Reputation 50 Accomplished! What's Next?

in #blog6 years ago

20180213_092709.jpg

By no means have I reached Reputation Level 50 quickly, but with a slow grind I am here. On Aug 29th, 2017 my account was created so it took around 5 1/2 months to reach this level.

Most of this time was just making comments on other people's blogs as I'm not a "blogger", but more then willing to join a conversation. Recently I have started making more of an effort towards blogging and growing my account.

Let's be honest it's work! To create something of value takes effort. Coming up with the idea, taking photos, editing photos, writing text, editing text, picking tags, and so forth.

Luckily I didn't come to steemit with the glossy eyes that you can toss up a post which took 10 minutes and make money. My expectations were it would take work and investment.

Investment? Yes real life cash have gone into my account. At this point I've invested cash to purchase about 200 Steem Power and have earned around 50. Right now I renting delegation to help boost my account and that investment was with profits from blogging and trading Steem. While not cash out of pocket, it's still a financial investment as the money was earned and could of been used for bills.

Going forward my plan is to grow my account. This will take further investment of time and money, but I've decided that I'm having a good time here. That even with some of the nonsense that occurs that Steemit is a platform that can survive long term. Most importantly I believe in the Steem Blockchain.

This post is more about documenting my progress and thoughts then anything. Sometimes it puts things in perspective when you can look back and realize that on X date you were at X point so this is a permanent way to keep track. So here is where I am at and a couple goals for actions to help grow my account.

As of 2/13/18
Current SP: 256.941
Leased Delegation: 572.243
Reputation level: 50
Followers: 165
Posts: 934 (mainly comments)
Est Account Value: $1,244.34

Goals
Post 3 times per week minimum
Comment on 5 posts per day
Find 5 new authors each week to give an upvote to
Reach 500 SP by 05/13/2018

Well this is a starting point and hopefully these goals will be more refined by the time I reach Level 55 and do an update. But for now my main focus will be on networking further and trying to help get some minnows part of the reward pool.


All Photos are taken by thedarkhorse and all rights are reserved. Photos are taken with a Samsung S8+


Thank you for your support. All quality same day comments will be upvoted. Enjoy hearing feedback about my posts, writing style, and photos.

Sort:  

Congratulations!! It is a lot of work, isn't it? But, well worth it in the end I think. Besides the financial gain, I love all the relationships I've developed on here...yourself included :) Cheers!

The financial gain isn't my first priority, but now that I know it's real the plan is to build this into something that will hopefully one day help pay for part of my kids college educations. The money isn't for me and never will be. It's all about the kids.

The relationships are a great bonus for sure. Also been very fun to see other parts of the world through the eyes of those who live there.

I like 'It's all about the kids'. I was looking back at your 'cooking class' with your daughter..pretty cute :)and cooking with your kids teaches them to be self-sufficient. My grown up boys are amazing cooks and they don't 'need' anyone to do it for them. It is also pretty amazing to literally "see" into lives around the world; it definitely is a small world today for sure. Have a good night!

Great to see how you keep such thorough track of your development on Steemit! :)
I am new here, but even now we are still in the early stages of Steemit, so patient dedication is key I guess.

And yes, I agree with the work and investment part. Quality posts take time and effort and from my perspective focusing on the money is clearly to our creative quality's detriment.

Good luck! :)

Thank you and good luck to you!

It does take time and dedication to make it. Would add in a little luck helps...lol. Going to keep plugging away and see what happens.

Hi @alexaventuria; welcome to steemit:) There's a great community hear called @newbieresteemday that I am a part of. They also have a Discord channel where you can 'meet' other new people as well. But if you go to their feed, you can get an idea of the "type" of post they're looking at. @thedarkhorse is right for sure though...it takes dedication and hard work... and a little luck :)

Thank you! I just joined "Unity Guild" and will look at the ones you mention here:)
Thank you!:)

congrats. I love the positive atmosphere so the work to get there will be worth it I hope

Hope the efforts are worth it too. Figure some spare time each day spent trying to build this is completely worth trying.

Congratulations! I agree networking is key. I disagree however that a college degree is a worthwhile investment. A trade or a business is worth more than a piece of paper, IMHO.

Trust me I don't think the degree is important to success, but the experience of college is worth having or at least having the option. If my girls feel a trade is their direction I'll support them, if they want to start a business I will back them. Really what they want to do will be up to them, but having a way to financially support their dreams will be nice.

"optionality" is a great concept, have you read "antifragile? That book changed my life!

No I haven't read that book. Will have to tell my Wife to grab it from the library.

Great work! I am just starting out and in the first week and I think I have started on the path that you have been on. I am not a blogger either, but i am trying to search out quality work and make useful conversation towards it.

Congrats on 50
Cheers

Just gave a little boost to your posts to get you started. With a little experience I can say to start blogging on a regular basis from day one. Reinvest your earning and grow your account. Look into leasing SP as it really helps having the option on what percentage to vote.

Thank you @thedarkhorse i am learning something new everyday, and thank you for your boost :)

I look at Steemd a few times a day to see activity on my account including upvotes (that link is for your account). Noticed you had voted and then looked at the comments and realized it was a 0 cent vote. Remembered how new you are and that it's really hard when first starting to get votes worth anything.

So I would strongly look into minnow booster to lease some SP. Save your SBD from the your upcoming payouts. You need to get at least 1 Steem to lease some SP. My suggestion would be to try and get 3 or 4 so you can do a multi week lease as it's more attractive to the person leasing the SP.

You can convert SBD to Steem using the market. Right now SBD are worth more then steem so you are getting about 1.2 Steem per SBD. This is good for you right now as you can rent SP for less cost.

Make sure to get out there and comment on multiple posts. Also make sure to create some posts and look into the contest area. Some of them have great rewards.

Also follow me and make real comments as I upvote comments on a regular basis which will help your rewards. Hopefully I'll have time later today for another post. Every little bit helps when you are first starting. Heck every little bit helps at any point IMO.

Actually just played with the calculator at minnow booster and you can lease say 50 SP for 4 weeks paying 130 SP/Steem and it would cost you 1.538 Steem. I thought it had to be 1 steem per week minimum, but it doesn't.

Think if I was starting over today this is what I would do. Each time I had enough to lease 50 more for 4-12 weeks I would do it. With the goal to be getting to 500 ASAP to get the slider bar for voting.

wow, lol, like i said i'm just starting out so i'm going to have to research on what you just explained there. I'm sure it sounds easier for you lol but i'm just looking at it thinking i need to put some money in to invest i guess.
although i really didn't want to add from a bank account or something. So i'll definitely try to look around and research what you mean about leasing etc.

You can do it without adding cash to start with. It takes longer, but it can be done. Key is to be smart about who you upvote, where you invest your time reading/commenting, and write at least a few blog posts per week.

One thing that can help you out is Steem Follower . You vote on other people's content and get credit for those votes. As a new member you get a pretty large bonus from your value of your vote to help boost you.

If you invest 5-10 votes a day there you will then get votes when you post. It helps get you some exposure and know you will get some votes when you do post.

Anything that I explained that you want clarification on let me know. More then willing to help point you in the right direction.

I am on steemfollwer atm, third day now. If i'm not mistaken it is where i first saw one of your posts.

I'm reading over your posts here again and I'm starting to get it lol
Thanks again for all your help.
I just got back my first small reward and i'm starting to see what goes where in my wallet

Congrats on growing and gaining a great rep!

It is hard work, I hope to build my skills as I grow in Steemit too.

Power up and Steem On!

Thank you! Getting really close to level 51 and haven't even had much time this week due to work. Next couple weeks are crazy busy, but then should have a little free time again to pump out some good posts.

Congratulations mate

Thank you! And Congrats on your reaching level 50 also.

thanks, i am about to fly to 51 very soon ;)

Congrats!
I am one away from 50. And I had also just leased some SP to boost my account. Looks like we are heading towards the same goal :)
But I think it gets harder and harder for reputation to rise after 50. Guess it gonna take a long time.
Gonna follow you and let's see who gets to 55 first. LOL

Followed you also and just upvoted your most recent post. Good luck on your journey!

Congratulations on a wonderful effort @thedarkhorse What excites me about our steemit journey is, if we want to grow we have to step out of out comfort zone and stretch ourselves in areas that are a challenge. For instance, I wrote a poem the other day to go with a post and was pleased with the result. I may even do another one in the near future. I look forward to celebrating your next great milestone! Sorry, I'm low on votes atm but wanted to say, "Well Done!"

Thank you! Catch me on the next post for a vote ;) .

Glad you had a post that got you better results. I've been noticing the more you post the better you do. Been to busy last week to keep on top of things or I would have posted 2-3 more times. After 12-16 hours of working the idea of creating a post is just to much for me. Downside to running my own businesses...it comes in crazy spurts most of the time and I'm not done until the work is done.

@thedarkhorse congratulations on reaching level 50.. happy for you... I read your comments and you give excellent pointers ..and thanks for finding time to help the newcomers to the community

Glad the tips were well received. and thank you! Looking forward to more achievement posts in the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65231.30
ETH 2943.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66