Thursday is Butterfly Day and Insect Day Giveaway- Week 28!

in #butterflyday5 years ago

Hi everyone! Happy Butterfly Day and Insect Day Giveaway- Week 28! Gather around the Insect Pub to see butterflies and other insects, and to make new friends. Post your butterfly and insect photos, or art work for a chance to win Steem Basic Income shares. A minimum of 2-SBI will be given away; 1-SBI for art work and 1-SBI for photos. If no art work is submitted, then 2-SBI will be given away for photos. Depending on how many entries there are, I might be able to giveaway more. Entries will not be judged and winners are chosen at random. You have 6 days for entries in this post and then a new one will begin. Thanks to all for your amazing entries! There are 2 winners for Week 27 and they are @annephilbrick and @shasta. Congratulations!

Here are the rules for the Giveaway.

1-One submission per person per week.
2-All photos and art work must be your own work. Photos and art work from the internet will not be accepted.
3-Make your own butterfly or insect post and use one of these tags: #butterflyday or #insectpub.
4-Important! To be entered in the giveaway, you must put the link to your post in the comments below.
5-Upvotes to this post are not necessary but would be greatly appreciated, and might allow me to give away more prizes.

I am looking forward to seeing your butterflies and other insects from your neck of the woods!

Here are my photos for today of the Common Buckeye Butterfly.

This is the first time I have seen this butterfly in person so I was really happy. The many eyespots on this butterfly look similar to a buck's eye; hence its name.

They are constantly on the move and erratic, fast fliers.

The average wingspan of these butterflies is 1.65 - 2.8 inches.

Common buckeye butterflies sip nectar from various plants and they also like to feed on rotting fruit, dung and the flesh of dead animals.

Thanks for stopping by!

All photos are my own.

Information Source: ohiodnr.gov, insectidentification. org

This pretty butterfly gif is brought to you by @brisby. Thank you!

Proof of transfer.

Are you looking for a caring community where your creativity and imagination can run wild? A place where you have the opportunity to win prizes for your participation? Are you looking for support or for a place that you would like to support? Than head on over to the Freewrite House and have some fun.

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Sort:  

What a beautiful butterfly 🦋! I don't think I have seen anyone like that before...

It is a pretty one. Glad I could show it to you. Thanks for stopping by! : )

Wow i have never seen the common buckeye either. Gotta love those eyes on the wings. Here's this week's entry https://steemit.com/butterflyday/@sketch.and.jam/butterfly-day-michigan-butterfly-house-7gpa1nyd

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @sketch.and.jam! The eyes on the wings sure are cool looking. Thanks for your entry. : )

I wonder if they mimick anything, kind of small for owl eyes.

Posted using Partiko Android

A flying buck. LOL!

I have never seen one of those either! What a beauty and your photos are great!
Here is mine. https://steemit.com/butterflyday/@melinda010100/butterflyday-week-28

Thanks Melinda and thanks for your entry! : )

I am surprised how you make the butterfly not go away when you take it.

It too me almost an hour to get these photos. It stopped for a second, flew around and came back; over and over again.

Every sea to appreciate how wonderful nature is. 😃

So true! : )

😊🦋
Thank You !!
@whatisnew
Congratulations @shasta !
I haven't seen a Common Buckeye Butterfly. They are absolutely beautiful 🤗😊..! I'm definitely going to look up and see if they are in my region. I would love to see them here.
:-)

That is a good find i have not seen one of those close up nice to have had the luck to see and photograph one of these Buckeye Butterflies but i did have the luck to see a Chinese Lantern Fly 👍

Here is my entry...

Thursday is Butterfly Day and Insect Day Giveaway- Week 28 !!

Hi @hangin! Your Chinese Lantern Fly beats mine! Thanks for your entry. : )

Well thank you @whatisnew but yours is impressive also 🌝

Gorgeous photos of this beautiful buckeye butterfly ❤ @whatisnew! :-)
So many wonderful butterflies you find in your area! Love seeing them
all and the many insects! Thank you so very much for sbi!! 💕

Thanks @shasta! We do have some nice butterflies and I love seeing the new ones like this one. My pleasure for the SBI. : )

Wow buckeye butterfly...another butterfly I’ve never seen.
His patterns makes me really dizzy but it’s beautiful!

Here is my entry :)
https://steemit.com/butterflyday/@djynn/butterfly

Hi @djynn! Thanks for your entry. : )

I managed! Here is my entry :)
https://steemit.com/photography/@ewkaw/veggies-for-dinner

Those spots on your butterfly are just awesome!

Hi @ewkaw! Good to see you here. Thanks for your entry. : )

Super great photos of that one Butterfly! Since it flies around all the time you must have drugged it to sit around and pose for you!

Thanks so much jonboy! HaHa! It took me almost and hour to get these photos because it flew around me and stopped for a minute, flew around me and stopped for a minute...over and over again. I just stood still and waited for it to come back and land.

So this is another example of your supreme dedication and patience, it's remarkable!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43