Why are some people so much cooler than others?

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Sometimes I can't help but wonder if there is some psychological factor that causes certain people to be so incredibly cool while others are really annoying or irritating.

As most of you know by now, I live in a house with two other guys.

Roommate situations are often give and take. There is usually some conflict in at least one area or another.


Pixabay

One of my roommates and I tend to get into arguments once in awhile. He just seems like he wants to know everything, and is really arrogant about it.

Of course he's a bit younger than me so I usually let it slide when he does something like eat my food or be really loud.

In truth, I think he's getting a lot better about it. My other roommate is just an incredibly calm and passive person.

Not only that, but he is incredibly generous all the time.

He works something like 80 hours a week, but when he does have time to hang out he is always ready to hand you a beer or slice of pizza or whatever he happens to have..

His birthday is today, and I was all ready to spend the night hanging out with him but he told me last night that he might go over to a distant friend of his that he hadn't seen in awhile.

He told me if he was going to do this, that he would put a single beer on my shelf. That way I would know that he was not going to be home today and that the beer would just be a gift.

Today I got home to find a Dogfish Head 120 beer on my shelf. In case you don't know, these beers are $10.99 at our local store and they are 18.1% by volume.

Yep. They kind of taste like Bourbon and Scotch mixed together with hops and a tiny bit of beer.

I don't know if I would say that they are refreshing or anything like that, but I will say you have to be really careful when you drinking a beer like this.

It strikes me as amazing that he would tell me is going to put a beer on my shelf, and give me the impression that it was going to be something like a Dos Equis only for me to find this really expensive beer that he did not have any particular reason to give me.

After all, it was his birthday not mine.

It was really incredibly cool though. I don't actually drink much, but I will definitely drink this beer just because it is an experience.

I don't know what would make somebody be so cool.

Why are some people so much cooler than others?

Sort:  

I think self-confidence is a good measure of cool. Not afraid to be themselves and the ability to be generous comes from the same place. He can give a beer away once in a while because he knows he can easily buy a new one when he wants to!

Enjoy the beer, I felt a bit jealous.. (not in a mean way) when you described it, I've never heard of that kind of beer before!

I guess self-confidence is a good answer here. I will say that this beer is a really unusual beverage. It's definitely a sipping beer, but if anything it tastes much more like a bottle of Scotch than a beer. If you can imagine Scotch with hops in it, that is.

It is his birthday and he was celebrating by giving gifts.

Some people either by nature or raising..... or a combination of both, just seem to have a generous heart and hold loosely to material things. It's amazingly fun to give things to other people. Truly, it almost always does as much for the giver as the receiver.

I'm glad he gave that to you. What a heart warming gesture.

Chest warming too.

I hope that you're having a fun night tonight even though it got dark so early and that your ride home wasn't all that bad.

Well.... I am home safe and sound and I took tomorrow off, so in general I'm feeling pretty good. When I was about 5 minutes away from work, I looked back over the highway and saw a few seconds of sunset. sigh.... bye bye to the only sun I'll see today. I made one quick stop at the drug store.... and it was totally dark before I was halfway home. BOOOooooo.... I'll get over it, but it may take a few days.

20181106_171942.jpg

What a guy, some people are just plain good

It would appear so. We hung out of my birthday, and I literally only remember five minutes of that night. Like.... I came home from work and five minutes later I woke up and it was the next day. He said I had a good time.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @jeezzle! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 16000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 17000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63740.26
ETH 2618.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79