🌸 Desert.plants.passion / How do I get so many seeds?! / Astrophytum myriostigma

in #cactus6 years ago


image.jpg


Look at it! It is bathing!
😊


image.jpg


image.jpg


image.jpg


image.jpg


I really like those bumblebees! They are all around! First they were bathing in all those flowers in orchard, now they are bathing in cacti flowers or any other flowering plant living in my garden.


It is true happiness to live somewhere where nature is clean, that there are so many bees, bumblebees and butterflies around.


And whose flower is it actually?


It is one of the most beautiful cacti which exists!
Astrophytum myriostigma or Bishop’s hat.


image.jpg


This one is more than 15 years old. It is the oldest myriostigma that I have.



image.jpg


I will show you two younger ones. Little star and the one that will (maybe) develop fifth rib later, and become a star too. But may also happen that it will stay with 4 ribs only.


image.jpg


image.jpg


Usually they have 5 ribs. But sometimes it happens that they have 3 or 4 ribs, and cacti collectors fave them particularly. But if cacti could speak I suppose that they will tell us it is actually a flaw - to have less than 5 ribs. In nature of cacti is to get close, as much as they can, to perfect geometric shape of sphere or cylinder. A star like shape with 5 ribs is much closer to sphere than shape with 3 ribs only. The reason for that aim of every cacti is protection from dehydration, naturally.


image.jpg


I do not have to use brush for pollination. Insects took over the whole job. And that's how I get so many seeds. On the photo above are seedlings only 2 months old. They still didn’t develop all five ribs but it is already obvious that they are A. myriostygma seedlings!
😊


Oh, I forgot to mention! The flower has very pleasant scent! Do not forget to smell your myriostigma!




Thank you for your attention!



Some of my other cacti & other succulents stories:


Genus Rebutia
African Stars / First stapeliads flowers this spring
Faucaria/ The Throat of an Animal
Pelecyphora aseliformis
Cacti Flowering for the First Time (2)


If you are interested in reading about desert plants from my own growing experience fell free to follow and enjoy!


@andrijana

Sort:  

Beautiful !!!
Yes, and fragrant? Super!!!
Very lovely pollinators !!!
You'll soon persuade me to grow a cactus from seeds!
:-)

You see! They are looking like cacti already and are so small and cute. :)

Yes, just lovely !!!
Yesterday I went to another city in the greenhouse!
I make's a lot of photos. And, of course, I bought new plants !!!

:)
You seem happy!
I'm looking forward to photos!

Yes, I am very happy with my purchase !!!
When I can transfer photos from the tablet to my computer, I will post a photo!
And I again need your help in the title!
:-)
I bought two-colored cacti !!!!!!

Such a beautiful bee. And cactus :) You are almost making me want to grow cacti again

We need help!

which one?
:-)

Haha so he is to blame! Looks like pollinating is so much fun :)
And such cute little babies!

I notices all those anomalies are very desirable. Probably because they are more rare then the usual shape.

P.S. All potted and watered. I can hear them growing! :D

:) Great!! Enjoy them.

Very interesting. Mother Nature is amazing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64403.69
ETH 3463.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50