A Dollar A Day charitable giving project is coming back

in #charity6 years ago

A Dollar A Day is returning...

Back in November I started a little project for charitable giving that I called 'A Dollar A Day'.

Each day I donated 1 SBD to a charitable cause on steemit.

It was only meant to be a small personal project to make it easy for me to give money to good causes on steemit, based on the 'little and often' principle.

Two factors came together however to make it much successful than I had envisaged with over US$1000 being raised in less than two months.


Firstly some other generous folk on steemit joined me in the initiative - @gmuxx, @mother2chicks and @HopeHuggs.

Second the value of SBDs climbed considerably during the course of the project.

That was all good fortune for the charitable causes that we donated to.


I have decided to restart the A Dollar A Day project.

There is so much trouble, so much strife, so much bickering and just so many bad vibes on steemit at present.

I want to return to one of the most beautiful parts of steem - being able to give, freely.

So from 1 May (or before) I will be giving a minimum of 1 SBD every day to a charitable cause.

1 SBD is not so much, but it adds up day by day. And if my post rewards grow so I wll increase the daily giving.


In the first instance I will be revisiting the good causes I supported first time round :

I will also be looking for new groups and individuals to donate to like @bigdude and @steemhelpinghand (run by @phunke, @stevenmosoes, @stevendion and @thomasgift).

If you know of any good causes on steemit that I might donate to please let me know.



You might also be interested in some of my other posts :


[ money image from pixabay - Creative Commons CC0 ]

Sort:  

I will be happy to join you on this again too. I will also try and do it it daily, rather than give a chunk at the end of each week this time too :)

That will be excellent, thank you. Hopefully the steem price will keep rising and we can make even more impact.

Even with just two of us giving 1 SBD per day that is US$200 a month that will be given!

A great one coming from one of the respected steem ambassador
I will do my best to look out for like project you can support sir

Thanks you for taking this initiative again! it will lead to many good things <3

Count me in for May - so if I get this right - do I send you 31SBD in May and you cascade to the good causes?

That will be excellent, thank you. Yes the easiest way is if you want to send me the 31SBD and then each day I send an aggregated donation to the selected cause of the day with a memo mentioning who contributed.

If you have any particular causes you do or don't want to support I take that into consideration, otherwise I work through them on rotation or as particular needs arise.

Count us in this time too. I hope more people will join us. Your friend 🐓🐓

Thank you so much for joining in with this project again @mother2chicks

And thank you for the 30SBD you have sent over. I will be starting the donations on 1 May.

I have sent you a message on Discord if you get a chance to check that.

Thanks for doing the fund raising again. Hope I can get on to the Discord. The bane of my existence, trying to get on it. Hope others are kicking in for he first time and reading about the charities they are donating to. It makes a big difference to give so little to some little kids and other foundations. ❤️🐓🐓

What a wonderful idea! I like the "little and often" principle :)

I like the way the numbers add up doing it this way.

On current prices, even 1 SBD per day is well over a thousand US dollars a year.

We would currently need 838 people out of the 60,000 active people on steemit to join with this and we would be donating US$1 million per year !

That's a pretty breathtaking number!! Since I'm not (yet) making $1/day on Steemit, I could be the 839th person and do $1/week to start😉

Fantastic initiative! It might not seem like much, but a daily donation is an absolute gift for causes like the ones you've mentioned. Glad to see TARC and YouAreHope included. Thank you for what you're doing!

Glad you like the project. If you would like to join in, do let me know - there is no minimum period to participate.

Hello @pennsif you have been of huge support to @steemhelpinghand so far and we glad you still have us at heart thank you!!! And keep up the good deed.

Do let me know when @steemhelpinghand has some more projects running.

Thank you! This is awesome news. :-)

Happy Sunday! This comment is to inform you that your article has been linked/featured in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Thank you and have a great day!

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57709.05
ETH 3100.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33