Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 12/01/17> “Will Eat BBQ 4 U” … Vol.01 UPDATE on Lost Pines BBQ

in #blog6 years ago (edited)


The first edition of what has been appropriately named “Will Eat BBQ 4 U” had an anticlimactic finish because the place was closed the last time I went through Giddings, Texas. It’s hard to do a food, especially BBQ, review without the “goods”.

So, Thursday I was faced with a very tough decision, eat Mexican food for lunch in San Antonio or drive two hours, and a little out of my way, for good BBQ at Lost Pines. Seeing that I owed you folks the proper finish to the first edition, of this to be monthly feature, two hours won. So while I was hungry when I left San Antonio, I was very, very hungry when I reached Giddings, shortly after 2:00PM.

I had faith that my ladies of BBQ would be there, and my faith was vindicated as I pulled up to the place, the open sign was flashing. Greeting me as I walked in the door was Ms. Mary K., she works the cash register and takes the orders. Over at the other end of the front counter was Ms. Christine, wanting to know if I wanted the lean brisket or the marbled. I am a marble man, not the Marlboro man, just marbled with no pickles or onions.

After Christine had carved up my BBQ brisket sandwich she fixed me the smoked baked potato, no sour cream by way. Throw everything else at it, but hold the sour cream, and since I am a believer in trying to eat healthy, just a glass of water will be fine .

Here is where you will learn a secret on taste, adding pickles onions, and other stuff causes taste bud confusion. Never, ever and I mean never put those things on a BBQ, you can taste those anytime, BBQ is meant to taste like BBQ, not pickles or onions. Also while I am sharing secrets, never have BBQ sauce put on your BBQ, if you have a suspicion that it might need sauce, have them put the sauce in a container on the side. Why ruin what could be an excellent BBQ flavor with sauce, you can always add it if it needs it, but taking sauce off a sandwich it is pretty much impossible. Your taste buds will greatly appreciate you taking their important work seriously by not trying to confuse them.

The Lost Pines BBQ smokes their offering with a mixture of oak and hickory cooking wood. Like most places they won’t tell you the ratio of oak to hickory, but I can tell you that Lost Pines mixture is heavier on the oak. That knowledge comes from years of tasting experience, and the stack sizes of the wood out back.
They say the proof is the pudding, and seeing how every bite of the sandwich was devoured by me as well as most of the baker, I had no room for pudding. They do have it, but I didn’t have room in the belly.

Speaking of room, I just about had the place to myself since it was well past the lunch crowd when I got there. I was sharing the dining room with two ranchers and a rancher in training. To give you an idea of how small town country this town is, they came right from cutting hay, on their John Deere tractors. Garret, his son Jeff, and his son Junior, they raise cattle and hay plus do some land clearing for a living.)

Lost Pines BBQ has been in business for nine years at this location, before they had a mobile BBQ rig, and did that for four years. The sandwich had a good amount of brisket, when I asked what the weight is on a sandwich, Christine told me that, ‘when it looks good enough for me to eat, I add another slice and call it good.” I like that method. The reason I asked is because the State has been raising a stink with a BBQ joint in Austin about customers not being able to see the scale when they weigh the meat. Evidently there is a law that says the scale must be visible to the customer if you sell by weight. So here at Lost Pines your buying a sandwich, plain and simple, weight has nothing to do with. They have a scale, if you’re buying meat by the pound, but a sandwich is a sandwich.

The price is more than fair, the sandwich and potato was less than ten bucks. The people are always friendly and the place is really kept clean. You can’t ask for any more than that, in my opinion. They are closed on Mondays so keep that in mind if you are passing through Giddings, Texas.

I’m not giving a rating number on my reviews, it either pass or fail, this place passes my criteria with flying colors.

Until next time we eat,
@sultnpapper

#unmentionables

all photos property of @sultnpapper

Sort:  

That knowledge comes from years of tasting experience, and the stack sizes of the wood out back.

This is great. I wonder which one of these things your conclusion relies more upon... haha

Anyhow, it's great to hear that you went back to follow up and finish the story, and it looks like you got some great BBQ as well.

I like your advice about getting sauce on the side. I always do that here in VA or when I would go to BBQ places in NC. Especially if the restaurant specializes in BBQ, you've always gotta give the plain meat a taste before adding things to it.

I'm glad you've started to implement photos into your posts. This post was made so much better by adding the pictures. Thanks for sharing!

I remember the first time I had a BBQ sandwich in the little town of Hernando, Mississippi, I ordered a BBQ sandwich and being from Texas, I expected beef brisket. I got the sandwich, sat down and unwrapped it, and promptly took a big bite of it. It took about two seconds for me to spit everything out of my mouth and onto the floor.
The sandwich was Pork, and to make matters worse they put Cole slaw on the dang sandwich. Talk about taste bud confusion, my taste buds hit the reject button, full tilt. Needless to say, the rest of it went in the trash can. When you expect one thing and get another, the end result can sometimes be a mess.
I guess the old saying is true, a picture is worth a thousand words, since I don't type fast I just might start using a bunch more.
Thanks for your continued support and suggestions, they are truly appreciated.

Ah yes, BBQ means beef brisket there. I'm used to the pork BBQ. Not a fan of cole slaw, but I do enjoy pork BBQ. I'm not sure that I've ever had Texas style BBQ, so if I ever visit Texas, I'll be sure to get some.

You're very welcome for the suggestions! Glad you're still blogging away. Keep up the good work!

I'm going to stop reading food posts before lunch or dinner. The descriptions of all that scrumptious stuff is just too much!! There is nothing like good barbecue when you're in the mood for it. The spicier the better.

I'm still looking for the perfect barbecue sauce recipe (the stuff in bottles is just awful!) But as I search, it gives us more chances to enjoy barbecued chicken / pork / hamburgers, that, while it may not be perfect is still darn good!!

Barbecue, cole slaw, baked beans, biscuits, baked potatoes (or fries!!) Mmmm-mmmm. As I said, there's nothing like it. (You and your food posts are going to do me in!!)

You will only be subjected to mine once a month, and it will only be BBQ. I don't feel that is to much torture to put anyone through reading and seeing delicious BBQ. After breakfast or dinner might be a good time, since you should have any hunger pains satisfied at that time. Thanks for dropping in and taking a bite.

You've received an upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...

Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

It's the start of winter here in Montreal, and the barbecues will be fired up on many a balcony and in many a backyard even when the snow is knee-deep. I like bbq as much as the next person, but bbq-ing in knee deep snow? We have some real hard-ass aficionados up here.

It sounds like it, I think it is cold when the high doesn't get above sixty five, don't even need any snow to be cold. They must really love it, or their heater is broken and they are just trying to stay warm and using the cooking as a disguise.

They're really into it, not just suffering from a heating malfunction. I worked with one once. I can vouch for his devotion.

i am missing home now...thanks. 😎

Sorry everyone... buttcoins toped all my stupid comments! Never in my meaningless life did I ever thought I'll type buttcoins, and all is fine :)

This post of mine just goes to prove the power of good BBQ, it taste so good that people all loose their marbles when confronted with such a magnificent description and mouth watering pictures. This BBQ review idea just maybe the best post of my short existence on here yet, despite the fact it probably won't cross the decimal point in earnings when it is all said and done earning.

Your welcome my friend @buttcoins. Hey, I screwed the cinco post up and listed the wrong link for my banana, so you might want to check out the "other Lizelle" of mine now.

Wish I could get you to tell us your real stories..

You kill me D.C.

Come-on.. You can't die that easy, you are the most alive person I have ever read about...

I will go back to Giddings and eat BBQ until I explode, the coroner will make the official cause of death ruling as "suicide by BBQ",

This is as non-fiction as it gets, I could do a novel on BBQ.

I'm very sorry if I pushed, but I have no idea who you really are, you play so innocent, it will take me yrs. to get to you...

No apologizes needed, "You kill me" is like "LOL" in old man speak, my wife has know me for over 25 years, she still hasn't got me totally figured out , so hang in for the long road ahead.

I enjoyed reading and for some reason I could almost taste the meat

Okay, abbak7, I've deleted, hope you can now relax.

Ohhh... Come-on Arthur... You deleted all that shit, all because me? ...did you wipe too? You pasted a 30+ lines post about how healthy you eat, having nothing to do with the subject,and I called on it.
If it was that real you wouldn't have deleted it!!

I thought your first post was a misguided defence of your friend, which I did not consider he needed, since he responded very well to my comment.

However, your next message to me ends with an insulting comment, so I guess it was not on behalf of your friend that you were commenting, you just enjoy being insulting. Surely the polite way to do it would be to contain yourself and only insult posters on YOUR posts? You are obviously doing your best to ensure I never return to read , upvote or comment on posts by @sultnpapper . I guess that is what 'friends' do to 'friends' in your part of the world?

As for it being real or not, why should I waste my information here where it is not wanted, when I can make a proper post of it, teach those who care about healthy living a few important facts so as to help themselves and their families - and maybe even earn a few upvotes.

How did you figure out all this, so quick, you don't even know anything about him, I don't, and I'm a faithful follower...

Surprise, surprise.

I think he has answered your question for you, so I don't need to go any deeper into it.

Arthur,
I am the most unhealthy eater on the planet, that was sarcasm on the water, I drink the water because there isn't flavor or sugar taste. All I want to taste is smoke & meat, the potato could be considered dessert... since I eat the sandwich first.
My name is because even bad food taste can be doctored with enough salt and pepper, which I pronounce when I ask some one to pass me them, "pass the sultnpapper".
I appreciate you reading and commenting, and I hope you come back and visit again. Most anything in it's natural form is healthy in moderation, but we just don't moderate ourselves very well.
I am a meat & potatoes guy, I haven't eaten vegetables in 40 years, except in salsa, love chips & salsa.
Hopefully we'll visit again, cheers mate.

I'm still wondering.. Hope you're still alive..

I was not expecting you to contact me! Yes, thanks, still alive and kicking - as they say.

I only focus on the last photo haha

Me too, that is what it's all about, the beef!!!!!

Now I am drooling for a brisket sandwich! 😋 Sounds like a good place, and the meal was definitely nice looking! The only thing missing was the Southern staple: Sweet Tea to drink!

Not a sweet tea fan , but I will never attribute that to trying to eat healthy any time soon again, that little bit of sarcasm really sparked a dumpster fire on here earlier.

:)
It gets the juices going, so...thanks

Thanks for being a good sport. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67974.72
ETH 3841.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74