The King & Queen Seat ~ On The Outcrop

in #bouldersunday5 years ago

In my last post about the King and Queen Seat, I wasn't able to go out on the outcrop and hoped to get back in Autumn. You can check out that last post here if you would like. The King and Queen Seat is located at Rocks State Park in Harford County, Maryland.

yy4s6a75lv.jpg

An opportunity came up to return and this time I was determined to get up and out there! Why put off till Autumn what I can do sooner and we never know what the future will hold for us so off I was to see if I could go a little further than the last time.

3jtlaaqs8t.jpg

The last time I went it had been a little rainy but today was sunny and clear. I even got a better photo of the plaque that explains nicely what the King and Queen Seat is.

hv3qoo9i00.jpg

The plaque reads:

"ROCKS STATE PARK"
"THE KING AND QUEEN SEAT"
"The King and Queen Seat to your right is a natural 190-foot outcrop that overlooks Deer Creek Valley. This cliff affords a spectacular view of Harford County's rolling hills and farmland.
Made of quartzite and a hard quartz-pebble metaconglomerate, the King and Queen Seat was formed millions of year ago when quartz was subjected to intense heat and pressure. The surrounding ancient rocks eroded away, leaving a tall "tower" of rock.
In 1879, Thomas Wysong published The Rocks of Deer Creek, where he confessed to "intermingling fact and fancy." According to Wysong, during the 1680's, local Susquehannock Indians used the King and Queen Seat as a site for ceremonial gatherings. Tribal Chief Bald Eagle and his wife sat upon the King and Queen Seat, while braves gathered below to listen to orators. Wysong claimed that from this spot, Bald Eagle and his wife witnessed their son, Bird-That-Flies-High, wed the Iroquois maiden, Fern-Shaken-By-The-Wind. No evidence has surfaced to support Wysong's account.
For centuries, the "Rocks at Deer Creek" were a popular site-seeing and picnicking destination. To ensure the King and Queen Seat's preservation, the State of Maryland purchased the site in 1949. Rocks State Park opened two years later."

tvivlyi4xp.jpg

pw4sdm3vab.jpg

jhhjh2esdk.jpg

Getting closer to be able to try to get on the outcrop was a little harder than I thought!

qtogwc0iyb.jpg

58lck2p0e8.jpg

I can also say that I now know that feeling of being "frozen with fright" but I did not come all the way out here to not even try! So...I'm happy to report that I was able to go out there on the outcrop at least halfway.

psj2qp1tq5.jpg

I did start to feel that fright and got a little shaky so I sat down which helped a lot. I tried to take my mind off my fears by taking more photos as well.

8lyjdt07d7.jpg

g9sxojn2ys.jpg

bzpe8n721t.jpg

1gx53qgxpp.jpg

Now, I just had to get up from sitting down and walk back to get off the outcrop. I had to dig deep and talk myself through it but I did it! Would I do it again? Hmmm...I would probably try but only time will tell if I can get up the nerve again and also physically be able to try it again. I would definitely return to Rocks but I'm unsure about going out on the outcrop. In my younger days I could scramble over rocks and boulders a lot easier. I think I also made my husband very nervous going out as far as I did.

36pmyoa7s3.jpg

mj24b1z1rl.jpg

10dawfwat3.jpg

Let's check out some more trees....

quxy8upf52.jpg

nefpn754qv.jpg

s6pd4zd53z.jpg

...and boulders!

hloju64rpb.jpg

a9krevicq5.jpg

5bqszvgc9i.jpg

cpqc3t8de4.jpg

vwy4tb8xpo.jpg

I also wanted to show this fallen tree again.

178vqhvwfh.jpg

It has a hole in the trunk and I thought it was cool looking to see the leaves on the other side through the hole.

do4yw5irxf.jpg

There you have it! I did it...well...mostly! 😊

7pvdved617.jpg

yrc9xargre.jpg

xiy9vydtda.jpg

Thank you @shasta for #bouldersunday!!
Thank you @c0ff33a for #sublimesunday!!

x7jsnfvbjc.gif

86ea2dyu0d.png

10t0fnrxjj.png

anonyvoterlogo.JPG

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you so much @pixresteemer!! Much appreciated!! 💖

🎁 Hi @deerjay! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Stop And Smell The Roses Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=deerjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-king-and-queen-seat-on-the-outcrop


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Firts off I must say just say you did it drop the mostly, that is impressive what you did and you should be proud of yourself

What an amazing place and experience you shared with us

Thanks for being an Active member of SteemUSA !tip

Thank you so much Jay!! It was a bit more difficult getting over some of those boulders than I thought it would be but I am proud that I made it at least half way out there. I think I realized though that I may just have an issue with heights..lol. We'll see how I feel in the Autumn as to if I can get out there again. 🙄

You should be proud i have no doubt my wife would not have gone even a step out on it

Maybe tat now you ave bene part way out it will be easier in Autumn, but it could go the other way, Like my Fear of able cars i rode it once recently, but could not ride it back LOL

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hiya, @Lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #554.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Awesome! Thank you so much @lizanomadsoul and @steemitworldmap!!

Such a amazing place, overwhelmingly beautiful @deerjay! :-)
Those trails in the sky like the boulders jutting out in the photo
above the wonderful boulder water ripple! One of the boulders
looks like it has a heart shaped indent ❤
Fabulous hike, photographs and posting my friend!!

Thank you so much @shasta!! Always happy to be able to participate in #bouldersunday!! xoxo💞

You got a 5.15% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @deerjay! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Wow this really is an adventure and a half, it looks like quite a trek to get to that outcrop - but what a view when you get there! I think you are braver then I would be going out so far, you got some amazing photos though what a view!

It’s a lovely forest on the way back too, and I really like the tree trunk with a hole in - you just needed someone to put their head through it lol!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much @c0ff33a!! It was a bit harder than I thought it would be but I'm glad I made it out as far as I did. I really was scared out of my wit though..lol. 😱 I'll have to see how I feel in Autumn if I can muster up the nerve again. 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60675.01
ETH 2605.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64