What does powering up mean to you?

in #discussion7 years ago

Yesterday I have powered up for the first time some money I have earned writing here. Now I feel that the money I have powered up are working for me and I can see this in each upvote I make which value has increased from 0.03 to 0.04 $. I know it is pretty few yet, but I want to keep powering up my account at least until it reaches 1000 SP.

By powering up you can earn more curation rewards, you can help friends with pretty important upvotes or you can promote your posts. Of course users from the later case should not abuse it. But what does it actually means to power up?

If you think that these money you invest in Steem Power are going to be locked for at least two years in your Steem account, then you must be very sure that you really want to do it!
For me powering up means trust in the value of Steem over the years, having faith that it will rise over the many other currencies and more than this, trusting the platform and the people behind it to drive the change to a better world.

Here I have found many good people, by which I've chosen just a few until now to vote as witnesses and I'm looking to find more of them. I am sure that cryptocurrencies are going to change how the current economy works and I also believe that Steem will (is) one of them!

This is why I have chosen to Power Up my account, and I encourage everybody to do the same with all of my heart.

Have a nice day and Steem on!

steem.png

Sort:  

I have a few doubts can you help me out.
I have powered up my steam but it's around 2 Steem power as I'm new.
Now that I've powered up is this enough to make a change ,what's the minimum I need ? To make a change

Hey, @zarfot, I am sorry, just now I have seen you reply. In order to see a change, you may need to have around 50 - 100 Steem Power. At the current price of Steem, one of my upvotes is worth 0.05 $ and I have over 260 SP. You are on the right path anyway, keep up the good work!

Dayum ,I've a long way to go I guess
Thank you for the post and comment

Thanks for sharing! one question: do you think there is an ideal time to power up? what will be your strategy moving forward?

There is an ideal time to power up, especially if you power up from SBD, and this is when the difference between SBD and Steem price is the biggest. Thanks for coming by!

Very informative

Hey, @zarfot, your comment is a classic example of Spam. Comments like "Very informative", "Nice", "Good job" and so on, are only given in order to catch an upvote. These comments do not bring anything to the discussion, people who leave them may not even read the post they are commenting on. Please stop seeking for upvotes this way and try to write good and quality content. If you are flagged for Spam, then the coming from the reputation you gain is very hard. Good luck!

Trust me ,I've read the post and I'm still new to Steem it ,it's been 3 weeks. I learn something new everyday from people who post more about Steem it .

Okay, very god then. I was looking at you comments and some of them looks like spam so I can just advise you to make them more detailed in order to let the people know that you are actually reading their posts. This will help them and you too, by building a better reputation!

Yes, will work on more quality comments.

Do you power up at 100%? I heard that’s not smart.

I don't understand what do you mean by powering up at 100%. Could you detail a bit, please?

Sorry I meant power down

Okay, well, I don't even think about powering down, I don't know if I ever will :)

Still learning

Superb post and well said, Powering Up is the single most important any of us on Steemit can do. It's nice to earn rewards for our work - but how do they get there? Steem Power is the reward pool that ensures everyone can have a reward for their post - Powering Up is investing in the platform and ensuring it continues to grow. I would say that choosing 50/50 rewards can still help you and the platform - because if you use the earned SBD from posts to invest in your future posts using the available upvote services you can increase both your own rewards but also the Steem Power to keep steemit running.

This is indeed a good point, using the upvote services helps you also gain much more visibility. Thank you for sharing yur thoughts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48