steemit: The gathering place of dreamers and inventorssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #challenge308 years ago (edited)





source

The idea of a thirty day writing challenge is both daunting and intriguing for me, as I have never been good with obligations involving deadlines but I am all about self-improvement and this kind of thing is exactly the kind of accountability that's necessary to help me achieve it.
Click here if you're interested in joining the challenge put forth by @dragosroua
Naturally the start of it would be when my brain is not firing on all cylinders due to damage inflicted on the eve of the New Year by the delicious but potent Belgian style ale called Ommegang's Three Philosophers.




I probably should have taken @coloured-content's advice and written about my shoelace, but alas I had already started on this and felt the need to push forward and complete the thought.

About a week ago or so I was asked by a member "Why dreemit?" I gave him the short answer, which is that I've always picked user names that revolved around being a dreamer- daydreamer, intheclouds, etc. and if they were already taken I'd add the numbers 247 (they don't allow you to put the backslash or it would read 24/7)-so when I heard about steemit and what it was about, dream it immediately came to mind, which morphed to dreemit because, well it seemed fairly clever. (Also I've been a fan of silly rhymes ever since I first watched the scene on the boat with Inigo, Fezzik and Vizzini in The Princess Bride as a child)
I was actually surprised to find it available, and while that might be due to it only being clever in my own mind, I decided it was saved for me, meant for me.
I've mentioned dreamers a couple of times in posts, including my introduction, which looking back at now I realize was super vague and didn't introduce me properly, but I think I've managed to make up for that by commenting the hell out of everyone as evidenced by the ludicrous amount of 'posts' I already have in five weeks.
Still I feel I haven't quite clarified what being a dreamer means to me and why I think in this day and age it's becoming one of the most important things to be.

AI has become a theme in the entertainment industry, and for good reason as we are on the brink of bringing what was once science fiction to "life". Robots have already begun to replace men in certain industries, many factories employ only a handful of people now for the sole purpose of preventing or fixing breakdowns, all of the chain style grocery stores have self-checkout sections with one person hanging out in front to handle problems that arise, and recently there was a press release about a McDonald's in Phoenix that will be opening soon..and run almost entirely by robots. It will not be long before all menial and manual labor will be handled by robots.
In the movie Tomorrowland (which I also mentioned in my intro) The AI named Athena was sent out to find the dreamers and inventors. This got me thinking about the subject matter I wrote above and I found myself asking this question-What do we have to offer in this new world?
I think Tomorrowland answered that for us; we are the dreamers, we imagine fantastical possibilities, and from these dreams and imaginings we invent and create, we make incredible works of art or beautiful music, we write epic love stories and curious tales of wonder. So moving forward into this new age of machines, this is what we bring to the table, and if there are Athena's out there looking, their search has been made infinitely easier by the creation of this revolutionary site called steemit, which is a gathering place for exactly what they'd be looking for. It seems almost everyday I meet at least one new being with talents and abilities that are truly the stuff of dreams, in fact just yesterday alone I was blessed by the follows of the intelligent and gifted writer @coloured-content and the bright spirited and lovely poet @poeticsnake.
This is a community of dreamers and creators, and I'm so incredibly grateful to be a part of it.

And that's my entry for today, thanks @dragosroua for this opportunity to work even harder on my own creations.

Sort:  

Rich in imagery and flavours, thanks. This is was delectable read. Good luck on the contest too. Namaste :)

Thank you! I am going down the list, so I will be reading yours shortly. I've been trying to space it out a little for optimum voting power :) Cheers to our divine souls recognizing one another ;)

Loving your word, everything shall come to fruition when the time is ripe. In deed, much gratitude for the recognition as well. Namaste :)

Oops, I thought I saw your name in the challenge posts! But thank you again!

Witty ;) Anything is possible after a dream. Where you go after can bring results.

Excellent post congratulations my great friend @dreemit,
May this year all your wishes be fulfilled.
happy New Year

Thank you my lovely friend @jlufer, I look forward to reading a legend tonight. I think I will wait until I am curled up with a fresh cup of french pressed coffee ;)

Today prepare a story of how the new years are born I hope you like it

Hello fellow dreamer. I totally get where you are coming from. my tag line for me new website is: Writer, Coder, Dreamer. I won't spam your comments section with a link (this time ;-) ) but you can check it out through my blog if you are interested.

Challenges like this are awesome because they encourage you to dream every day and come up with something new. It soon becomes a habit and what was once a difficult process eventually becomes easy.

You learn, you grow, you become a better dreamer.
We dream for those who can't, and so we must dream big! :-)

Oh wow, that is serendipitous...I voted on your post for that yesterday and would have commented but I was pretty lit by that time and had cut myself off from drunk remarking to anyone I haven't spoken with before! I'm glad you reminded me though, I meant to go check that out :)

I really like the idea that we are the inventors, the 'Athenas', I agree with this.
The name 'dreemit' sounds like the first part of a positive sentence, launching the imagination in one simple spell-ing, it's perfect for you! Great post, inspiring stuff indeed.

Seeing you in my replies always brightens up my day :) Thanks for that, I was having trouble discerning if this was any good due to my brain sluggishness.

This is such an awesome opening, not only for the challenge, but also to start the year. Taking it back to the origins of your Steemit handle really frames everything quite nicely, and gives you a good momentum to propel all your other entries. The challenge itself is very NaNo-esque, and I feel that you're really going to do well. Best of luck in completing the challenge, my friend! :D

PS Oh, and one of your original potential handles, "intheclouds," remember the series I'm announcing? The one with a playground scene.
...
https://steemit.com/fiction/@jedau/a-day-in-the-clouds-original-novel-for-steemit-series-announcement

:o

Mind. Blown.

I kid you not. The tile is "A Day in the Clouds" :o How freaky is that?!

Wow!! Synchronicity! That's awesome. I'm about to make myself some tea then read it, can't wait!!

Haha! Yeah! Such great coincidences. It's just an intro post so there's not much story yet. Do you plan to include Today Again as part of the 30-day challenge?

Also, thank you for sending fiction trail my way :D It's such a huge boost, and a great service to the community. I really appreciate the support, my friend!

Fucking beautiful post.

Now that I think about it, you couldn't have POSSIBLY made such an amazing post if it had revolved around your shoelaces .

Or could you?

Either way, good luck to you in your journeys .

Why thank you! I almost feel like I have to do something with my shoelaces now...a poem perhaps? HAHA!

Neon shoelaces.....and winged shoes...

Good night Hermes ;)

XD

Sweet dreams Aesop ;)

lol....why am I " Aesop"?

You're writing fables about me and my shoes, haha!

@dreemit
who is Aesop?

lol jw

"Aesop's fables" he wrote about hermes :)

I was just going with your hermes comment :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.37
ETH 2327.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52