Philosophical riddle challenge: One of the toughest and smartest riddles I know. Solution will be revealed in 5 Days.

in #blog7 years ago

My previous riddle was solved in about a day. So I thought of getting a little philosophical with this one. You can still try my previous riddle here. Give it a try if you haven't and check the comments for the answer.

I thought of doing about 2 or at least one of these posts each week. This is the second one for the week. This riddle is based on a Buddhist story I've heard. The solution has a lot of philosophical and spiritual depth. It's also a very very clever one like solving a paradox (https://steemit.com/philosophy/@vimukthi/relational-quantum-mechanics-solution-for-the-paradox-of-the-ship-of-theseus-with-a-touch-of-zen-and-cryptocurrency)

Here goes the question:

You are a person of great wisdom and spiritual development living alone in the forest. A great and undefeated debater comes to the nearby city. He's extremely clever. Think of the best lawyer you can think of. Logic is practically his bitch and soon establishes himself as the greatest intellectual of the area. (This may remind you a little of The Ip Man movies.) A somewhat wise and intelligent person who knows you meets the debater in public and declares that you who is living in the nearby forest is far wiser and spiritually developed. 
The great intellectual takes on the challenge and comes to the forest with great confidence. He meets you and quickly let you know he has come to test your reputation. You being the nice, kind and relaxed person points to the river that flows from north to south and ask the debater to drink some water and refresh himself after the long journey.
Wanting to royally crush you he quickly ask you a question.

O Dear wise one, should I drink from the West bank or the East bank or from the middle?

The intellectual debater can drag the conversation in any direction. He can argue against any answer you give. If you say there is no right answer, he can claim that you simply doesn't know an answer and is trying to get off with a easy knee-jerk answer.

The story I had heard has a single answer that upon hearing the debater pretends to goes to the river and never return for the debate. (He got convinced that there is no way he could compete with such a great mind.)

The riddle is to come up with the answer that was given. It's tricky, philosophical and devilishly clever. Don't use the internet. Think on your own. 

Best of luck!

Sort:  

@vimuthi,

Impossible. By the time he bends down, it is a different river.

"You can never drink from the same river twice." Therefore, if someone says, "Drink from that river." You can say, "Which one? That one? Oh wait a second, maybe you meant that one?"

Lol!

Namaste, my friend.

JaiChai

Walks to a certain geographic location and drinks some water. Now which river did I drink from?

How do you define the previous river? If you snap a selfie now isn't that a selfie of JaiChai? If it isn't then who is that? Even if someone drinks from some river, it wouldn't be you who drink.

I want a mic drop reply.
You are the sage who ask an intellectual to go to the river and drink some water. The intellectual asks: should I drink from the West bank or the East bank or from the middle?

I want you to end the whole debate with one answer. It cannot lead to more debating.

O dear one I will answers your question if you answer my question first . You didn't think I would do this for free . The riddle reads so "this sentence is false" is true or false .
I didn't break any rules , I only asked something in return .

I have strong case ongoing or not

:) hard one!

I give it a try:

"You drink when you're thursty. If you become thirsty at the West bank, then drink from the West bank, if you become thirsty at the East bank, drink from East bank and if you become thirsty at the middle, drink from the middle."

Though my answer is neither particularly philosophical nor devilish:)

The river is very close by and the debater is asked to refresh himself after the long journey. @pasanac actually had the the best line of thinking in the comments below. Give it another try. The answer is a genuine mic drop kind of an answer.

You drink where the water hits your lips.

:)

Nope. I'll give you a hint. Try to take down the question from the root instead of giving a reactionary answer. Try deconstructing the question.
This might stimulate your mind a little: https://steemit.com/philosophy/@vimukthi/the-toughest-and-most-profound-q-and-a-between-a-genius-king-and-an-even-wiser-priest-the-best-answer-to-the-question-who-are

my mind just drifts away and maybe I will dream an answer because the conscious me does want to distract itself from this topic. So I clicked your link and from there to the one of @creatovert where I left a comment and my own introduction article:):

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@erh.germany/pleased-to-meet-you

you might also like to read it.

Perhaps I can get myself engaged more deeply, but it is a tough work, man- can't do it without ful devotion:)

"From your hand, drink you." Yoda

Nice stuff man

"A spring your hand is not.
Shove it in the rear you should."

Joking aside this is the best answer I had. You've got good thinking there. Try one more time. You might actually nail it.
Good luck ! and keep your hands clean.

HA! Laughed real hard on this reply :D thx man... Not really sure about next try.

I wanna say drink from the stream, but I feel like that "a spring" quote of yours is making me focus on the water too much.

Anyway I'll be trying next one for sure even if I fail this one :D Nice care for the comment section!

Challenge accepted !

Let me think about if first .You will get my answer very soon

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @vimukthi to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Your post has been resteemed to my 3000 followers

Resteem a post for free here

Power Resteem Service - The powerhouse for free resteems, paid resteems, random resteems

Upvote this comment if you like this service

Drink from the south bank

Nope. Try again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62647.38
ETH 3335.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46