My Words Used Against me. Ouch! & Thank You!!

in #blog6 years ago

In my loveitshoveit post one of my "Shove It" points was Excusitis. This is a made up word we use in our house that means people love to make excuses for why they did thing, why something wasn't their fault, or even why they don't do things. I truly feel that Excusitis is spreading the world like a plague and has reached epidemic levels.

26x8dw.jpg Source: I Created on imgflip

That said someone called me out in the last few hours about my own excusitis at play. I even started the last blog with this excuse:

Plus for someone like myself who isn't a natural blogger

WTF is that? No seriously I hate excuses yet those words have been written by me numerous times since joining steemit.
  • That excuse has been my crutch to not blogging on a daily basis.
  • That excuse has caused me to slow my own personal growth as a writer.
  • That excuse has slowed my growth on steemit as followers and rewards come from Blogging.
  • That excuse is completely and totally unacceptable!

So a few simple words which might have been meant more as a joke then anything have me realizing that it's time to break past my personal hang ups. To realize that I have been using an excuse to justify my lack of active blogging.

At this point I'm guessing a few of you want to know what was said. So here is all it took to wake me up:

And now that you've told the world your dislike of excusitis.........we will all be looking forward to more of your blogging.

Yup, pretty simple and straight forward. @trudeehunter spoke the truth and there was an initial sting as I realized it was true. Then that turned into motivation to be the example that I expect to set for my kids so they don't get infected by excusitis.

It's not that I don't have anything to say, ask anyone who's posts I've commented on. My comments can take me up to an hour to write, delete and start over rewrite, edit, and then edit even further. I'm not a "nice post" spammer, my comments have thought put into them. I read the post and then make sure to leave a comment that has thought behind it. I not writing these comments for rewards, rather I'm trying to make true connections with others here on steemit.

These connections mean I can tell you where people are from, where they lived before that, if they have kids, what they do/did for a living, if they haven't been online in a few days I notice, if they are currently making big life changes, that they love visits from their niece/nephew/grandkids..., and so forth. My comments tend to turn into conversations and I love that. Yet for some reason I've used the excuse that "I'm not a blogger" to stop myself from posting.

Since Aug 29th of 2017 I've only posted 32 times, yet have commented nearly 1500 times. So writing clearly isn't the issue as I used as my excuse.

Going to be real and open, the issue is Fear.
  • Fear that my words might be taken the wrong way.
  • Fear that after months of effort I will find out that I just suck at blogging and nobody wants to read my thoughts.
It really just boils down to one of the most crippling fears that any person faces in life,

THE FEAR OF FAILURE!


Admitting that I was making a mistake allows me to move forward.

No longer am I allowing this fear to cripple me, to crush my creativity, or to silence me. Daily posting may not be in the cards as my Family comes first, but regular blog posts about real topics are heading your way.

Ready or Not Here I Come!


Let me know what you think. Real Comments are upvoted and replied to.

Spam comments are at best ignored and worst flagged.

Sort:  

Oh........I am so proud of you @thedarkhorse and you have certainly brought a smile to my face and joy to my heart knowing that a little encouragement from me has given you real motivation to push your fears aside, move out of your comfort zone and share your heart with your followers. You have loyal followers because they feel a connection with you and that is a two way street. You have the ability to communicate well with others and your genuine personality and family values is what resonated with me. Sometimes we wait too long whilst hoping for inspirational words to flow from us but I know without a doubt that if you are willing to be yourself and share those things that you are passionate about, you will surprise yourself with what you can achieve and what you will learn about yourself as well. Fear is the opposite to faith and when faith is operating, fear has no place in your thought patterns or kin your life........and as you have pointed out in one your comments, words are powerful. The more we hear them the more we believe them........whether they be negative or positive.
You are a great conversationalist........which in turn, makes you a great blogger. So you don't have to become a successful blogger. You are one already. You just didn't recognise your own ability. There will be no stopping you now........and I am truly looking forward to strengthening our relationship further in the days and weeks to come and reading your interesting blogs. Unleash the creativity within!!!!!!!!

Swear people are going to think I paid you to say so many nice words about me. I'm touched and at a loss for words.

Now to follow up on my declaration and blog. Today we are off to the city to hit MSI, Museum of Science and Industry as the kids started their Spring Break. This place is amazing and will be doing a post about it tonight or tomorrow. Speaking of which I better get moving, starting our day with biscuits and gravy!

It is a pleasure to reciprocate the wonderful support you give me @thedarkhorse Sounds like you have a great day planned. I look forward to hearing all about your visit to the MSI with your kids. They are in for a treat.

Thank you again!

The day was a blast. The new post is up, take a look.

I think it is common how often we repeat certain throwaway phrases without realising how much we empower them or disempower ourselves through the repetition. I know I also do this often yet, it is so ard to catch. Being called out at times is a wake up call to be purposeful with our words and actions. Until the next time we get called on it again.

This is exactly it, the more we repeat anything the more we give those words power. I know this as fact, understanding the impact of my thoughts, words, and actions yet still got caught up in what is total BS.

It was great that someone called me out on it as it opened my eyes and now I can combat the issue head on.

I had a evening of Excusitis myself just yesterday. I had a job interview but failed! doing easy trench work for a sugarcane farm. After a 11 year absence of operating backhoe's my skills were too rusty to impress the backhow owner. :-( It only took him a couple minutes to asses that I couldn't do the job right or fast enough! I could go on and on but that would just be too much Excusitis. LOL
I'm going to borrow or rent a Hoe and re connect my brain to my hands for an hour or 2, then re apply. I've never before seen a Panamanian that I couldn't best on any equipment, but this guy could work the machine like a pro. Probably because it was contract work and not hourly. With a farm boss watching closely to make sure the trenches where exactly 1 meter deep and straight with a 100 meter minimum per 8 hour day. I lost a equipment operaors job here by being too fast when the machines with operator were offered at a daily price. LOL
It might sound funny to you, but $5 an hour here is good coin. LOL, I was 18 when I last made that per hour hehe.
He did say he would use me on other jobs, plus this contract was for 3 months 6 days a week, and I would not have time to get this new sailboat moved and repaired till then, so maybe a blessing even though it left me embarrased. LOL
Cheers, Life is Good

The amount per hour is all relative. If your expenses are based on earning $3 an hour then $5 is great. Obviously you can't live on that in the US or Canada, but operators make close to 10x that in the chicagoland area per union contract plus pension, plus health insurance. Big surprise construction costs around here are crazy high.

Sounds like you got your work paperwork taken care of...good news!

still waiting on work permit, but this was on a restricted access sugarcane farm so no one cared.
I can live ok on $80 a week, so $40 a day is good money. But the bright side is I can move on the sailboat faster now, as that contract was 3 months long 6 days a week. I'm better off at sea than working 8 Hrs a day in the hot sun and windy dusty conditions. :-) I'll have my paypal working early next week and may at that point see if you still want a bit of steem or SBD. Let you know?

Sorry that permit hasn't come in for you. Sure that will open up lots of options for you.

Crazy that $80 a week can cover anything. This is why I want to get my Wife to agree to sell everything and travel for a while. We can see so many places on what our fixed expenses are here. Without going into details I figure I need to make $100 a day just to cover our needs. So like I said income is all relative.

Get that sailboat ready asap and get out on the water. It sounds like that is where you belong.

If you get paypal up and running let me know. I'm planning on buying more steem/SBD in 2 weeks, but can move it up a week. Saves me the headache of buying on coinbase and waiting a week for the BTC to show up, then transfer to bittrex to buy steem, to transfer here. Truly this process is insane and way to much work. There needs to be a better solution.

Makes a good case for the steemit community to start a location to buy/sell from each other. Zero fee's to buy/sell or transfer, best value possible 😎 Maybe an escrow service to forward the coin when payment is recieved? I lost 78 steem on Poliniex in December and just noticed they errased my support ticket without a word. Boo Poloniex 😈 I used my SBD memo on a steem transfer, so it wasn't lost to someone else.
Punks LOL

I know why it hasn't been done, money exchanging rules in the US and a few other countries make it a real pain in the ass. If you could exclude the US it would be fairly easy to put together the platform, but you include US residents and it's a major issue. Know blocktrades says it's not worth the headache.

That really sucks with Poliniex. Try and reopen the ticket...who knows maybe you get lucky. At this point it would be found money so worth a try.

I was just talking with an American here that my wife used to work for. He's 77 years old and could not get western union to send some money to Panama for him. He was at the office here and his wife in the US at the bank. They just refused! sighting anti drug laundering policy HaHa. Too much!
Oh ya, lets not forget the silk road creator....How many life sentences did he get? Crazy!
If nothing else, the corrupt system is showing their hand here, and even the slowest thinkers are saying, What?
Panama has just about every bank known to man here. All I know is that my Coin dealer has been blocked on so many venues starting with Western Union, Money Gram and several bank accounts closed on him.
If you send cash to a bank in Europe he can get it here some how? but I haven't discussed with him how?
He can send Int. Wire transfer but not to Panama, Columbia or Venezuela anymore.
P.s. If Paypal suspects they are sending money for Crypto buy, they will stop payment! Beware on any notes attached to a cash send.
I resently heard of a bank here starting to deal with crypto, I'll do the research today. But I can't see it happening. They would be cut from the swift system if they tried I'm sure.
That's why a one on one system needs tobe developed. If one person or business is doing too many transfers, they get shut down.
Cheers

I think that paypal ran into a ton of issues due to ebay having listings for crypto. Seems like they are gone now, but when things were booming all sorts of coins were listed at insanely high prices. Guessing there was a lot of scams going on buying the coins and then opening disputes.

Really seems like the world doesn't like Panama...lol. Problem is a country like Panama requires cash flow coming into the country. Think about the effect this has magnified across the country. You want to get $100 in, the 77 year old wanted to get $xxx in, someone else needs $500 for medical expenses...and so forth. All this cash being restricted coming in holds back the entire economy.

Sure it's about the "war on drugs", but that is all bullshit anyways. They can't stop drugs from flowing around the world so this isn't hurting the people they want it to effect. The drug dealers know how to move massive amounts of money to and from any country in the world and when it pops out it's laundered and ready to be spent. It's the average citizen who has nothing to do with the drug trade that is effected by these restrictions.

Wow - you've got a very needed kick in your ass 😉 on a kind and subtile way. Isn't it great to realize your mistakes and knowing instantly what has to be done - so liberating :) ... i'm ready😃... waiting for your real topics 👍

It was exactly what I needed when I needed it.

I love that word you used, Excusitis, I have to nick that one off you :-) & "fear is for fools" and I for 1 sure know you are not a fool, now may I have a spam sandwich, or does the use of the word even get me a flag? steem on captain, and stay awesome my friend.

Fee free to use it, think the word needs to be used more often.

You last line make me feel like having a Captain and Coke while writing a post for Steemit...lol

The spam thing got added since someone decided to spam comment my last post then use their 3 other spam accounts to vote their comment to the top. They didn't like my flag for doing this and then posted "Thanks for your downvote . I'll take it back to you soon " which I have taken as a threat. I'm annoyed with these spam accounts taking even a penny in rewards and cluttering up the bockchain with their stolen content.

How we react when called out is the essence of a man .
well done

Thank you. When we are wrong there is only one thing to do, suck it up and admit our faults, own it, then fix them. We should all be constantly working on ourselves to become a better version of ourself.

Oh, WOW! I am so glad you started a conversation with me or I would have missed this!
Listen honey, if you ever need a little help making excuses, I am an expert... Oh yeah, the idea is to QUIT making excuses. Dear me, that is much harder but I think I may give it a try... It is free, right? ;)

Dear me, that is much harder but I think I may give it a try...

"Do or do not, there is no try" - Yoda (anyone can be smart in a movie)

Don't "try it", declare you are doing it. We have all tried things that we didn't follow through on. So when we say we will try most people have already decided they aren't actually going to succeed. At the very least they have given themselves an out.

If you say you will do something and let others know you are doing it the odds of success are greatly increased. Hence this post, it's my public declaration to blog more and stop using excuses about why I don't blog. I could have just told myself the same thing, but by putting it out there for others to read it's very motivating to stay focused.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22