Mobile Phone Dependency

in #blog6 years ago

Imgur

newbreakline_darker_color.png

Are we too dependent when it comes to our mobile phones, are we in some way addicted to these powerful devices?

newbreakline_darker_color.png

Disaster struck today, my reliable Android phone had locked me out. Because of some weird glitch that I still don’t understand it would not let me get passed the pin protected lock screen. The pin I had used for more than two years know was suddenly “the wrong pin”. At first I was not worried, surely there must be a way to gain access again. But as every effort on my part failed my cool demeanor turned into one of panic.

Imgur

I knew that if I couldn’t hack my way around the screen that was blocking my access to the phone that most likely I had to do a hard reset, wiping all my data.

That meant that all my photos, apps, wallets and most importantly my Google authenticator would be gone. Sure I had backed up the most important data like private keys but losing the authenticator meant that I would have to go through the pain of dealing with support desks to regain entry to some of my accounts.

And that was not the last of my worries, who knows what important data is still locked away on my phone?

Imgur

newbreakline_darker_color.png

Not being able to access my phone had a huge impact on my mood, everything and everyone that interrupted my hacking efforts was met with anger and sneering comments.

Although I don’t considered being a smart phone junkie, losing my faithful companion showed me a side of me that I didn’t like very much.

Imgur

I spent most of my day browsing the internet looking for solutions, Googles remote help functions, accessing the phone with tools like adb and MTK tools, everything failed. I even contacted the customer support but all the help that they could offer was “wiping the phone”. I realized that I was delaying the inevitable and that resetting my phone was the only thing left and that I had to say goodbye to all my precious data and apps.

This lead me to the following….haven’t we become too dependent on our phones. In a way an important part of our lives is stored in those little convenient devices. We don’t think much of it until the phone dies, malfunctions or drops and shatters into pieces.

It is then when the panic takes hold of us. What are we going to do next?

Run to the store or go online and get a new phone of course

Smart phones play an important part in our daily lives, we use it to manage our calendars, store important information, use it for entertainment and communicate with others. It is a multifunctional tool that we have come to love and a lot of people can not live without.

Imgur

newbreakline_darker_color.png

While I am writing this my phone is busy downloading all the apps that I lost after that I will start to get everything back to the previous state, login in, making sure that everything is configured like I want it and after that the tedious task of importing private keys and getting new Google authenticator codes (not looking forward to that one).

Imgur

I know that electronic devices have a certain life span and that things can break or just stop working and usually I don’t have a problem with that, it’s something that you can take into account. But with a phone it seems to hit you a little bit harder even if you have backed up all of your data.

Are we too dependent on our little travel companions? Let me know in the comment section.


Don_t_forget_to_leave_a_comment_banner.png

newbreakline_darker_color.png


Imgur


newbreakline_darker_color.png

Read more about: Google Authenticator |

newbreakline_darker_color.png


recent_posts_header.png

Imgur

Imgur


Imgur

Imgur

newbreakline_darker_color.png

Sort:  

@xervantes you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

This is a great post and I am the first to admit I am definitely addicted to my phone. But to my defense it's only cause I have no computer so I use my phone on steemit and do my posts and comments and chat on discord. So my phone is a badass for working with me 😉 but if I had a computer I'm not so sure I would use my phone much as I don't use it much if it's not on steemit.
Great post my friend, well written.
Have a wonderful weekend and Easter. Cheers!

Hi saffisara, thank you for your kind words. Actually there are a lot of people Steemin' on their phones. I guess I am kinda old school in that respect cause I really need a laptop or PC when I am on Steemit. I am saving for a Oneplus 6, maybe that phone will let me do some mobile Steemin'. Have fun this weekend, thanks for stopping by....

what's up bro? don't lose touch... may the force be with you ! (-:

Its very real most specially here in our country thanks for this wonderful blog, I am already a fan of yours ^^ thanks

Don't be a stranger @xervantes... Steem is back on the rise !

Peace, see you soon (-:

Congratulations @xervantes! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

plain and simple.. YES! we are! The fear, uncertainty what if.. is painful. The Google Authenticator example is a good example. In the beginning i didn't realized what could happen if i have not saved the QR code for the many logins.. it would be a desaster and many companies even were not prepared with their 2FA setup screens. There were simply no backup features in the beginning!

I customized my phone to my needs, all the convencience with shortcuts to coinmarketcap, news reading, blockchain explorers, .. i must discipline myself not hammering on that app after waking up in the morning to fill my thoughts just with the same topic again and again..

yes we are slaves of these things just big as cigarette boxes filled with high tech.. it is annoying in social environments if people switch to their smartphones to do stupid things while someone is performing a speech in front of them. It is a socially recognised phenomenon.

Congratulations @xervantes! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

what the hell's up bro... time to come back and buy some steem !

roll on

Congratulations @xervantes! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86