Home Block Coin: Too Many Question Marks to HODL - Crypto Traders Journal

in #blog6 years ago

After a morning of repricing my positions on Cryptopia, I came to find that I had a modest-sized position in Home Block Coin. I remember when I did my initial research that things looked decent enough to take a position in due to the wide spread.

For the HBC/DOGE spread I actually was able to close out half of my position at twice the price, consistent with my investment objective to keep half of all of the altcoins I buy to HODL onto, if I can.

When I went to see how the price was doing I noticed that it had dropped by about 2/3. When I went to their website to do further sleuthing it turns out that they appear to be more of a HYIP than a stable altcoin. I was surprised to learn that they have some sort of lending program that purports to give 48% a month and encouraged larger amounts to be given greater rewards, similar to a HYIP as well.

Woops, this was not what I signed-on for.

On the way down I had one of my buy positions executed and when I looked at the buy/ask price it's about 1/3 so I must have bought right about at the top.

Lesson learned.

With my altcoin portfolios I can afford aberrations but I'm keen to learn as much as I can from each loss. In this case the signs of problems were all too apparent and although I did achieve exactly what I wanted to with the HBC/DOGE spread, the HBC/LTC spread purchase left me hanging in a big way.

You may be looking at the numbers that I'm presenting and thinking that they are on the small side. I would encourage you to look at the number of markets that a coin has on Cryptopia: USD, NZD, BTC, LTC, and DOGE. When I spread these various coins across the markets it does add up to a healthy chunk of bitcoins. That being said, it just takes one coin to rocket upwards to provide a handsome return for the entirety of the base bitcoins I'm putting in.

Now I'm sure that there are fans of Home Block out there so I don't want to be closed-minded, please comment in the section below if you feel bullish on the coin and think I should reconsider liquidating my position. Maybe the wave of the future is aggressive affiliate marketing and volatility software-based coins that push themselves up much in the way that companies buy back their own shares on the stock market. I just know that this extends beyond my comfort levels at the moment. There are so many more coins that are straight-forward and still offer wide spreads on various markets to be focusing my capital on a coin with so many question marks and red flags.

Sort:  

This post has received a 44.44% upvote from @msp-bidbot thanks to: @torreypines. Delegate SP to this public bot and get paid daily: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP Don't delegate so much that you have less than 50SP left on your account.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 17.93% upvote!
I was summoned by @torreypines. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

@torreypines you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Congratulations @torreypines! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58034.65
ETH 2448.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38