~Black Cats Are Lucky~Don't be afraid if this Black Cat Crosses Your Path

in #cats6 years ago (edited)

Smokey.jpg

Why do people say: "It's bad luck if a black cat crosses your path."??
Well our black cat was a lucky cat and I always thought different about him because he crossed my path every day and I didn't receive any bad luck...well not much but if I did get some bad luck I didn't blame it on my cat.

Smokey was our hunter cat. He caught all kinds of smaller animals, some almost as big as himself. One time he caught a rabbit and dragged it up the hill to lay it on the front porch for us....lol...Why do cats do that? Do they want us to eat it?
But that is what cats do....they have the natural instinct to hunt and this black cat looked just like a black panther when he would sneak up to his prey.

🐦 🐦 🐦 🐦 🐦 🐦 🐦 🐦 🐦 🐦 🐦 🐦 🐦 🐦 🐦 🐦 🐦 🐦🐦 🐦 🐦 🐦 🐦 🐦 🐦 🐦 🐦

Styx101001.JPG

Smokey did not like going anywhere in his carrier. When we took him to the vet, he would do the spread eagle and get all his claws out to hang up on the door of the carrier and even paralyzing him on the neck didn't work. He somehow would not relax. So we always dreaded taking him to the vet.

Another thing about Smokey was that he would lay around on the couch
in human-like positions and just sleep like that.

CatsSmokey2.jpg

CatsSmokey.jpg

One of my favorite pictures was Smokey and a pumpkin on Halloween. He was sitting in a chair with a blanket that had pretty fall colors and when I set a plastic pumpkin beside him and said "smile" he actually did a spooky-looking halloween face and looked kinda mean. He was probably just aggravated because I interrupted his cleaning of his fur.

HalloweenSmokey.jpg

HalloweenSmokeyEdit.jpg

When Smokey got sick and we knew he was getting ready to die, it was on a weekend and the vet was closed and we were not able to take him to have him put down. It was like he knew it was the weekend and waited til then because he hated getting into the carrier. He knew he would be too weak to fight and he wanted to die at home. He was so cold. The kids (grown kids) and grandkids came to say their good-byes. We covered him up just like a human because he was so cold. Then he passed peacefully. It was different then how the other cats went. He wanted to die at home. I'm so sad right now thinking back that I cannot see through my tears to type....so I will end now. He brought us all such joy.

Smokey passed over the rainbow bridge just after his 20th birthday.

SmokeyMemorial.jpg

We miss you Smokey!!

Thank You For Reading!

Please vote, comment, follow, resteem..........Thank You >>>>>>

Please Note: All of my pictures are my own, unless otherwise stated, either taken with my digital camera Kodak 14MP, or an actual picture from my huge collection for many years that I have scanned to my computer to use.

Follow Me==>https://steemit.com/@c77hall

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE THE FOLLOWING
~My Cat Snow
https://steemit.com/cat/@c77hall/a-beautiful-long-haired-cat
~My Cat Angel
https://steemit.com/cats/@c77hall/long-haired-cat-with-blue-eyes-my-beautiful-angel
~Where I Live
https://steemit.com/photography/@c77hall/the-majestic-mountains-where-i-live-and-some-mountain-quotes

Sort:  

Please leave me a comment and share your thoughts! I will read every single comment and really appreciate all of them!💖

One time he caught a rabbit and dragged it up the hill to lay it on the front porch for us....lol...Why do cats do that? Do they want us to eat it?

Smokey was showing his appreciation and love for you. And yes, you are expected to eat the rabbit. :D

I told my furkids when they were kittens NOT to bring any gifts home such as lizards, cockroaches and birds and never to place on my bed. Somehow they understood. Thank God for that small mercy!

Here, enjoy my neighbour's cat, Legam, who comes for supper every night at my home. Black cats are such beauties...

1-DSC_0448-001.JPG

1-DSC_0440-001.JPG

1-DSC_0473.JPG

Ohh love your neighbor's black cat...he is beautiful....That is right, we suppose to eat it...lol..omg...blaaaaa...All of my cats did their part to bring in the gifts, but Smokey was the most determined to bring the biggest and best...lol
💖

It just shows what a loving and adorable cat Smokey is. So did you eat the rabbit or at least cooked for your furkids to eat? :p <3

Ohh yes it was delicious...lol
💖

Hi, even before I started volunteering at the shelter, I knew that black animals are some that are the most difficult to adopt. I'm glad Smokey lived a long life. How many years did you have him?

Smokey had just turned 20 when he passed. His sister Angel beat him by only a couple of months. She died last year too.
💖

I'm sorry. I just saw this. I haven't been on as much lately. I was finishing the first book of my animal adventure fantasy. My editor/formatter is now doing their part. I'm sorry about Smokey & Angel. They're in our lives for such a short time. They remain forever in our hearts & mind.

I thought I had shared this previously. Maybe it was on another thread. Our first kitty together, Tino (Valentino) crossed the Rainbow Bridge last Jan. He was 19 1/2. We had him for 15 1/2 years.

Sad, but also a vivid portrait of what Smokey was like. You must have taken great care of him for him to last 20 years. Was there anything in particular you think contributed to his longevity?

Well all of my cats ate table food and some dry cat food growing up. When they were about 16 years old, they seemed to get sick easy on the table scraps. I then started giving them canned food and the dry...They say don't give your cats table food but it didn't hurt them any. They were indoor/outdoor cats up until we moved to the city, so they hunted outside while growing. One of my cats got sick when she was little and mixed up some herbs and gave her. She got better and outlived all the rest...I tell people I had the secret to longevity...lol
💖

Very interesting story there. Multiple cats living well beyond the average lifespan is something that always grabs my attention. I at least make sure mine only gets higher-quality canned food, but I always want to learn more.

Yes I always kept dry cat food out for them too and when they were around 15 yrs old I gave them kitten food(dry) because they start to get bad teeth about 15 years.

💖

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67617.45
ETH 3777.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69