Butterfly Day - Michigan Butterfly House steemCreated with Sketch.

Here's a few shots I discovered on my dslr of the Michigan butterfly house I visited a couple months ago for this #butterflyday by @whatisnew

These guys were soaking up the sun rays near the top of the ceiling windows.

Here's a little guy resting on a leaf. I wish I had my identification key for all the butterflies in the house.

Here's another beauty resting on a leaf. It's tasting something on the leaf surface with its tongue.

Here's a Kallima inachus commonly known as an orange oakleaf butterfly. One of these guys landed on my leg and I caught a shot of it with my phone, see below.

It liked my canvas pants as camoflage.

Now for a random robberfly I found outside the butterfly house. I bet he would like to sneak in and snipe some colorful butterflies for food.

Not an insect but here was a cute garter snake lurking in the leaves outside the butterfly house. I tried to catch him but he was way too fast. Happy #butterflyday

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

They are indeed great shots. I especially like the top one.

Fortunately i had my zoom lens to get that one. I could've spent hours in there.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 0.41% upvote from us for your 40 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Beautiful

Posted using Partiko Android

Definitely beautiful creatures.

Posted using Partiko Android

Amazing butterflies! How come they were so still and calm?! Did you sing to them?!

Haha they would fly away if i sang to them. Apparently it rained the day before and butterflies like to sit around to wait out the rain/humidity so it was lucky for my photoshoot.

Posted using Partiko Android

Aha! So you can read their mind! I thought you could hypnotise them with your songs!

Maybe if i brought in my idiopan drum they would calm down.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you sketch.and.jam! You've just received an upvote of 36% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Wow! They are beautiful butterflies and so are your photos. The oakleaf always catches my attention too. Love the robberfly but you can keep the snake because they creep me out. Knowing you, you probably held that snake and let it crawl all over you. LOL! Thanks for using #butterflyday tag @sketch.and.jam!

Fortunately the snake escaped. Super fast guys. Probably for the better since they tend to pee/poop on you if caught.

Posted using Partiko Android

Incredible colours on the butteflies and you caught them so nice.
It reminds me there is a butterfly house near my town I did not manage to visit. I have to find time to pop up there.

I bet many of these same species will be there. Definitely worth visiting, be sure to bring a good camera.

Posted using Partiko Android

Take 6, I stayed with my mouth open, it's breathtakingly beautiful!!!

Yeah that one was really friendly and quite drastic in color change from the outside of its wing.

Posted using Partiko Android

exquisitely beautiful.

Great shots again and i love that Kallima Inachus butterfly awesome colors and blends in well with your jeans 👍

They are pretty friendly at first glance you don't even know they are a butterfly.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46