14 Days in North Africa Part: 1

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

steemitID

Aside from booking the first few nights at a small cheap "hotel", I made no pre-arranged plans for this trip. I wanted to stay open for anything. I knew that a camp out in the Sahara Desert could be a possibility, or I could manage a trip to Essaouira, one of the towns bordering the Atlantic Ocean. I did know that I wanted to be more than a tourist, or rather, be a real tourist. I wanted to truly tour the country with the time I had. I wanted to have a real experience.

snake
casbah

When I travel, I don't go somewhere to pay lots of money in order to have the same amenities I have at home. I don't seek out hotels with A/C, a swimming pool and that boasts a great "continental breakfast".

alley

I'm not interested in living at a hotel and then pretending like I've been somewhere new and exciting.

During the small amount of time I committed to researching Morocco prior to arriving I learned that Marrakesh is one, if not the most, popular city in this world for tourism. So I mentally prepared for crowds of people- probably Europeans, because let's be honest, not many Americans travel abroad these days. I also prepared for being approached by many vendors out on the streets. I am a genuine and giving person and I knew this would probably be the hardest thing for me. To see people in their native land, who live in poverty, who are begging for the masses of rich tourists to please buy whatever kind of small cheap trinket they have. It's heart-wrenching.

So I arrive. I'm in a city that is intensely populated with motorbikes and dusty, sandy air. It took roughly 6 hours until I developed a nasty sore throat. It felt like I was swallowing shards of glass each time I tried to drink water. But luckily after a few days it began to subside. It took me 1 day in Marrakesh to realize that I was not exactly a fan. The crowds of tourists and constantly busy streets with begging vendors posted up every 10 feet down the line was enough for me to want to get a move on and find out what real Moroccan culture was like, I had a feeling this wasn't it.

Looking for a cheap ride to anywhere more remote led me to the doorway of a "Saharan Excursions" travel agent. I told the man I wanted to reserve a spot on a tour bus that would take me to Ouarzazate. I only wanted to get dropped off there, wasn't interested in a round-trip ticket. He was extremely friendly yet taken aback at my request. He agreed and he even gave me his email, cell number and full name in case I needed a ride back at some point.

Very early the next morning I met the man at a parking lot where other tourists where waiting. Soon enough we packed up the tour van and Marrakesh was disappearing behind me. On this 4 hour drive I met a group of 4 spritely older Vietnamese ladies, a young woman from Ireland and a man from Venezuela who didn't much like talking about his countries economic problems (I often think about him now after seeing the poor poor state that Venezuela is in right now.)

Our drive takes us right through the Atlas Mountains. I was not expecting that. Those views were amazing. I've been to Colorado a good amount of times in my life, but seeing that mountain range was very memorable to me. I saw many small communities tucked in the nooks and crannies of the mountain range and I couldn't help but imagine what life was like for those people. Hard work, simple, subject to the daily changing weather that mountains often have, tight-knit- all come to mind. There's always a part of me that envies that kind of life. To be able to wake up to THAT view every day? What a great reminder of the beauty of this earth and all that God's created for us. I think it would make it all worth it.

atlas2

Our driver stops a couple times to let us get some photos. He has an ulterior motive. What's REALLY happening is that he stops at pre-determined locations where more vendors are set up, they're a team. You see, when you're a tourist, you're really like a lost little kid, not knowing any better, and your guide wants to bring you to all the candy stores before returning you home to your mom. I swear one man was selling prunes and the one next to him was selling a photoshoot with a catatonic lizard. I was glad I was heading further past the mountains.

road

As a tour group we visit Ait Benhaddou, an extremely old and historic system of structures. To walk in a place that you know has been around for thousands of years, is a truly humbling experience. The place was extremely hot and exposed to the sun. I totally get why they completely cover themselves from head to toe.

We finally arrive in Ouarzazate where I learn that this is home to a very famous movie studio. This is where they film many scenes for movies like "Lawrence of Arabia", "The Gladiator", and even "Game of Thrones". (OMG Game of Thrones, that one got me excited.)

aitbenhaddou

It's now time for the tour van to return back to Marrakesh and I remind the bus driver to drop me off near the other cheap hotel I booked. The looks on the faces of the others on the van when they realized I would not be returning to a super fancy hotel in Marrakesh... it was like I was walking off the plank into shark infested waters. I smiled, said my goodbyes and began my next adventure.

Check out Part 2 here: https://steemit.com/travel/@heiditravels/14-days-in-north-africa-part-2

Sort:  

@nomadsoul it wouldn't let me reply to your comment so I hope you find this one! But you're right, the snake (she) did seem calm, I was careful not to make any sudden movements. And she luckily never turned her face around to meet mine, she never tried to bite. The most intense moment was when he got her to flare out her hood.
cobra

Can you tell what kind of snake this one is? I thought for a while it was a water moccasin but I really have no idea. That's the first one they put around my neck and it stayed there the whole time... with me holding its head of course.

snake

I found your post by chance :) Replies appear in your profile but this one didn´t but i found it anyway ;). What can i say you are very very brave, i dont mind snakes if i known they are harmless, but all the girls i know wouldn´t touch it not even with a 10 foot pole stick :)

I cant exactly see the second snake you have there and i am not a snake expert but for what i could check at Google it seems its a very common snake in Morocco. I really should visit that country!

https://www.google.pt/search?q=morocco+snakes&biw=1920&bih=971&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&sqi=2&ved=0ahUKEwjVhMuj5uvNAhWFWhQKHVsWCTcQ_AUIBigB#imgrc=4uJ3J4k9CokXcM%3A

Wow Heidi great post it sounds like the trip is going well, that was awesome of the guy to offer his contact information in case plans change. The photos look crazy beautiful especially the one with the cobra!

I'm glad he gave me his info as well!

You made the snake seem cute in the picture but if it would ever be in front of me i would run in panic

suppose I could travel around the world

Great post! You should continues this bloging while travelling around the world!

I love your post except I had to glance away when I found a pic of you with a snake. Then I saw reply you wrote where you said you're petrified of snakes. Girl, how did you do that??? I can't even look at pictures of snakes! I totally admire you for that!!!

Amazing post. Thanks for sharing your adventures with us!

This is a great community to share them with :) I'm glad your enjoying them

totally blew my mind.

OMG! Did you kiss the cobra? How does it feel? Does the snake have any smell? Brave girl! @heiditravels

I did kiss it... 3 times in fact! It felt cool to the touch and leathery, I can't remember it having any type of smell, it didn't stink or anything thankfully! haha that would've thrown me off

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57616.20
ETH 3030.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25