AN ANIMAL SWAP AND BLESSINGS ALL AROUNDsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #animals7 years ago

Barter and trade, barter and trade!


I absolutely love that when people have real goods, they can use them to barter and trade. In some ways it's a throwback to the "good old days" while in others it's just another step towards a more financially free.

I had to have a good breakfast the other day. I was about to do a bit of travelling and swap out some of our excess hogs for some goats and ducks. Though we started out with just four pigs, they had reproduced and we certainly had some to spare. The plan was to finally get our milk goat that we had been wanting, and to trade some of the pigs for some little bucklings and some other animals.

This was also the day that @truconspiracy was going to leave. After being able to visit with us for a few days, it was now time for him to return home. His visits are always a blessing, and our time together was very encouraging and edifying.

LET'S LOAD UP!

@Bluerthangreen lent me his truck and helped me hook up an animal trailer. Soon, it was time to load up!

Down on the land, "Chore Boy" and some others came to help round up a few of the hogs that we needed.

Soon, a couple of our sows and some of our little piglets were ready to head to their new home, and @truconspiracy was ready to return to his home.

LET'S TRADE!

When I arrived at the place that we were trading with, they already had some of the animals ready. I had planned on getting the goats, a few large Muscovy Ducks to diversify the genetics of our flock, and a few roosters. My friend @bluerthangreen had asked if I could possibly get him a bunch of Muscovy Ducks, so I wound up picking up over 30 for him.

The roosters that I picked up were one Cochin and one Bantam. I have some plans for these guys.

Soon all of the ducks and roosters were loaded up.

And the goats were too!

My helpers, Pinkie-Pepper and Monster Truck the Pepper got to enjoy holding a few of the littlest ducklings on our way back home.

NEW HOME, SWEET HOME

Our first stop was to drop off thirty-some Muscovy ducks at the homestead of @bluerthangreen & @allforthegood. @Bluerthangreen had been hard at work getting things ready for their arrival.

From the tiniest ducklings to the most mature ducks, he got a wide variety. He has some great ideas about how he will be using these ducks in the future, so stay tuned for that!

Our next stop was dropping off our three little bucklings and the doe. We had prepared a place for them already, and were excited to finally get some goats of our own on the homestead.

The @little-peppers were as excited as I was about the event, and they were very helpful!

Soon, we could say that our goats had officially arrived! This was a happy day for our people.

We kept the ducks separate from our existing flock to quarantine them for a few days. One of the males and the two females will be for breeding, but we plan on eating the other two large males.

The roosters were also placed over in the quarantine coop for now. So far they have been getting along great with the ducks.

EVEN MORE NEW ANIMALS?

Just before going to bed, we decided to stop in by the rabbits. We were expecting some new ones soon.

Sure enough, while we were gone, Polkadot had some bunnies. Now we had even more new animals on the homestead!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-even-more-new-animals



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @malos10


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Those are a lot of eggs cooked at one time lol

For 9 people, it's less than 2 each...

I thought you were going to have all of them and was going to ask.
Caught this thread just in time! :)

I bet they went down quick after doing all the work to keep up with hauling all those animals around! ^_^

I had same thought but for 9 people it's not much :)) I have eggs from my dad's little chicken farm and they taste much better than from shop. I like photo with goat on your daughter's hand the most.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $21.85 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 02 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I liked the rabbit though,wish I had one. Lucky you bruh....

Sweet additions to the growing homestead. Luckily you have some extra hands around there to help you with all that.

Damn. That's a lot of eggs...

I got seven in my family plus @truconspiracy has 3. Once you subtract the baby out, I was feeding 9 people.

I guess that's less than 2 each.. really not bad..

Are you killing them?

The ones that we will eat, we will kill first. I do not believe in eating live animals.

LOL! Awe the college days.

Its just not right.

I try to only eat animals that I kill. I fail - but we keep getting closer.

It's looking like Noah's Ark over there!

That's awesome @papa-pepper! Keep up the good work!!!

I use to raise pigs, goats and ducks. Predators here are pretty rough on them. I only have chickens, geese and rabbits now. Good luck with all the new additions!

I'm glad you spend so much time together, you're a united family.

Indeed, the @little-peppers were very excited, happiness is read on their faces. They are adorable :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45