Living With The Mighty Maine Coone Cat / Characteristics And Behavior

in #cats7 years ago (edited)

My love for cats

At the age of ten me and my brothers found a cat that came in our back garden from time to time. This cat lived somewhere in the area and had a mustache. Our family never had pets before besides a little budgy or Canary to be accurate which my mom inherited from her grandmother who passed away. At some point we were playing outside and saw the cat entering a house. Since the cat had come frequently in our garden we believed it was our cat so as usual at the time, me and my brother nodded on my younger brother to get at the door and reclaim the cat.... a week later we got a kitten from the same people who owned the cat with the mustache. From that moment on I started to become a huge fanboy of cats and cats became fan of me too. I like to spoil them a little.

When the Journey Started

Over past 2 decades as I grew up I had several cats as pets, and best friends. My favourite buddy of all time passed away at age 14 in oktober last year when I was in Barcelona. It hurt me quit a bid and I secretly released a tear when nobody was watching. The bond I had with that cat was magical I cannot describe how but it was very strong. So since oktober 2016 I was catless up until earlier this year when I got a grown grown up Main Coone cat from a friend of mine. A Maine Coon cat is a very special breed, that belongs to the largest of all cats and as they can grow to the size of a small dog. The breed is well known for their characteristic behaviors that differs a lot from the ''random'' shorthaired cat breed that is most common. Despite that the breed costs about 500 euro in comparison to a free kitten which he initially costed, I concluded that it's not an average cat to deal with. So whenever you like this cat and are thinking of purchasing one, here are some my experiences that you should know about to find out if you can handle a mighty cat like this.

Schermafbeelding 2017-10-10 om 09.49.33.png

Cuteness overload

1

They are highly intelligent big and stubborn beings that are not quickly afraid of somebody or something. They are very curious about most noises or things an other cats are scared off. They just go on investigating whenever they suppose to get scared something.

2

It seems they use their sense of smell way more to explore than I have ever seen a cat do. It's like they have some instincts dogs have.. Not that they rely that much on their sense of smell but I noticed he uses it a very lot.

3

They attach very fast to one certain person, this may have something to do with him being a malecat but still, as friendly they are around people and comfortable to new faces, at the end they know who gives them the food and who is mighty in the house. whenever I am around with friends, he comes chilling on my side.

Schermafbeelding 2017-10-11 om 07.39.01.png

Chilling with the big boys

4

They have a very different way of saying miaauw.. He makes sometimes noises that sound like an alien language or something I can't describe it.. They have a miauw also and it can be very loud and repeatedly if he is not pleased. That brings us to the following differences, the level of verbal communication... I sometimes get terrorised in the middle of the night when he suddenly decides to go out side or is hungry. Whenever he needs something he is loud and clearly present to the point it's almost forcing. Next to that when he is chill he can be verbal to but then in the BRRRR BRRRRR way of course.

5

He totally knows his way around way more faster than an average cat that needs to stay in for 6 weeks or so to get attached and familiar with the surroundings and new living space. All though I had blocked all my sneaking holes in my garden for hime to be unable to escape, he sneaked out and I thought he would never come back after only 2 weeks but surprisingly he cam back a couple of hours later.

Schermafbeelding 2017-10-11 om 07.37.38.png

Me holding him displaying his size

6

Because their size they need way more food than any other breed. Buy in big but watch out he has an apetide that can differ from day to day. Sometimes he just likes to eat some different foods than what normally seems to be his favor meal. He then just simply doesn't eat it and verbally demands something else... If you don't give him some other meal he will go on until you admit to it anyways.

7

They like rain and outside in windy weather. Yes it's true he likes bad weather.. maybe because of his long hair he is better protected. But I never experienced this behavior before in other cats.

Schermafbeelding 2017-10-11 om 07.38.07.png

Protecting and defending the garden and area behind my house

8

He is highly social towards all other animals except unless other animals are friendly to him, he is friendly back. If not then he simply destroys you (like he did once with the neighbours male cat who tried to be dominant towards him claiming his territory and got totally destroyed because of the differences in size and strength).

9

Holy shit buy a decent cat grid / toiled that at least is closet because o-m-g the poop totally something different.


Schermafbeelding 2017-10-11 om 07.37.56.png

Being a little silly during playtime / exercise

10

They need and demand a lot of playtime. they play way more than an average cat in my opinion. It seems to be because of their size they consume more food and need their daily exercise to get rid of that energy. They also like to behave silly

All the described behavior may be just be his personality but the is super sweet and has become my bro for real now. It may be though some points of consideration to others who take it more easy and more relaxed when adopting a cat. A Maine Coone cat is not for everybody since you have to give and you have to demand from both sides. I am going to get a brother for him so he can annoy the other cat and play with it rather than me all the time which gives me a little space also. i have had problems in the beginning to handle with it and the reason I was awake this morning was also because he was hungry. But these cats are awesome and there is no doubt about it. If you are considering a Maine Coone and still have questions feel free to ask me about tips.

So in the end to sum it up:

Pro's

  • Personality : Very friendly and curious yet stubborn and picky at times, but he's a great great partner and loves to
    be cuddled

  • Social: Very social towards other animals and is willing to make friends with them. Dogs aswel other cats are
    his buddy's when they are friendly back

  • Playfullness: It's a lot of fun and play time with these jokers.. you will smile

Cons

  • Audio : When not pleased, expect a miauw concert until pleased. When he starts to make low deep and hard
    noises he needs either attention, food, or demands you to let him out (or in).

  • Food: Very picky eater who cannot handle all kinds of food because of his breed. Also beware of a smell that
    comes afterwards that is very hard to handle (for me).. Buy a big big cat toilet that is not open.

Tip: To have some more space, it's better for you and him to have some friends in the house like an other cat or dog to chill with.

I hope the information will be usefull to you. Have a nice Day

Seveaux

Schermafbeelding 2017-08-15 om 03.11.14.png


Schermafbeelding 2017-08-16 om 08.51.31.png

Sort:  

Did you also know that if you are doubting wheter you should eat something because it might have gone bad, you can let your cat check it first? If the cat don't eat it, yoy can't eat it either ;) Great post, I love animals. Upvoted ;)

Thnx Carl well he is just a little spoiled I guess:P we know our ups and downs

Cats are so arrogant. Diffrent from dogs they can ignore you to bits if they want to, lol.

I wish this one ignored me for ones :P

Mine does. I call her and then I get that look. Like, who are you? what doe you want? She's the queen of the castle, lol.

Upvoted on behalf of the dropAhead Curation Team!
Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead witness account of the dropAhead curation team!

Watch out for the #xx-votesplus tag!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing the above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give YOU more earnings next time.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: Moving #25_votes_plus to Discord

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 5300 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.100 Steem or 0.100 Steem Dollar and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.
@resteem.bot

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 3.6% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @seveaux
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

Tests done by the Behavioral Department of the Musuem of Natural History conclude that while a dog's memory lasts about 5 minutes, a cat's recall can last as long as 16 hours.

No but I do now! I believe that cats have a different kind of intellect in comparison to dogs because dogs normally live in packs and cats are very independent but one thing is for sure that this breed has a high intellect that goes beyond average proportions

The Ancient Egyptian word for cat was mau, which means "to see".

That's a huge one really and almost half of my size when you lift it :D

OH MY GOD WHAT A CUTIE!!!!!

I totally feel you.

My cat died 4.5 months ago and I am still really mourning.
I miss him so much.
We hope to get a cat soon!

What's your cat's name?

This post has received a 13.81 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @seveaux.

Ik heb jouw post gekozen voor de "lions legion daily" graag je permissie voor morgen 12:00 ;)

natuurlijk ;)

Hij komt er in ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.86
ETH 2347.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52