🌸 Desert.plants.passion / Genus Rebutia

in #cactus6 years ago (edited)


image.jpg
Rebutia krainziana


Plants from the genus Rebutia can be recognized by a bud, that has no hair or spines and is coming from the lower part of the body, which differentiates them from Lobivias, Mediolobivias and Aylosteras. Often they create clumps, then looking like little hills, which I particularly like about them.


They are very easy plants to grow and flower. They don’t like all day direct sun. Half a day of sun will make them happy, either morning or evening. In the summer when the heat is high it is necessary to reduce watering because they enter the dormant phase.


Although well grown in a soil that is half or one third organic I have planted mine in 80% mineral and are doing great progress!


R. krainziana, R. senilis, Rebutia sp., and R. fabrisii are particularly dear to me because I received them as a gift from a friend who has lots of Rebutias. It is hers fault that I got hooked on this genus.


image.jpg
Rebutia senilis


image.jpg
Rebutia sp.


image.jpg
Rebutia fabrisii var. aureiflora


I have more Rebutias that I was already writing about, like Rebutia marsoneri or some amazing R. hybrids.


But there is one more beauty, very gentle both in the appearance of the body and in the flowers; R. albiflora.


image.jpg
Rebutia albiflora


I have it in several pots, that much I like the hills that it is making. Small balls of gentle spines are easily rooted, so every hill I have, I grown it by myself. They start with bloom early, it is possible to see first flower at only one rooted head. In fact, it rarely gives seeds, and the method of cultivation by sowing it is not practiced at all.


Interestingly, it is assumed that all the albiflora that exist in the cultivation have been produced by rooting the ofshoots, all of which originate from the first plant brought from the habitat.


image.jpg
Rebutia albiflora


image.jpg
Rebutia albiflora


image.jpg
Rebutia albiflora



Thank you for your attention!



Some of my other cacti & other succulents stories:


African Stars / First stapeliads flowers this spring
Faucaria/ The Throat of an Animal
Pelecyphora aseliformis
Cacti Flowering for the First Time (2)
Dichotomous Branching in Mammillaria hahniana


If you are interested in reading about desert plants from my own growing experience fell free to follow and enjoy!


@andrijana

Sort:  

Congratulations!!!
Beautiful cacti!
I, too, always look forward to the flowering of cacti!
They are wonderful!

Thank you :)
I'm looking forward to your photos of flowering cacti!

:-)

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

Plants from the genus Rebutia can be recognized by a bud, that has no hair or spines and is comming from the lower part of the body, which differentiates them from Lobivias, Mediolobivias and Aylosteras.
It should be coming instead of comming.

Edited! :) :)

So cute!

Precious little things!
That pillow of Rebutia albiflora looks amazing!

I'm glad you like it ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64403.69
ETH 3463.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50