you ask to buy something they will give it. so does God, when doing good, He provides your needs.

@reonlouw nice post sir. I have seen most of ur posts. U always post good things which tells us that help everyone. U have posted today also not to deal with God just go with your own and try to do your best God will himself give u what u deserve.

so much power in this post! Often I offer deals with God forgetting He has everything, while I... depend so much on him.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 2.96% upvote!
I was summoned by @reonlouw. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

You got a 3.65% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @reonlouw!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61896.22
ETH 2413.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66