How I have decided using voting bots

in #bots7 years ago

This was not an easy decision and shift from just posting and waiting for upvotes to using bots to promote my articles. It took me a lot of time to think about. I was concerned about the ethics behind paying for the votes you got and not actually receiving them from the readers. Then I took a step back and had a look at the entire platform and I realized that much of the activity here is built on top of bots, all kind of bots.

bos everywhere.png

There are bots who spam comments and posts in order to attract readers and fish for votes (you know these, we all hate them), bots that track plagiarism like @cheetah does and @steemcleaners who do a much wider cleaning here. There is @originalworks who pretty many people use to get a free upvote but which got a very bad review, there are bots who upvote you for using some tags as @busy or @dlive do, and even setting up automatically your vote for some person's posts, even that is a bot.

Bots are everywhere here and using them comes with a sort of responsibility.

For example nobody will like if you are making spam bot. It does not bring anything good to the platform and if there are 100 of them, then we will not be able to talk to each other here because of them interfering. Same are voting bots: if you have nothing good or valuable to share, then using voting bots to increase the rewards of a bad post which shows no effort or brings nothing to the platform, it makes you no more a better person than the one who setups spam bots.

A few months ago voting bots were not that popular as they are today, people were using them and they were very intrusive, showing big images in comments saying how much you have earned after you were voted and who bought your vote. Today we are seeing a great increase in the number of voting bots and I guess this is a healthy thing. The number of voting bots increased with the demand I guess, because the user base of Steem(it) increased too and a single voting bot can not handle the great necessity of votes. On the other side, having a lot of voting bots is good for customers because there will always be competition of prices.

Examples of others made me wonder: Are voting bots okay?

Considering that there are a lot of voting bots and that if you look to their transactions history, you are not able to find one who didn't received a payment for a vote for longer than 10 minutes reveals how active this market really is and how much people are actually using them. It almost becomes mainstream to use voting bots and to have them promote your posts to Hot or even Trending sections. I have seen witnesses who are using voting bots to promote their content, I have seen @grumpycat complaining about the use of voting bots after it got upset because checkthisout's placeholders got flagged by whales. It was indeed a problem, people were using voting bots to get upvotes on posts after 6 days since that post was made, so they were just increasing their money without any possibility of being flagged. The actions that were taken and the changes that the bots made not to accept payments on old posts I think they are help making this place better, even there are still discussions regarding the reward pool.

I believe that using voting bots is okay as long as you use them to upvote good content that brings value to the platform and that shows effort/originality/whatever a post needs to be good.

Simple math

Just an example where I used voting bots is my last post where I got a potential payout of around 14$. From this payout I am going to subtract the votes of actual people who voted it and a little more in case that Steem decreases so let's say the payout I will receive only because of the votes I have bought is 12$. On this posts I have payed bots to vote it with exactly 4 SBD. But if I calculate the exact SBD that I will receive from that post, I will get 37.5% from 12$ which is exactly 4.5 SBD.

I would be on profit with 0.5 SBD if the things go well until the payout is made. And I didn't took into consideration the payout I receive as Steem Power (which is what actually interests me the most, but that is another topic). But don't get fooled, I was a little lucky that time because I have received a double worth upvote from @randowhale (I know, this one is controversial) and this doesn't happen so often.

The ROI (return of investment for the new ones) is not so big in usual cases, it depends on what bots you like to use, but there are a lot of benefits to it like increasing your reputation and bandwith, increasing your exposure and why not, getting a few more upvotes or even followers, if your article was good enough.

My conclusion:

use bots responsibly.PNG

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

I can see that using bots could be beneficial but for now I still refuse to do so. perhaps this is my pride or stubbornness speaking but I still believe that my art must be good enough to attract people without the use of bots.

Let me tell you that this is exactly what I used to think. The only reason why this disappointed me once is that I used to write articles on which I have worked a lot, this one for example that people would not even read if I wasn't using voting bots. And investing a day of work into an article that receives 2 or 3 upvotes in the happy case is really discouraging. This is what makes me give a try to voting bots, at least for the better articles. I suggest you to take your time, try anything you want and if you find it okay, use or not voting bots. Maybe you will get more success without them than I did, I really wish you that!

Thank you! best of luck for you as well.

I believe using bots is a matter of choice
I used them when i first joined the platform, it was too profitable but then 0.5 is something.
I actually stopped to see what i can really do by myself organically but like you said, they are profitable for bandwidth, reputation and steem power.
I actually thought of returning to using bots, I'm still thinking tho

It is a matter of choice, indeed! But these days I find it pretty okay to use voting bots, at least that is my opinion and it may not always be true :)

Thanks for your analysis tho.
I've considered it

Great analysis my friend, power comes with greater responsibility!

It took you around 2 minutes to read it? This makes me think that either I am a very slow reader or you are a very fast one (I exclude the possibility that you did not read it :))

Thank you for your support!

Voting bots are for promotion. They're just supposed to upvote your post in order to get to hot or trending section so you get more range.. Especially for new users this is a good way to get new followers since a user with 10 followers will not have a realistic chance to get seen in the new section.

There are websites to calculate the ROI of a bot invest. https://steembottracker.com/ has listed plenty of them.

One voting bot that currently returns more average more than 200% of invest in vote value is @siditech
It's still new and not that much used. Check steemd for the number of invests since the last upvote to check how much you'll get for min bid. 1100% is possible with a min bid.

1100%? That sounds too good to be true!

Well the minimum bid is 0.1 SBD, the vote value of @siditech is currently 1.1SBD. When there's no other bids in the pot since the last vote and the bot is back on 100% votingpower you'll get the whole vote. Means you get 1.1 SBD vote for 0.1 SBD invest.
Like I said the bot is not being used much because it launched last week. And you can check on steemd how much bids are in the pot.

Actually more :D
Vote value is $1.21 currently :D it's 1200% xD
Try it ^^ 0.1 wont hurt you ;)

I see, I guess I will try it with my next post. I hope your bot will rise and increase its Steem Power :)

Thank you for this informative post, and let other steemeans know to be aware about this

Hello friend how are You? I never use bot 😃 Cam You check my blog thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66146.36
ETH 3281.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70