Finding perspectives on an official Sunday business

in #ccc5 years ago (edited)

20181119_004522A.jpg

I needed to submit a bank account number to my new employer for payroll purposes and that account number should be with the accredited bank. I happen to have an existing account with the chosen bank but I thought I would apply for another one so my payroll transactions are totally separated. Though, I will not be able to make it to the bank on weekdays with my new schedule when the bank is still closed when I start at work and it is already closed when I get out. The good thing is, the chosen bank has branches open in malls during weekends. One of those branches is where I have my existing account. I thought it will be easy to have another account because the bank already has all my details. Unfortunately, I was wrong. It was even harder than the first time I applied.

The regular banking hours on weekdays are from 9:00am to 4:30pm so I thought it is the same at the mall. I checked my watch and it was already quarter to 4:00pm. Oh no! I ran to the highway. I was blessed to get a ride immediately.

There are different events in the mall so there are more people today than on a usual Sunday. The bank is in the second building of the mall so I squeezed myself in. I need to catch the 4:30pm closing time. I got in front of the bank at 4:17pm only to see the notice that they are open until 7:30pm. Cool!

It is common for this bank to ask the purpose of why you are opening an account with them. Other banks do not do this. Though I do not understand and do not like the idea, I just answer what is being asked. Being true to my primary purpose, I said I have an existing account in that branch but I want a separate one for my payroll. Then they asked me to fill up the same forms that I have filled up the first time I applied for an account last April. Yes, the bank requires every applicant to fill up the forms over and over every time a client applies for new account.

As I was writing on the forms in front of the bank officer, she tapped on her computer and asked a couple of questions.

"Ma'am, your address is..." She read my address on their record.

"No. That was my previous address." For more than eleven years ago.

"Your last work was with IBM?" Now that is not funny.

"No. Why do you still have my data from more than a decade ago? I opened a new account here last April and I provided my latest details. You should have updated my records." Apparently, they have not updated their database based on the papers that I submitted in April.

"Okay ma'am, let me check."

She went inside their office and came back with papers. Those were the forms I filled up last April, exactly the same forms that they asked me to fill up now. She read through my details. She got the correct address but not the employer. I said I just had a new one last week.

While I continue filling up the forms, she asked if I have any business. That question usually complicates things but I thought it was not brought up when I first opened my existing account so I thought it should be okay to mention it now. I was wrong.

She kept herself busy taking notes while asking me.

image.png
Source

I said, "Yes. It is registered in the province."

"Ma'am, is it possible for you to present your business documents?" That means the business permit from the mayor's office and the business registration from Department of Trade and Industry, and Bureau of Internal Revenue.

"No. Sorry, I don't have them."

"But the proceeds ma'am, not here?" She meant the remittance of tax payment for the business proceeds.

"Yes, it is not here. Again, the business is registered in the province." I wanted to add, how can the tax payment be here?

"But ma'am, we require anyone who opens an account with us and has a business to present their documents."

"Why?"

"That is our requirement, ma'am."

"Yes ma'am, I know it is your requirement because you just said so. My question is why do you need those documents? I came here last April and those were not asked. Now you are requiring them. Was there any new government legislation that banks should require those documents?"

"Sorry ma'am, it just the bank's requirement."

"Why are you making the process harder? It is my money that will come to your bank. I am not loaning from your bank for you to need proof that I have sources of income so I can pay you back. Besides, you are the only bank that is requiring such documents. I have accounts from other banks and never did they ask for those. The least you can do is tell me why you need them."

She did not answer so I continued, "How about cancelling my application now? Just trash all those documents that I filled up."

"Okay ma'am, I'll relay your feedback to our Marketing." She meant their marketing department. Wait what? Marketing department. They are really fishing for who they can hook further.

"You do that. And you better come back with a good explanation," Okay, I just murmured that to myself.

I don't mind filling up the application forms over and over again for as much as I open an account in the same branch. But if I am asked for legal documents without legal reasons then maybe we can forget about business. I am sure I have other options.

She continued with her questions.

"So ma'am, this new account will only be for your payroll?"

"Primarily, for payroll."

"How much do you anticipate that will be deposited here?"

I was about to blurt out, "My salary is none of your business. Even my mother does not know about it." But the better of me answered politely with a ballpark figure. Needless to say, salary is a strictly confidential matter.

"Would you have any transaction that will be around 250,000 pesos or more?" This question is acceptable, for the anti-money laundering law.

"I don't think so."

"How about remittances from overseas?"

"Possible. Now that you mention it, the large amount of transaction can also be possible."

"From which country do you expect those remittances to come from?”

I mentioned two countries then catch up for where my brother is. She handed me another paper to fill up. It is a questionnaire about possible large amount of transactions that may happen using my bank account. Darn. My honest answers are opening more cans... I patiently answered the questionnaire.

"So there won't be any other transaction for this bank account except for payroll?" This is becoming off.

"I said the account will be primarily for payroll. But it is a personal account. I can do whatever legal means there is for a bank account."

"Okay ma'am, I'll be back."

She disappeared to their office inside for about 10 minutes. While I was waiting, I noticed a missed call on my phone. For some reasons, I immediately thought it was this bank that called. There is a show going on to the left of the bank entrance so it was very noisy but I wonder if I really missed the call when I was just holding my phone, or if they just tried to call and see if it is active.

When she came back, her first statement was "Ma'am, you have a missed call on your phone." Not a question.

"Yes. So that was you?"

"We are verifying the phone number, ma'am."

I wanted to say something but I just kept quite.

SmartSelectImage_20181118173643.png

She continued, "Ma'am, Marketing said you can just provide certificate of employment instead of the business documents. We will have to swap when you claim your ATM card next week."

I literally stared at her, "Now you want me to bug my employer. You know what? I could have actually told you a lot of different reasons so I could get away with your requirements if I only knew you would require so. I just tried to be truthful. Those are not in your requirements list. Why now?"

"Ma'am, just COE please." I heard pleading. I realized she could have challenge being the referee between me and their marketing department. I can argue further and get away with their certificate requirement or just proceed cancelling my application but I already got away with the business documents. I can be flexible and do my part to meet half way so I laid low.

"Okay... or maybe I can just present my employment contract."

"Is that signed by your employer?" Funny, it won't be a contract if I am the only one who signed it.

"Yes. It is even notarized."

"Okay ma'am, that will do."

She checked all the documents that I signed. We concluded our transaction as I gave my initial deposit and she printed my receipt. Finally!

20181118_225516.jpg

It was about 5:30pm so I decided to have an early dinner, attend the mass celebration at 7:00pm and head straight home. While on my way to the food court, I started shooting here and there without focusing. Here is a couple of my shots.

20181118_174427.jpg
The view below.

20181118_180848.jpg
The Pokémon event earlier has concluded. No more heavy foot traffic.

While I was having my dinner, someone suddenly stood to my left and ask that she get my food receipt from the table. I was about to take a bite so I quickly nodded without looking at her. When I turned around, she has a baby on her chest and she was holding a fairly thick collection of receipts. There is a story behind people collecting receipts but that may need a separate post so I will skip it for now.

20181118_180552.jpg

On my way out to the church, I started taking photos again. That's me. Just keep shooting even without thinking. Here's a few.

20181118_181213.jpg

20181118_184426.jpg

20181118_184540.jpg

The day ended here. Time to give thanks for all the blessings in the past and for today, and request for guidance as we face another week tomorrow.
20181118_184853.jpg

Join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside) AND the latest update <<< please click to read.


Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

Sort:  

Sounds pretty hectic for a weekend. At least your photos turned out nice.
I was thinking of you this week. A deer has been having lunch on my front lawn every day. I got some pics so you can see him. Will get those uploaded this week when I am back at the desktop.

Hey, how are you? Long time no "hear", yeah? That is sweet of you to be thinking of me. Yes, I would love to see those deers! 😊

hi.
as far as I know you like to curate content on Steemit .
I noticed that Curie on their Discord opened several days ago a "become a curator" room. So, why don't I see your application there? )
(or you aren't actually interested in that / have no time for that / didn't know about that).
Even though looks like one curator has already chosen someone, I guess it is still a good idea to apply there, if you are interested in that (maybe other curators also have some openings or maybe those chosen candidates won't pass the "interview", pay attention to this post - https://steemit.com/curie/@geekgirl/how-to-become-a-curie-curator).

""Your last work was with IBM?"...." (IBM (International Business Machines Corporation)) - is that true?

Hi Alex! Oh, wow! Thank you very much for thinking about me for the curie opportunity. Yes, it once got into my mind how to become a curator though I haven't really gone through understanding what it would take. I just knew that there will be something like mentoring but I did not get into the details. I also saw your resteem of geekgirl's post the other day but I was on the way to work and forgot about it until now. I am no longer going to discord channels as often as I used to because I got back into a corporate job but things got busier but I would still want to take a look at the curie opportunity.

Let me go through the guidelines and see how it goes. I am just conscious if they require curie-worth posts which I do not have. Almost all are steemhunts. 😂

Yes, that is the IBM, the IT company, that I worked with many years ago.

Thanks again!

IBM... yes, you are indeed ma-COOL-ette )

I suppose you figured out what macoolette means? 😄

no, i didn't. I only understand that ..cool.. part. and don't tell me. i would wanna understand it myself one day )

Okay, tell me when you found out.

Congratulations @macoolette! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63747.88
ETH 3130.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89