How to increase your reputation by gaming the system - votingbots

in #vote7 years ago (edited)

I am not a fan of voting bots, I sometimes use them when I want to increase the exposure of a post which I believe is worth reading. By now I have used @minnowbooster (I own the founder of that project pretty much since it helped me at my beginning on Steemit) and @buildawhale which I think they have some nice guys working on it. Of course there are other bots, I don't know about all of them, maybe some are even more profitable than these, but this is another topic.

For this post I have chosen @minnowbooster. They have pretty good rates for upvotes and with the current distribution of the rewards, one can gain even more than it invested. For example, yesterday I've sent 0.5 SBD to them and received an upvote worth 1.4$ in STUs (you can find more details why do I call them this way here. Here is a snapshot of my wallet after the transaction.

Screenshot_2018-01-06-10-09-51.png

You can see that they needed some time to process the transaction and upvote, this doesn't happen too often, usually they are moving very fast. And yes, I am writing from my phone again which is awful for my articles...

Going on with our short analysis, from the same source, we can see that one is earning around 37.5% SBD from its STUs. Right now this gives me just from the @minnowbooster upvote a value of 0.525 SBD. Not to mention the Steem which I earn as SP, this is actually more than I invested. This rates usually do not last for long but if they remain the same, it is clear that I am already in profit. But this is not all, there is still a bigger advantage!

Even if the rates are changing and this strategy will not be profitable anymore, using it you will win another thing that few consider when they buy upvotes: Reputation!

Your reputation is increasing witheach upvote you receive (and decreasing with flags). This is not always an obvious process because its growth is logarithmic, but buying big enough votes will make you able to influence your reputation a lot.

If you are concerned about your reputation, have it decreased after some random flags you have received and you can afford to buy some big votes, you can do this and increase it as you wish.

Another thing you earn with vote buying is bandwith which will alow you to post more often.

Disclaimer: Don't take my article as an encouragement to use voting bots to increase your reputation, or even to use voting bots at all. Do this if you wish so, but keep in mind that if you increase your reputation by vote buying,it will be an artificial growth of it and in some cases it will be misleading to see accounts with high reputation, but just a few SP. Some may think that you are powering down all you earn and misjudge you.

In the following article I will be talking about the dangers that are threatening vote buying these days.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Morning! I'm still out on the use of bots or not. I did some experimenting but the results were not as I had hope after the 7 day payout period.

Odd question you may be able to answer if you choose too use bots. Is there a better time to use them. I mean would you do it within the first 30 min or day or wait until day6 etc. Is there a need time to use a bot?

Morning! To answer your question, there is indeed a good time to use a voting bot, at least in my opinion. I would recomment to use it when you are posting something that you think is valuable and would be appreciated if it is read by many people. For example, I have used voting bots on Your post is worth nothing! Mine neither! (an article that you already know, by the way, do you know the war is over?) This way: I have sent 1 SBD to minnowbooster and 1 SBD to @buildawhale and received their upvotes. The upvotes were not worth that much, they increased the payout to about 3.5$ and with the upvotes of you and the rest of my followers (which I appreciate a lot!) I was able to cross over 4$. This was enough to make the article seen by many other people who read it and upvoted it to the value you can see now.

If you use voting bots, I would like to give you a little personal advice: wait at least 15 minutes (I would rather go over 30 minutes) before using them on an article you just posted in order to allow your followers and the rest of the early readers to manually upvote and earn some curation rewards. These rewards are not that big, but people appreciate it.

Thanks for coming by!

Thanks that's a great advice. So it matters who votes first and who votes last? I know it matters in the first 30mins but after that?

It always matters the voting order when it comes to curation rewards, but using voting bots with a little delay ensures that at least some people will have the time to vote your post before the bots and they will get more curation rewards. In the first 30 minutes a part of the curation rewards are going back to the author (but this will change a lot with the next hard fork).

If you want, the perfect example of curation (in an ideal Steem) is that when somebody does not receive any upvote in the first 30 minutes, then you find the article and think it is valuable so you vote it (with 100% Votimg Power) and then a lot of other people find it and vote for it. Then a part of the rewards of all the people who voted after you will come to you as curation rewards, because you were the first curator so you get the most, but this case does almost never happen :D

Interesting, thanks, so the first voter is the only person to get a portion of the below voters or does it work for each voter after, eg they get a portion of the person after them etc.

It works for each voter, but it gets smaller and smaller by the number of people (and their voting weight) who voted before him. If I vote as the fourth person on a post, the first three wil take much mkre curation rewards than me, but I still take more than the fifth person who votes and so on. But there gets involved the voting weight too, because if somebody who votes giving a single cent, will earn lower curation rewards than somebody who votes right after him, but with a vote giving 5$. Unfortunately it is a pretty comlex process...

hmm curation does sound like a complicated beast. I have read a few posts now and it gets a little clearer each time but still so complex lol. thanks for clearing that up,

You are welcome, I am glad I was able to help!

I am a minnow here and just learned about these voting bots yesterday. There seems to be a lot of them. I haven't used it yet but it does seem like a good way for minnows to boost themselves. Working on my next article and will probably use a bot to boost it so hopefully it will be read by more people as well.

It will be read by more people, because addinng some more upvotes to it will bring it hopefully to Hot section and increase its visibility. Hope you will have success!

Sorry for upvoting this post when I have published it and removed some curation rewards from you guys. Posting from my phone is really killing me!

Very nice post! No idea that you can use bots here freely! imstilllearningplsdon'tjudge I do agree that using bots just cause artificial growth... I would certainly read on your next posts! Thank you for always providing everyone very helpful information. :)

I am happy you liked it. I am posting this way so I could share some original ideas. Unfortunately these days I am not writing long posts, because I am just using my phone.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mejustandrew to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66149.79
ETH 3275.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71