I'm Alex - British writer, hermit, in exile in Spain #introduceyourself

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)


Hello I'm Alex. I'm British, 22. I've been a masseur, writer, journalist, salesperson, marketer, author among other things.

What fascinates me is what makes people tick.

What drives and motivates people? What is worthwhile in the world? What challenges do people have in their lives and how are they overcome?

I've always been the outsider I never fitted in at school. I was always argumentative with teachers, parents and authority figures. Nor did I have many friends, because everyone seemed so shallow, or didn't understand things at the level I did. Often I think I see, feel and know too much.

Every job I tried taught me things, but I got bored once the learning curve ended. Again you get into that feeling not belonging, feeling out of place. Your only option is to quit and hide away, lick your wounds and try and understand.

For many reasons I've left England and exiled myself to a little town in Spain. It's a very simple existence. The people are kind. The cost of living is low. The quality of fruit and vegetables is amazing. The architecture is very old and beautiful. I've partly integrated. I go to the library most days to write

How can I help you?
If you've been an outsider or are struggling with mental health on some level - I'd like to share my top posts with you
Dealing with shame
Picking yourself up when everything seems pointless
Embrace your dark side
Growing into your own skin

If you're gay or into LGBT books or erotica - I've just finished my first book - Man Soup . It's an adaptation of experiences I had in London and San Francisco while looking for meaning. It's a bit dark, but I wrote it from the heart.

Besides that I'm looking for writing projects, collaborations, ideas to earn some money. I look forward to getting to know more of you guys here on Steemit

Sort:  

Great to have you around!

Welcome. Make yourself at home.

Greetings! I'm looking forward to your writing!

I finally got around to reading your intro, a bit late but I'm here! Welcome Alex!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57951.98
ETH 3051.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26