DOING BUSINESS WITH PAPA-PEPPER - Part 2 of 4 - GIVE 'EM THE BOOT!

in #business7 years ago

Now this was a peculiar one!


For those of you who saw my animal swap post a week ago, you know that I recently traded some of our pigs for some goats, ducks, and a few roosters.

If you are familiar with any sort of "normal" business practices, this may strike you as very odd. Overall, the trading went rather well, but something else happened. For the folks who like to watch videos, you can hear the whole story here:

THE WHISPERS OF SWINDLERS?

At some point during the trading process, it was basically @papa-pepper bartering with two ladies. As we were walking, there were a bit behind me, and what I heard was interesting. Though I could not make out the words, I heard some low whispering.

At this point, the first thought that ran through my mind was that they were potentially attempting to swindle me. It was a fleeting thought, because I don't exactly care much about stuff like that. If they want to try to take advantage of me, that's on them. Ultimately, it has nothing to do with me. My role is to be appropriate myself and upright and honest in my interactions. If they choose not to, that is there choice.

Interestingly enough, within a few minutes one of the women offered me a pair of boots as a gift, with the question, "Would these fit you?" Now you may be wondering why someone would even consider offering @papa-pepper some boots. Allow me to show you.

THEY MAY NOT BE PRETTY, BUT THEY QUALIFY

These are the boots that I was wearing at the time. Truth be told, they are a pair that originally sells for over $100 USD. However, somehow my feet have a tendency to destroy footwear, so within a couple months they were falling apart. I sewed them up a few times, but they always began to fall back apart.

I know that many of you would never wear boots that looked like this at all, much less in public, but @papa-pepper is a little different. For some reason, I really just don't care sometimes. Boots are boots, and I won't consider myself to be any cooler if they look great vs. if they are destroyed. If I have to wear footwear to enter an establishment, these still qualify.

Anyway, at the time of our animal swapping, I had these potentially pathetic excuses for boots on my feet and the ladies apparently noticed. Trust me, I can go buy some new boots if I need to, but apparently opinions vary about that whole "need to" thing.

While the women certainly went above and beyond anything that they had to do in even offering me a better pair of boots, the ones that they had just weren't my size. We finished our business and then parted ways.

ARE YOU SERIOUS?

After a few days I got a text message. The message included a photo and the photo was of a different pair of boots. Apparently the ladies had come across some for a good price and wanted to bless me with them. They were my size, and would soon be shipped to my PO Box.

Yesterday they arrived, and I was blown away. First of all, what kind of people take such notice of others and act in such a way? They had no need to even offer me the first pair, much less purchase another pair and then also pay to have them shipped to me.

If you saw the first post in this series, then you know that I like to do some interesting things sometimes to bless others, and it looks like I am not the only one.

Isn't it interesting when people display real care and concern for strangers? Has anything like this ever happened to you? Also, if you find this odd, just wait for the next two parts of this series! Things get even more interesting!

To check out the previous post in this series, click below:

https://steemit.com/business/@papa-pepper/doing-business-with-papa-pepper-part-1-of-4-a-13-year-old-entrepreneur

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-boots



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @malos10


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Nice post @papa-pepper. My love to the cute kid.

That is fantastic. It's great to see that there are still good people in the world.

But my question for you is ... What purpose did your original boots serve? With that much damage, they were becoming a safety risk... especially on the farm.

A picture says 1000 words, but they look about as protective as a pair of flip flops.

I would have expected more from @papa-pepper. A double row of duct tape for instance. That would have secured your little piggies.

Well, they did protect the soles of my feet and functioned a bit. That double row of duct tape may be just what they need to be resurrected! Thanks for the tip!

Attimes we receive amazing gift that has always keep our mouth agape, i have receive some gift that i still don't know why i have such gift, but i asked one of my friend all he said was you have those gift because you deserve them.
Although i have never seize to impact into peoples life with anything i do.
So @papa-peper you deserve those gift
Because you have never seize to impact on us here, you have always take steemit as a family, to be honest i really appreciate it.

@papa-pepper, although I may come across to some people as an ivory tower intellectual, I share many of your ideas about life. I don't care much about appearance (example; I've worn the same pair of sandals every single day rain or shine for seven or eight years), but my students might judge me unfavorably if I didn't look like a “professor” (I figure most people don't look at my feet anyway).

If I was living in the countryside, though, a sturdy pair of boots in good condition is important to protect your feet from snakes and other critters that don't always announce their presence ahead of time. If you had trouble walking around because oa foot injury, life would be rather unpleasant, wouldn't it?

Good point about that. Thanks!

The blessings from God are so awesome! I can state I have watched God bestow blessing in such abundance that it rocks their world of understanding..

I can't wait to share one of the ones that I have coming up!

I am looking forward to it, and know that God is blessing you in abundance!

..the ladies were generous @papa-pepper,maybe they did it because they think of you as somehow someone special,i give somethings to my friend whenever i can to show gratitude!
..you must have done something good to them never mind what you think at first while there whispering behind youre back😊

Leave it to the ladies to notice the sorry state of your boots lol.

That's a really interesting stance on life btw.. "My role is to be appropriate myself and upright and honest in my interactions."

I'm not sure i (n prolly most others) would be able to easily think...never mind implement this way of approaching that situation. However, i found it to resinate w me on some level, that this is indeed a possibility, a sort of none reaction to what u speculate is happening.

What if u let that suspicion fester for example... and how many of us habitually do that. I know im guilty.

Gave me something to ponder today ;)

Hope ur New boots r comfy, i know how hard it is to leave those old worked in shoes behind haha.

I'm glad that you've got something to think about! It is possible to view life that way and implement it.

Looks like I've a got a choice to make today about footwear!

There is an interesting point in here about need vs want. A lot of us confuse the two terms when it comes to material things, using need when we really mean want.

however, by most anyone's standards but your own, you surely needed a new set of boots. Glaf to see they were provided to you!

a very profitable business

I was sorry not to see you at Steemfest2 but it's great to see another post @papa-pepper. It's a great one as always!

Yeah, I wasn't going to be able to travel abroad at the moment, so I missed out on a lot. Thanks for thinking of me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48