Steemit Spotlight - Issue 5

in #blogspotlight8 years ago

Hello! I am Cryptogee and I'm delighted to be joining @donkeypong on the Spotlight writing team. With so many new accounts being created everyday and the price of Steem going through the roof. We need now more than ever a Steemit magazine to keep track of everything that's been going on since Steem Independence Day.

enter image description here

This week I have decided to follow the #introduceyourself, this tag has always been popular and none more so than now. With thousands of new users per week, bringing their diverse interests to Steemit, this is the hashtag to keep an eye on when looking for fresh new content.

So without further ado, let's look at Issue #5 of Spotlight.


  1. @brianblackman

enter image description here

Brian Blackman has been on Steemit for 5 days now and has decided to make a name for himself in the #art section. He has posted up a couple of great timelapse videos of him painting, my favourite being; This Is Me Painting A Willie. Which is of Brian painting the music legend, Willie Nelson.

I think why I like Brian, is he brings a fresh voice to Steemit and he seems like a fun bubbly person, with bags of charisma.

This can clearly be seen in his #introduceyourself post; Hi Steemit! I'm just a dude who likes to paint, write, and post time lapse videos! Wheree you can see another one of his great time lapse videos.

I have suggested to Brian in the comment section that the next video he makes he should put a check me out on Steemit button and he has agreed that this would be a great idea.

@brianblackman will be an excellent community member, so please stop by and give him some love, in the form of your comments and votes.


  1. @heiditravels

enter image description here

Heidi is another new Steemit user who is bringing refreshing new content to Steemit. Heidi is a travel blogger and a good one at that. She is up for adventure and discovery on her travels and documents what she sees in a thoughtful and insigtful way.

Her posts are peppered with interesting stories and great photography; Heidi is the sort of person who will jump up and go off somewhere on a whim, so make sure you keep checking her blog for the next chapter of her adventure.

At the moment she is writing about her impromptu trip to Marakesh in Morocco, called; 14 Days in North Africa Part: 1


  1. @wingz

enter image description here

Wingz joined Steemit.com a few weeks ago and even though he only has one week's worth of articles up, he has fully embraced our amazing new community. @wingz is an excellent analytical writer who has been focusing on the potential of Steemit.

His analytical skills are really showcased in his most recent article My Journey Peeling back the Economic Layers of the Steemit Onion...

There are a lot of people writing about Steemit at the moment, but I've highlighted Wingz because his views are coming from a new user, so it is good to get this perspective. Plus the simple way he explains things, will appeal to other new users.

I'm looking forward to reading more from @wingz, so get over there and check him out.


  1. @roelandp

enter image description here

Roeland claims that he is going to bring Boy Power to Steem, he is into tech, Bitcoin, NSFW and fail vids, with that in mind he is starting those tag categories (although I'm sure we already have a Bitcoin one!).

@roelandp is clearly a fun guy with varying interests and apart from his #introduceyourself post; Hello. It's Roeland! I'm bringing BOYPOWER to Steem! He has posted a couple of articles that have caught my eye and I hope he does more.

The first is his, How Dwarf Stars Can Be So Bright ✨✨. Secondly I'm hoping he carries on his; This Week in Photos series
.
Stop by and give @roelandp some love, you will have plenty to read and I'm sure he'll keep you entertained.

  1. @alexc

enter image description here

Alex is an English writer living in Spain, he has a great #introduceyourself post; I'm Alex - British writer, hermit, in exile in Spain, which will help you get to know him and will introduce you to his friendly style.

@alexc has a wide range of interests and his post content has ranged from political observations, to a sweet post of him being drunk after a night on a terrace with friends and some people they had met earlier.

Alex is definitely one to watch and I'm looking forward to seeing which direction his blog goes in from here.


You can follow @donkeypong by clicking the name and you’ll also find previous editions of the newsletter on that page.

As always, we welcome comments as replies to this post. Also, please let us know of any other posts you have found which you feel are underappreciated – perhaps we will add them to a future newsletter.

Till Next Time

CryptoGee

Sort:  

Somehow this feels like it should be an emailed newsletter instead. If we're already on steem, we would have seen these introductions.

An emailed newsletter will bring people back to steem, who may have forgotten about it, or simply gotten busy.

Right newsletter. Wrong broadcast medium? I know I'm toying with significant people when I give this constructive criticism, but it comes from the right place.. really..

Point taken, but the fact is, there is so much content going out at the moment and without a follow feature, content is being missed by influential voters.

The aim is to get the influential voters to vote on good comments that they might have missed.

Never be afraid to voice your opinions, it is through the opinions of others we will improve :-)

CG

Exactly. It's a deeper level of curation, designed to help people find and reward those who deserve some more attention!

Excellent newsletter, Cryptogee! I appreciate your help with this and you've done a great job highlighting some deserving content creators.

Awesome to hear man congrats!

It's cool how there as so many things to share from everyone j think a magazine is a great idea !!!

Hello @cryptogee, congratulations on your magazine... It is really getting hard to spot good content as the platform is getting bigger and bigger and this is just what I was looking for...

I would like to share with you this article of a friend of mine, there are some grammar errors but I can testify the story is legit (it was actually worse but I think he decided to leave parts of it out...) https://steemit.com/exit/@albertogm/exith-through-the-backdoor

Thanks Chitty, we'll review this for the next episode.

CG

Cool, I invite you to read some of my posts about steemit too and how it works, the latest being one about how I think users should vote depending on their weight: https://steemit.com/steemit/@chitty/3-different-voting-strategies-witnesses-dolphins-and-minnows

Awesome, thanks Chitty, will read and keep you in the loop on Slack

CG

This is a nice initiative. Cultivating a community vibe is good stuff.
Consistent original content posters, welcome!!

That's right, it's all about the community :-)

CG

Great job!
Now we just need to wait for the "follow" feature to be implemented properly. :D

Coming soon, I hope!

:-)

CG

If there is a follow feature, people might soon ask for a user-defined personal category feature, similar to an address book.

My personal friends go here, Crypto people I follow there, and Girls I wanna date there. (not to be crude, but give obvious examples)

Unless of course, it's a people who I follow tab, which I think that's probably what it will end up being.

Yeah, the follow feature will change Steemit forever, I can't wait to see how it effects it. I think it will be for the better and more people will get noticed.

CG

hopefully also pictures next to the usernames . I am a visual kind of person . I do remember faces much better than names

Yeah definitely, I'm preemptively following interesting people, just waiting for the implementation!

Thanks for the spotlight cryptogee.

A picture of some wings next to a bunch of smiling faces... this won't do, I'll have to get round to that intro post!

Exactly! I was going to use one of the pictures from your posts, but none seemed appropriate and I couldn't just leave it blank!

Get introducing... :-)

CG

Cool Initiative @cryptogee @donkeypong, thx for the mention!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64453.36
ETH 3507.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56