#45 About Chinese New Year + My Greeting Cards 🎊 我做的春节贺卡~祝大家狗年大吉🐶| 月旦评 摄影/平面设计

in #funny6 years ago (edited)

Chinese New Year and Spring Festival

What's up fellow Steemians! For some of you out there, the coming big day might be Valentine's Day, while for Chinese people worldwide, the fast approaching important holiday is the Chinese New Year. February 16th is the day Chinese New Year falls on in 2018. And the Spring Festival will last to March 2nd, about 15 days in total.

In China, most working people will have a week holiday around the New Year, starting from New Year's Eve or a bit earlier. This holiday is normally called Golden Week Holiday of Spring Festival. Just like the Christmas holiday for westerners, Spring Festival is of great importance for Chinese family reunions.

File Feb 13, 18 18 57.jpeg


The Lunar Calendar

So why does the 2018 Chinese New Year land on February 16th instead of January 1st? It is because the Spring Festival in China is based on the lunar calendar, which is decided by the monthly cycles of the Moon's phases, also known as synodic months. As a result, the Chinese New Year has no exact date each year, but it mostly falls on a day in January or February in Gregorian calendar, roughly the same dates of Aquarius sign in the Western Zodiac.

Actually, there's also a Chinese Valentine's Day(Qixi/Qiqiao Festival) originated from a beautiful romantic legend, which falls on the 7th day of the 7th month on the Chinese lunar calendar, so it's usually some day in July or August in Gregorian Calendar.

And a fun fact here: my birthday is February 7th, which fell on the Chinese New Year's Eve of my birth year. Imagine when other Chinese were wolfing down the grand meal on New Year's Eve, my mom was struggling hard to give birth to me. What a great mom! :D Last week on my birthday, I got birthday wishes from some friends, but not from my mom. After I told her about this "news", she was quite surprised, saying "Oh really? I only remember it's on New Year's Eve, so it will be on February 15th this year." I guess I can't blame her, since some older generations in China are more used to the dates on traditional lunar calendar.


㊗️各位同胞春节快乐,狗年大吉!因为这些年客居海外,最近几年是在南美和澳洲过的春节,周围没有喜庆年味的拍照内容,所以下面是我用最近在澳洲拍的一张照片做的贺卡,希望你们喜欢!=)

照片上的景点是澳大利亚大洋路上有名的十二门徒岩,由于长期的海水海风侵蚀,现在只剩八根石灰岩柱了。这里通常风大浪急,雾气弥漫,我在冷风中凭栏远眺了一会儿,正好看到这群黑色的海鸟飞过,于是定格瞬间。

File Feb 14, 03 03 53.jpeg


The Twelve Apostles in Australia

Since I haven't lived in China for years, I don't have any new-year themed pictures at hand for my blog images. I can imagine all the red dog-themed decorations all over China now. In fact, I spent the Chinese New Year in hot summers of the Southern Hemisphere (South America and Australia) for the past few years. So please excuse me and enjoy this view of The Twelve Apostles from Victoria, Australia. I made 2 greeting cards out of the photo that I took last month.

This is the star sight on the star route - the Great Ocean Road. What makes my shot a bit special is the flock of black birds flying by. =) Originally there were twelve limestone stacks off the shore, but due to the gradual erosion caused by the sea and wind, now only eight Apostles left.

Have you been to the eight apostles on the Great Ocean Road? And which greeting card do you prefer? The first portrait one or the second landscape one? :D

File Feb 14, 03 07 48.jpeg


I mentioned above red dog-themed decorations, since 2018 is the Year of the Dog according to the ancient zodiac animal signs in Chinese culture. I will talk about this old tradition in my next post about Chinese New Year. =)

What do you know about the Spring Festival in China? Tell me your thoughts and experiences in the comments below! Stay tuned and see you soon!


Thank you for reading. Check out my recent posts , and follow me for more! =)

Follow Me to Grey Glacier (2) 格雷冰川初探(二)

Follow Me to Grey Glacier (1) 格雷冰川初探(一)

The Story of Dirty Duck Restaurant 脏鸭馆的美食故事

Explore Easter Island with Me (2) - Best Sunset Spot Ahu Akivi 复活节岛摩托之旅(二)

Visit the Rotterdam Market Hall with Me 全球颜值最高的菜市场究竟长什么样?

@ItchyfeetDonica is my only account here and I'm 200% real ;) → Introduce Cross-culture Me on This Cross-over Platform 处女贴-自我介绍

Here are some screenshots from my Instagram. Follow @ItchyfeetDonica for more shots around the globe !


!steemitworldmap -38.665139 lat 143.095379 long 12 Apostles Australia d3scr

Sort:  

不错啊!我也想收到这么漂亮的贺卡!
祝你新年快乐,狗年大吉!

谢谢 你那里离十二门徒更近呢 ;)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography

You have earned 6.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.29
Server time: 19:48:17
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 745.18/800.00
Total Photos: 37
Total comments: 70
Total contest wins: 11
And have also received a 0.90 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=itchyfeetdonica
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=45-my-greeting-cards-for-the-chinese-new-year


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

哈哈 这和卡片有点美噢~ 如果有只狗狗在沙滩来就完美啦🐶

对哦 可惜那里的沙滩风浪有点大 有些沙滩倒是有袋鼠出没 :)

过年你妈妈去找你不?

太远了她不来 我前几个月刚回去

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thank you for taking part in this months #culturevulture challenge. Good Luck.

I've heard about Chinese New year, but it was nice to actually get an explanation of how it works, so thank you for that. The cards are really lovely too :)

Thanks @gretum for your comment! =)

Thank you for a trip down memory lane, and for a couple of coincidences that you and I share. I love your photos (all of them) the first time I saw the Apostles was in 1999, when there were 9! Also thank you for a wonderful explanation of the Chinese new year, combined with a touching account of why it means so much to you and your family. I too am a very proud Aquarian and my birthday is the....15th of February! I wish you a very happy birthday for Thursday @itchyfeetdonica be happy & smile often my friend :)

Thank you Lee for taking your time to comment on my post, much appreciated! Haha, Aquarius kicks ass as they say ;) Happy coming birthday to you too! I was also in Malta, and I think it's a good base for digital nomads with that climate and vibe, and lower expenses than most other English speaking countries.

Yes we do! And thank you...unfortunately the cost of living in Malta has risen sharply in the last 18 months or so, and we're now planning to relocate to Andalusia in Spain :)

Too bad, as bad as the collapse of the Azure Window. Luckily I was there in 2013! Andalusia is cool too, I love those Moorish architectures! =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60345.08
ETH 2986.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81