Transplanted my Succulents

in #busy5 years ago

Greetings Steemian's,

I love plants, and I have a goal to one day have a giant garden. I'm confident I have the skill set to care for a garden, due to the fact that I worked in a greenhouse for a few years during summer months.

Upon taking the job in a greenhouse, I didn't have any specific knowledge about plants, but I assured the person hiring me that I would do my best, and was confident that I have a green thumb. The woman who owned it could tell I wasn't bullshitting and gave me the job.

She had a variety of succulents that were close to death, and couldn't seem to figure out what the problem was. I told her I would put some research in, and get to the bottom of it. I researched for weeks. I tested PH levels, tried different nutrient mixtures, decreased/increased watering cycles, and the plants continued to get worse. It came to the point where I knew the mother plants were going to die, and we were at a futile point, so I took shoots that still looked healthy enough to survive, and put them in the sun. I knew roots would start growing, and I would be able to clone no problem.

When I was preparing to dispose of the mother succulents, I couldn't help but to notice how compacted the soil was. I also noticed it was 100 percent soil, not a sand or gravel mix. My intuition was keen, and I researched further. Come to find out, she was using the wrong soil mixture! (over watering only made it worse.)

So I took all these baby shoots, planted them with a new mixture of 50/50 soil and sand, and revived her succulent variety like never before.

This somewhat surgical procedure created a relationship with these plants, and honestly I probably would have figured it out without researching, as I somehow knew the soil was the issue when I started uprooting them. The plants spoke to me, that is the only way I can put it. What did they say? (We've been suffocating/drowning.)

Today, I love succulents. They are my favorite variety of plants, and I'm quite good at making them thrive.

So while I was shopping, I saw some unhealthy looking succulents at the checkout. (It's where they like to place the impulse buy items lol. It works..)

I grabbed them without hesitation and said "I'll bring you back my babies." The cashier looked at me like I'm crazy af, but I don't care.

Three plants were packed into one container, and they were competing for the limited space and soil provided. Futuremind knows what to do! Oh yes.

Here are pictures of my succulents. Freshly transplanted. I'll take pictures again in another month or two, and it will probably be shocking to some, to see how fast these things grow if properly cared for. Succulents can become giant. Which I think is pretty cool, but they can become too giant, and quite hard to care for at that point. It's proper to cut them down a bit once they are at a size which isn't too "out of control." Another awesome thing about these plants, is how easy they are to clone, simply by taking petals, letting them grow roots, and putting them in a fresh pot. (Easy and thoughtful gifts, which cost nothing but a little time and love.)

Below the photo's, I will provide some links which describe specific details.


IMG_20190619_141641.jpg



IMG_20190619_141405.jpg



IMG_20190619_141517.jpg



IMG_20190619_141623.jpg



https://worldofsucculents.com/graptosedum-bronze/
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Haworthia_cooperi
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Echeveria_elegans


Thank you for stopping by!


Much love,
@futuremind



Get some good karma into your life, vote good-karma for witness!

Witness link



Please consider voting helpie for witness

Our hope is that those who decide to support @helpie's efforts do so because they see the value in people too.

image.png


Sort:  

That's a great story. I'm not a green thumb at all, I'll try to listen more! But my wife and son are green thumbs, so in awe of them, plants can tell, fantastic people

You're blessed to live vicariously through the green thumbs of your wife and son!
A good way to start having a green thumb, in my opinion, is to sit down with your plants and converse with them. It may sound silly to some, but there is something to it. The plants like music too 🙂
Thank you for your kind words and support @mjhomb.

As member of the @Council - Community Upvoting Service, this post has received a 100.00% upvote from @council another project managed by @Yehey [ Witness ].

Members of the community can all chip in to Power UP. Become a member, delegate as low as 10 Steem Power (SP) to @Council to receive upvote and resteem. Here's the link to delegate https://on.king.net/council10sp it will redirect to Steem Connect for a secure connection. We share the Steem Power of all members that delegate to @Council Community Upvoting Service, sharing our SP for a stronger upvote. Vote like a Whale.

Please join us at https://SteemChat.com Steem Community discord server if you have questions.

Thank you.
@Council - Community Upvoting Service. Powered by Steemians

Posted using https://Steeming.com website.

Thank you! 😍

I somehow managed to make my succulent it was hanging and I’m guessing it just didn’t like the spot.

It definitely wasn’t overwatered - in fact, I thought it would get much of its moisture from the air and light rains we’ve been having.

I’ll pay more attention to it...

You live in a good area for succulents to thrive.
In NY, we've had a very mild summer, and these things retain water so well, you only have to water them like once a month here! At least right now. When it's hot, usually once a week, or once every two weeks. (depending on humidity levels)
Feel free to take a pic and drop it here, I'll gaze into it and see if it tells me anything 😋
If it's in really bad shape, best bet might be cloning from a petal to start anew.

Great job! :-) Succulents are nice. Some of them have symmetrical leaves that are amazing to watch.

Thank you Vince, yes succulents are really cool. They are easy to care for too! But if something goes wrong, they can die pretty quick. As long as they are happy with the soil, they generally thrive with little maintenance needed.
Thank you for your kind words and support Vince, it's always a pleasure to see you. I hope you are having a great weekend!

Thank you Jake, for the information. My sister was having problems with her Aloe Vera. I will get her to look into the soil situation. Little maintenance - that's the sort of plants I like. :-)

You have a great weekend too. :-)

Hi, @futuremind!

You just got a 31.21% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I thought I was really good at gardening until I moved down here. Turns out, I have to learn all over again. But, I too dream of having a nice big garden again in the future. I have one of the same succulents. But the other, I have never seen before. I added sand to my soil too. They seem to really like it. Mine were miniature plants when I got them. They were so tiny. You are right, they do grow fast!

Yes, sand, and rocks are great options for the succulents. I even break up small twigs and add them. Aeration and easy drainage. Since they retain water so well, they are susceptible to root rot.

The climate plays a big role, that is very true. If our succulents swapped places over night, they likely would go into a bit of shock for a week or two, but as long as their root system is healthy, they will bounce back nice. Cold is dangerous for them, if they reach freezing point, very bad, but I don't think you have to worry about that as much where you live.
During winter months I will have to keep them out of the window sill.
I do know someone who has a perennial succulent outdoors, and they grow back every year. I wasn't even aware there were perennial succulents until recently.

I use local soil too, nothing store bought. I laugh when people have issues with their plants utilizing store bought "miracle grow" compounds. Not to say those mixtures won't work, but I find the plants seem to thrive with the local environment, much more so than lab mix pre-fab stuff. We're fortunate to have nutrient rich soil here however, and not all regions are like this, so sometimes it might be a necessity to obtain such products.

As thoughtful and compassionate as you are, I know without a doubt that your succulents are lucky to be in your care.

Thank you for stopping by @akiroq, you'll have a giant garden one day!

I should replant mine. I don't have rocks and I like the twig idea. Yeah, I don't think I have to worry about mine freezing..hahaha..That would really be something! We'd all be in trouble if that happened! I've never heard of perennial succulents. They have a LOT of different varieties here. Many that I have never seen before. They're so cool. There is a really nice Botanical Garden about 2 hours from here..I love it there. You'd probably love it too! Amazing plants there! I'll take pics the next time I go and share them. The soil is pretty good here too. Nothing has ever been grown on my property. It will be a great adventure to garden there. I just need to learn how to protect my gardens from all the hungry critters! I've been growing any pieces that fall off into new ones. So, I have big ones and small ones now. Maybe I will start giving some away. It's a good idea. Thank you for the kind words. That is very nice of you.

You got a 36.76% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @futuremind! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 25 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

I am not good at growing succulents and I do love them! Now that I know you are good with them, I'll ask advice if I decide to try again. Hope you have had a good weekend!

Hey Melinda! It was a nice weekend. The weather was beautiful, and I actually got out of the house a little bit lol.
I would be happy to offer pointers if you obtain some succulents.
I don't know if they are sold at the markets in your area?
If you have trouble getting your hands on one, let me know. I think it would be rather easy to transport some rooting petals ;)

That's so nice of you to offer leaves! I had several of them, but over the course of time I have killed them all. I have one tough little guy that I have kept alive for a year, but it's not because of anything I have done!

Oh yes, I've seen this one before. I don't know the name of it off hand, but there are so many different breeds of succulents.
These are closer to cacti I think, and are indeed hardy plants which require very little watering. I would say it looks rather healthy and the soil mix looks right.
I doubt it needs more than the occasional watering. This one likes you and has a vibrant core.
I wouldn't worry about the little dead spots either, those are common, and often incite a panic in people which will cause them to over water , thinking under watering is the reason.
I think you're doing a nice job with this plant Melinda, thank you for showing! I'd say keep doing what you're doing, and make sure it's getting plenty of sun!

My daughter-in-law just made me that lovey mosaic box, and that little succulent pot fits in it perfectly. I think he likes his new house.

Wow your daughter-in-law is super talented with these mosaics. You're so lucky! He definitely loves the new house 😍

I'll try to make my way over to your blog later. It's so tough to keep up with everything, and all the new happenings. Everything is getting more fast paced, but futuremind isn't lol. I need a brain processor upgrade or something haha.

Thanks Melinda, I'll see you later 💐

It has been really hard to keep up here this week! There have been so many new things to read about, and learn. It is so exciting!

Congratulations @futuremind! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 5000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thanks steemitboard, I got this!
I'll stop by the post to provide my condolences to @wolfhart's family. Thank you for providing the link.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.86
ETH 3531.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53