Blast from the Past - Part 2 - The Atari 2600

in #blog7 years ago

The Atari 2600

Well this is where gaming first started for me, with the good old Atari 2600

The first time I played it was at my grandma and grandpas tv repair shop.
My grandpa had one set up on one of the tvs for sale, it was running that pong game.
The game was so basic but a big thing back in those days.
So my dad bought us a console for Christmas.



Space Invaders

I remember one of the first games we got was space invaders.
This game was alot of fun for what it was, I spent many hours playing it.



Freeway

As the games progressed they started to look alot better.
A good example of this is the difference between pong and freeway, or as we used to call it chicken run.

Frostbite

Frostbite was one of my favorite games on the Atari 2600. You had to make your way across the water by hoping from iceberg to iceberg.
The flying birds were the worst obstacle, they would always get me lol.
I was always the high score record holder for this game :D

River Raid

River raid was another one of my favorite games.
You were in a plane and would fly along a river, blowing up ships and other stuff to complete your mission.

So many fun times on the old Atari 2600, and there were alot of great games that came with it. These are some of my fondest memories of the old Atari 2600 though.
It's amazing to think about how far video games have come over the years.

 

steemit-dragon-banner.png

☠️☠️☠️☠️ Recent Posts ☠️☠️☠️☠️

💀 Blast from the Past - Part 1 the Wentworth Grande Resort
💀 My Next Camping Trip - Me n the Stars
💀 My Top 3 Favorite Foods of all Time

Sort:  

Ah yes! the good ol days. Love that Pitfall. Also the tank battle game that I believe came with the 2600.

Oh yeah I forgot about that tank game, forget what it's called but was a great game :)

Atari was a time in it's own, then moving onto Mario on the NES at a friends has as a 5 - 6 year old made me so happy haha.

I forgot about that freeway chicken game! I remember many hours spent playing that haha.

Yeah atari had some classics. Lol NES was great also, good ol mario :D
Yeah Freeway was heaps of fun

Pitfall 2 was the best Atari game imo. I liked missile command and combat as well.
I showed my son what top notch graphics looked like when I was a kid, he laughed.

Haha yeah the pixel has come a long way, quite remarkable

Atari 2600 is one of my all-time favorite console. Great memories and great games. Some of them still hold very well to these days. I specially love Pitfall II and Frogs and Flies. Thank you for sharing!

Yeah so many great memories :)
Pitfall was great though I never played frogs n flies.

@minnowpondblue has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @thevillan to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TheVillan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Resteem by @jossylink

Resteem your post at SBD 0.001

Resteem by @jossylink

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61226.21
ETH 2715.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45