Review - Brave browser

in #brave7 years ago (edited)

Review

Since last three months I've been using Brave Browser on two of my computers and my phone (Google Pixel) here is my review. First of all why use it on my phone the main reason there is no "uBlock or Adblock" on Chrome or Firefox mobile browser. Brave browser is different they have a integrated ad block system, and I can confirm its work perfectly. I was skeptic my first thought was they probably get paid by some ads company so brave could just show which ads brave want. But I found the project was on Github open source and no “bullshit” so everyone can look at their code.

In my case when I'm choosing a web browser is by their performances and resources management mainly. I like to stay all my tabs open... On my desktop I'm using maybe 50-60 tabs and more splits between two screens so it's really consuming.

Personally I felt bellow 20 tabs brave is much more efficient and over that number he seems "laggy" and he need to be restarted more often. It's something they might correct on the previous version. What my this browser different is because they have integrated an “ad block” into it and change the way website are paid.

Brave Payments allows publishers to stay in business even though you may have blocked their advertisements with Brave. All of this works while keeping your browsing history private. Your funds are transferred to the site owner through an anonymous ledger system, which makes it impossible for you ever to be identified based on the sites you visit and support.

Another interesting thing is multiple password manager are integrated like Lastpass, 1Password, Dashlane. Security is one of their priority so you can easily deactivate flash, fingerprint protection, block phishing / malware, block scripts and auto allow https.

I think it's might be one great replacement for Chrome or Firefox later on development.

Made by Brendan Eich creator of Javascript.

Description

  • The new Brave browser automatically blocks ads and trackers, making it faster and safer than your current browser.

  • At Brave, our goal is to block everything on the web that can cramp your style and compromise your privacy.

  • Annoying ads are yesterday's news, and cookies stay in your jar where they belong.

Brave Website

Related project - Basic Attention Token

Sort:  

From this post, Iam considering switching to the Brave browser.

Yes, great choice at least worth a shot and he's very clean!

I've been using it since I bought BAT, pretty comfy

I used to use it and think that I might need to get back to it after reading this.
Currently, I use TorchBrowser because it has built in ability to download videos from all sources including youtube and facebook.

Congratulations @husos! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @husos! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59099.74
ETH 2639.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49