#55 The Star Bridge - Stari Most in Bosnia 🇧🇦 波黑的明星老桥

in #bwphotocontest6 years ago (edited)

IMG_9292.JPG

This hump-backed stone arch bridge here is Stari Most in Bosnia and Herzegovina. It is connecting the two parts of the pretty town Mostar. Stari Most literally means "Old Bridge", it is an iconic landmark in the country, usually seen as one of the most significant Balkan Islamic architectures. I enjoyed visiting these distinctive architectures here as well as in other Balkans such as Albania, Montenegro, Bulgaria and Kosovo...

IMG_9293.jpg

When I was traveling in this region, whenever I read a travel map of sights, there had always been this bridge on it. So I talked to some Bosnians, and they told me that the bridge is seen as a symbol of peace nowadays, as it was destroyed in 1993 by Croat military forces during the Croat–Bosniak War.

It's said that among local people, there is an old tradition that 16-year-old boys are encouraged to plummet 24m off the bridge, into the Neretva river down below. And this cruelly(to me) brave act has become more and more popular among tourists. There is even a diving club charging tourists if they want to jump. It's a pity that I didn't get to see any people taking this challenge to jump into that chilly abyss, otherwise I might have clicked some more appealing shots with a diving figure in them. ;)

Snapseed.jpg

Stari Most was first built in 16th century by a well-known architect Mimar Sinan who built many major Ottoman Sultan’s buildings in Istanbul. It stood there for over 4 centuries until the Croat–Bosniak War. The reconstruction was finished in 2004 when the bridge was reopen to the public.


My first 2 photos are entries for the B & W photo contest by @daveks. I used my old camera Canon Kiss X3.

So what do you think of these shots and the bridge? Have you been to this beautiful place? Will you take the plunge off the bridge? Tell me what you think in the comments below! See you next time. :D

你去过这个地方吗?敢不敢像当地人和一些疯狂的游客一样,从这座桥上跳进河里?我反正是不敢的。ヽ(*。>Д<)o゜你对这座象征和平的波黑老桥和我拍的这三张照片有什么看法?欢迎留言评论。谢谢!=)


Thank you for reading. Check out my recent posts, and follow me for more! =)

Satay Fried Rice Recipe 简单美味的沙爹炒饭

An Abandoned Car And A Wallaby in The Forest 森林中的废弃车和小袋鼠

Some SMILE Portraits in My Travels 旅途中的微笑

A Tale of Life 丛林求生

The Story of Tulip Mania 郁金香泡沫的故事

Zodiac Animals Workshop in Australia 澳洲孩子的生肖灯手工作坊

By the Scheldt River of Antwerp(1) 安特河边失望的小女孩

Stories of Shadows (2@Europe + 2@South America) 光影交错的瞬间

About Chinese New Year + My Greeting Cards 我做的春节贺卡~祝大家狗年大吉

Follow Me to Grey Glacier (2) 格雷冰川初探(二)

The Story of Dirty Duck Restaurant 脏鸭馆的美食故事

Explore Easter Island with Me (2) - Best Sunset Spot Ahu Akivi 复活节岛摩托之旅(二)

@ItchyfeetDonica is my only account here and I'm 200% real ;) → Introduce Cross-culture Me on This Cross-over Platform 处女贴-自我介绍

Here are some screenshots from my Instagram. Follow @ItchyfeetDonica for more shots around the globe !


!steemitworldmap 43.342142 lat 17.811685 long Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina d3scr

Sort:  

Beautiful. Love the colour tones in here. Not a straight B&W.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=itchyfeetdonica
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=55-the-star-bridge-stari-most-in-bosnia


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

That's awesome that your always traveling :) Sounds like you have had some great adventures :)

Thanks Melissa! It's cool to be a singer/songwriter. :)

這河有那麼深嗎?!

我看网上说有统计至少4人跳下去丢了性命

@itchyfeetdonica 我也不太敢,除非知道河有多深,然后才决定要不要跳

而且大部分时候河水都是冰冷刺骨啊 这是google images:

C25A01C3-1E6E-4B25-AE85-408D7BFF4496.jpeg

哇靠,那个高度真是太太太高了!对不起,你说我胆小也好,窝囊也罢,我真的不敢跳下去 O.o

Hey girl, I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold, and the architecture is awesome and I love the draw and I love the bridge and love these photos and we love you and this place reminds me of Naboo in Star Wars.

Thanks Oatmeal Joey Arnold!

I am seeing you travel a lot !!! That's nice :-) I heard about balkan culture positive reactions... :-)

Donica is awesome :) One of the best-travelled Steemians ever :)

Thanks Petr! How come all the Czechs I know are always so sweet? :D I had some best friends from there when I was studying in Europe - We were cooking together and having so much fun almost every week, and they gave me a Czech flag as gift when they finished their Erasmus studies in my university. I also visited them later in Prague. This is off topic but you remind me of these great memories! =)

Haha thats nice, thank you :)) Happy to learn you have had such great experience with my fellow Czechs but honestly, you must have been lucky too because not all Czechs are that sweet, really :D

Sure, people are all different. But the ones I knew were getting along well with me, haha...

Thanks @truestories! I see you also love traveling. And I like real life stories too! =)

Wow, wonderful pictures my Dear!!!! Congratulations :)

Great post I have been there a lot and I really like the photos you took. Just one thing a little correction :) Mostar is in the region known as Herzegovina so that would be more accurate then Stari most in Bosnia. Ok, so Bosnia and Herzegovina is organized in a complicated way so no hard feelings it is a common mistake :) There is an important Islamic Ottoman/Turkish in Croatia on the Dalmatian coast it is Known as Maškovića Han and it was Inn so to say a stop for caravans and travelers. So on your next travels you can maybe check it out Maškovića Han

Thanks @zija2022 for telling me that Mostar is in the region of Herzegovina, much appreciated! I called the country Bosnia as I thought it's normally shortened as that. In Chinese we actually use "BoHer" which is from both words. And I was on the Dalmatian coast too, from Dubrovnik all the way up, it's a beautiful region with a great cultural diversity! =)

I am glad I could be of asistence. We shorten it BiH for Bosna i Hercegovina :) I am glad you enjoyed both countries and the whole Croatian coast is extremely beautiful.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ItchyfeetDonica from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60844.65
ETH 2995.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88