Summer In The City! The Magnificent Karlskirche in Black & White, Surrounded With Palmtrees

in #bwphotocontest7 years ago (edited)

I took this photo yesterday on my iPhone7 and it's one of my entries for the "BW-photo-contest. 

I spend my very first summer in Vienna and so far its been an amazing experience to explore my hometown. 

Everyday I think how lucky I am to be born in such breathtaking country, filled with so much beauty. I still don't feel 100% "home" after living most of my life abroad but enjoy every second of my daily strolls. 

My older eyes see different things than in my youth, growing up in this, now very cosmopolitan world town. 

Children were jumping in the pond in-front of the stunning and colorful church, to cool off on a very hot summer day with palm trees placed around, a reflection of East meets West. I closed my eyes for a second and it felt like being back in the Tropics. 

Karlskirche am Karlsplatz is even more beautiful in colour and a breathtaking, religious building with a large turquoise and shining cupola.

St. Charles' Church is the last work of the eminent baroque Austrian architect Johann Bernhard Fischer von Erlach

The church, finished in 1739 by his son Joseph Emanuel Fischer von Erlach, was built as the result of a vow taken by Emperor Charles VI during a plague epidemic. The church is consecrated to the patron saint of the Habsburg emperor, Saint Charles Borromeo: The exhibits in the small Museo Borromeo include the traveling clothes of the Bishop of Milan.The renovation of the High Altar, designed by Fischer von Erlach, has been completed and it has regained its original splendor. The opulent frescoes in the cupola by Johannes Michael Rottmayr contain 1250 square meters of incredible splendor and beautiful colors; they show the glory of Saint Charles Borromeo - Source Wien.info

J.B.Fischer von Erlach’s baroque style, a synthesis of renaissance and southern baroque elements, shaped the tastes of the Habsburg empire. His works include the Dreifaltigkeitskirche and the Kollegienkirche in Salzburg and the Winter Palace of Prince Eugene of Savoy in Vienna.

Those photos were taken a few months ago with a very different winter mood and feeling.

A near by cafe in the park. 

Nothing better than to end a nice day in my friends pool.  

Follow @mammasitta and also @massivevibration 

Many more articles about Vienna can be found on my blog 

Views To Die For! The Best Aparol Spritz And Two Rooftop Bars You Must Visit For Your Summer Holiday in Vienna

Our Life Is Like A River! If You Can't Swim, You Must Float With The Vienna Vineyard Sky!

Alone! In The Grey Vienna Amusement Park Sky

Wiener Brut! My Friend Arthur And The History Of The Famous Lifeball in Vienna

Art Is A Line Around Your Thoughts, The Art Nouveau Visionary And Austrian Symbolist Painter Gustav Klimt And Lifeball, The Annual AIDS Charity Event In Vienna

"Strassenmusikant" - A Typical Viennese Song For Steemit's Randowhale And Those Kind Of Votes We Might Need Or Not?


Sort:  

nice post. great photography.

so much different different mood and architecture from Bali right @mammasitta 😃😃
i wish i could see tht kind of architecture.

I am lucky I experience both! Our world is so wonderful if you don't look at the ugly sides. Bali used to be a true paradise but some people are destroying it step by step . I am so sad !

indeed. greedy is never ends. I can say to you are so lucky than my self, you have fully see a better and more peaceful Bali.
The hype of tourism and also materialism is already destroyed Bali. Not only from the outsider but also from my fellow Balinese. very sad reality really. 😭😭😭

Lets write about and expose in hope some people in your government will notice our concern. Jakarta is stealing your land. Its shameful.

setuju mas Eka (agree !)

Summer over the bridge

Black / White ,....... and ,..

Hello there
I am so happy to have found your blog. What a wonderful spirit you have. The photos are wonderful you took here - that turquoise really stands out =)
I am following you to see what you create in the future. I am a keen photographer of nature who loves cats and all wildlife down in Costa Rica where paradise is our daily reality. Have a beautiful steemy day.

I have much to learn from you @mamasita
All your posts are great :)

What a magical place!I can feel the breath of history through your shots! Beethoven, Brahms, Mozart, Strauss all born and raised in Vienna, greatest composers of all times. They probably visited St. Charles' Church and may be even created some piece of music there. I used to study cello for 7 years, so I adore classical music and composers:) Have a nice day over there! Some more photos, please :)

Yeah I can smell culture and history in every corner :) I am dizzy
Music in my blood since childhood and thanks so much for your lovley comment

Dear @mammasitta!
You have awesome photos!
Thank you!

ein schönes altes und ehrwürdiges Gebäude ...... park ich zu ich um.....

Ich freue mich, dass es Dir gefällt. I truly enjoy exploring meine Heimatstadt und versuche es mit anderen Augen zu präsentieren. So wie ich es halt sehe. 💙

das machst du richtig gut!!.... Das ändern des Blickwinkels, lässt vieles in anderem Licht erscheinen!!

Another lovely post @mammasitta. I want to visit Vienna now :)

Thats why I post all my adventures in my hometown :) and offer my airbnb room :)

Noted!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42