Dusting of the Telescope and Prepping for my Camping Trip - Part 1

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Well with 2 weeks to go I thought I'd better start getting things ready for my camping trip.
Usually I don't bother prepping at all and just throw shit in the car and try wing it, but I don't get much of an opportunity these days to go so I wan't to plan something good.

Step 1 - Where the Heck to go

I was unsure where to go, as I had 3 places which I wanted to go camping at.


☣️ Arkoola
☣️ The Murray River
☣️ The Eyre Peninsula

I have decided to go to the Murray River and find a spot which is as isolated as possible. Then there won't be much light pollution and I can enjoy my astronomy more.
Arkoola is meant to be one of the best locations in South Australia to enjoy the night sky, but it's a 9 hour drive for me to get there.
The Eyre Peninsula is also a really good spot supposedly to enjoy the night sky, but again a 9 + hour drive.
I figure I will be exhausted by the time I get there and won't enjoy the experience as much, so I went with the Murray River which is about a 3 hours drive give or take depending on where I go.

I'm open to suggestions too for spots within 5 hours drive from Adelaide, which will give me a good view of the heavens :)

Step 2 - Dust of the Telescope

So I have pulled out me old trusty telescope and cleaned her up ready for some star gazing.
She ain't the most powerful telescope, but still good enough to admire the heavens.

DSCN0601.JPG

Upon inspection though I have realized that one of the legs thingys has broken.
So I guess I will need to fix her up.
Oh well still good to use.

DSCN0603.JPG

Step 3 - Join the RAA

There is nothing worse than going on a camping trip and having the car break down.


☣️ Maybe you leave the light on and drain the battery.
☣️ Maybe there is something than gives up the ghost.
☣️ Maybe you have accident, fingers crossed I don't

I always like to get road side assistance when venturing out and about, and haven't had any for the last year. So I guess it's time to join up for 6 months or a year. Bah it's not much for peace of mind.

Tomorrow I will be looking at getting some new gear for the trip.

 

steemit-dragon-banner.png

☠️☠️☠️☠️ Recent Posts ☠️☠️☠️☠️

 
☣️ Blast from the Past - Part 1 the Wentworth Grande Resort
☣️ Blast from the Past - Part 2 - The Atari 2600
☣️ Blast from the Past - Part 3 - Pinball Machines
 

☠️☠️☠️☠️ Tutorial Series ☠️☠️☠️☠️

 
☣️ Part 1 - What is jQuery and the DOM
☣️ Part 2 - Getting Started with jQuery
☣️ Part 3 - Using Click Event Handlers
 

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TheVillan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @thevillan to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52