Veggies for dinner

in #photography5 years ago

I always thought that those green flies feel only on meat stuff... You will find them always near some dead animals, or stinky flowers, like my Stapelias :p
But here I found them on blooming onions at my mum's garden.

onion flower green fly 1.jpg

I don't think the flower is stinky... unless for the flies onion and meat go so well together that it doesn't really matter which one the feed on.
At time there were more than 2 feeding. I just managed to catch two at the same time.
Have to say that because they are so shiny and pretty green (yes.. green is my fav colour!) they are kind of cute :)

onion flower green fly 3.jpg

It doesn't change the fat that whenever I see them, I ask "where is some stink coming from?"

onion flower green fly 2.jpg

This post is my entry to @whatisnew Insect (are we gonna get more insects? :D) giveaway week 28.

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
(ƒ/11, 1/400, ISO320)
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

REGISTRATION | UPVOTE VALUES | NEW MEMBERS BONUS

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

My chicago orb weavers would love to get ahold of that fly. They setup shop on the garlic near trump tower planters. I'm guessing the garlic attracts lots of flies and the spiders know this.

Posted using Partiko Android

Get one of those stinky Stapelias.. he will love the big juicy flies they attract. The flowers smell like rotten meat :P


Stapelia Gigantea

HaHa! They must like veggies to go along with their meat. That 2nd photo is awesome and looks pretty with the white background. Thanks for using #insectpub tag @ewkaw. : )

A healthy, balanced diet... they know whats good :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46