~Mittens and Her Kittens~ All Are Gone NowsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cats6 years ago

Mittens 001E.jpg

Mittens had a large litter of kittens in 1996 and the last one died at age 20 just a few months ago. Cats can live a long time if you take good care of them.

Mittens and her kittens


Mittens&Kittens2.jpg
Mittens&Kittens.jpg

In 1996 when our kids were little, we had a dog. He terrorized the neighborhood and caused the dog-catcher to constantly be coming to our door to tell us the dog was in the neighbor's yard. Well we lived out in the country and there was no leash law there. We tried to contain our dog but he kept getting into trouble. He disappeared and we never found him.

So we decided to get a cat instead. We found Mittens and also another one, Boots. We took Boots to get him neutered and then took Mittens to get her spayed but it was too late. We decided to let her have her kittens and keep a couple of them and then have her spayed.

We hoped that she wouldn't have too many because we knew it would be hard to give any away, but when she gave birth.....out came one after another, after another...omg...Now we have a whole house full.

Mittens was very gentle and always let my daughter dress her up!

Mittens 001E.jpg

mittens2 001E.jpg

My husband said he always wanted a solid black cat and so he got his wish. She had a solid black kitten and we named him Smokey.

Smokey222.jpg

Read Smokeys story here:

I saw a white kitten that I liked but then there was another one just like that one and so we decided to keep both the white ones and call them twins. We named them Snow and Angel.

Angel&Snow.jpg

==>Read Snow's story here and Angel's story here<==

After Mittens weaned her kittens, she disappeared and we never found her. We think that she may have been attacked by coyotes. We were so sad that her kittens would miss their mommy. We gave away most of her kittens to good homes and the three that we kept lived a long time! Snow died in 2013 and both Smokey and Angel died in 2017.

Mittens gave us three kittens that stole all of our hearts and gave us all joy for many years. We are grateful for her short life with us.

Please vote, comment, follow, resteem..........Thank You<<<<<<

Please Note:All of my pictures are my own, unless otherwise stated, either taken with my digital camera Kodak 14MP, or an actual picture from my huge collection for many years that I have scanned to my computer to use.

Follow Me==>https://steemit.com/@c77hall

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE THE FOLLOWING
~Where I Live
https://steemit.com/photography/@c77hall/the-majestic-mountains-where-i-live-and-some-mountain-quotes
~Introducing Myself
https://steemit.com/introducing/@c77hall/introducing-myself-to-you
~My Cat Snow
https://steemit.com/cat/@c77hall/a-beautiful-long-haired-cat
~My Cat Angel
https://steemit.com/cats/@c77hall/long-haired-cat-with-blue-eyes-my-beautiful-angel
~My Cat Smokey
https://steemit.com/cats/@c77hall/black-cats-are-lucky-don-t-be-afraid-if-this-black-cat-crosses-your-path

Sort:  

Please comment!! I will read all of your comments and appreciate your thoughts!!!

💖

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68216.84
ETH 3827.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63