Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 04/07/18> Tell me again… where does oil come from?

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Back several years ago when I was in elementary school the text books at that time said that oil was created from the remains of dinosaurs that had died several millions of years ago and through the decaying process and being covered by layers and layers of soils they ended up with their natural fluids being heated by the earth and the result of the process created crude oil.

That oil then found its way into voids within the rock structures of the earth where it would end up collecting into pools or reservoirs that would eventually be discovered. The reserves were then drilled into and pumps were used to pump the oil to the surface of the earth were it was collected and then processed into refined oil and oil type products.

In my mind, even when I was young, I questioned that theory. When I was a youngster back in the 1960’s gasoline was less than 25 cents a gallon, including all the taxes at the time. In the mid 60’s oil production was around 7.5 million barrels a day in the United States. There are 42 US liquid gallons in a barrel of oil so that daily production was 315,000,000 gallons of oil daily. For the theory of the day to be correct about dinosaurs being the source of crude oil the North American content had to be one solid mass of big scary creatures a long time ago.

I have always been a critical thinker, even when I was young, and teachers didn’t like that when I was in school. I questioned about oil and the dinosaurs because we also were learning about fossils and there just weren’t enough dinosaur fossil discoveries being found. You would think that every time a new road would be cut or a mining operation strip mining coal or rock they would be pulling up dinosaur remnants left and right, but it wasn’t happening.

Now I see that the theory of the dinosaur as the source of crude oil has been down played, in fact two separate articles I read about how crude oil is formed didn’t even mention dinosaurs by name. Now it says plant and animal bio mass material is the source of the crude oil, same process as far as being covered with soil and heated by the earth.

Evidently more people than just me had caught on to the flaw in their theory and an adjustment needed to be made. Now the emphasis is that the majority of the oil is being created from creatures and plant materials found in the oceans. Seeing how it is nearly impossible to determine just how much fish and aquatic life is present or has been in the oceans it makes the theory a lot more difficult to question.

So just what is the chemical makeup of crude oil? For the answer I went to my trusty Googles search engine. Carbon is about 84% , Hydrogen is about 14%, Sulfur, Nitrogen and Oxygen make up the remaining 2% or so. These are all very common elements in nature. I’m no scientist but I think carbon is found in everything or damn near everything if not everything. Water has two parts hydrogen to one part oxygen, good old H2O as we say for water. Nitrogen is an inert gas that is found in 78% of the earth’s atmosphere.

I’m not convinced by the latest scientific explanations on how crude oil is produced; the barrels of oil produced just seem to exceed the amounts of bio mass that would be needed for the chemical decomposition process and such. Even if the oceans could produce enough bio mass, is that mass being buried as described in the process? That still wouldn’t explain oil and gas reserves being found in places dead in the middle of the United States, far away from the oceans, like North Dakota and Wyoming.

I have to believe that there is some other process taking place other than what has been given to us as the explanation.

Our bodies create oil, go a couple days without bathing or showering and see just how oily your skin and hair becomes. We consume water so that would provide the oxygen and hydrogen, other foods provide the carbon, nitrogen is in the air we breathe, we take into our bodies all the elements needed to create oil, and guess what, our bodies create oil.

I think what we have is that the water, carbon and other elements in the earth are being converted through a process that we have yet to determine how it works. Rather than admit we don’t know the exact process the scientists just come up with a theory that they can wrap their heads around and push it on down to us folks who don’t have a formal education in science. Who are we to question them?

I’m just a common man who likes to think, that is who I am. I don’t believe in the “big bang” theory and that this earth was created from nothing in some big explosion millions of years ago. There are just too many things about this earth that are to complex that could not have happened by accident in some explosion of nothing. I believe this earth was created by a higher power, call it God or Devine Being or whatever your religion has named it, the earth just is too complex to be an accident that “happened” in my opinion.

In that complexity is the process that creates oil from readily available common elements, we have discovered the oil; just we haven’t discovered the process that creates it.

Don’t look for the earth to run out of oil anytime soon, it just isn’t going to happen. As long as carbon, hydrogen, oxygen, sulfur and nitrogen are still available the earth will continue to produce oil. There are plenty of old oil wells here in Texas that had been pumped dry back in the 50’s and 60’s and were capped off and abandoned, not surprisingly these wells have been looked at again recently and some are being put back into production. How did a dry well start producing oil again? My guess is the process of oil production never stopped in nature and when left alone for decades the oil reserve in the ground built back up.

I know my thoughts are not along the lines of conventional science but mine never have been, I never believed the dinosaur story and it looks like the ocean story is just as fishy as well.

Until next time,
@sultnpapper


https://sola.ai/sultnpapper

Sort:  

Back several years ago? I'm not entirely convinced there were elementary schools when you were in elementary school.

Dinosaurs? Nope, I no more believe that hokum than you do. You'd have to pack 'em in like sardines. There can only be so many of us relics.

The biomass theory is sort of workable, but it seems to me that in order to get sufficient biomass you need tropical or subtropical conditions. How often have you heard of people complaining about the heat in Yukon or Alaska?

Scientist or not, you are close to the right idea about carbon. Carbon is a major component in everything that either is or was alive on earth. Other foundations are possible I think. Science fiction posits silicone and other bases for life, and we often find that yesterday's science fiction is today's science. But not on Earth. Pick one.

At 25 cents a gallon, the oil companies may decide that a well is no longer profitable. At sometimes over 4 dollars it may well be worth pumping again or going deeper. I'm not disputing your theory, just suggesting an equally viable one.

So how does oil come into being? I'm pretty sure pressure is involved, same as diamonds. Diamonds require purer carbon I think. There is always pressure, so it is likely there is always oil production. How fast, I do not know. If we cut our oil consumption drastically, and we can with ease if we take it out of the hands of the oil companies, we may be able to balance production with consumption.

As for the origin of the universe, the big bang theory only explains how. It does not explain why. Light blue touch paper and run.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Yea, maybe it was a one room school house, it has been so long ago I hardly remember. But some things you just don't forget, like the dinosaur theory of oil.
I believe we really don't know and with that, anyone's theory could be equally viable. I'm don't pretend to know anything about how oil is formed, but rather just throw it out here for discussion and see what we bring in with responses. Your idea about pressure I think is part of the equation, and that would help explain why so many oil fields are located under the oceans and large bodies of water. Water weighs a little over 8 pounds per gallon, all that weight pressing on the bottom of the ocean floor could be a critical factor.
I have a handful of friends that work in the oil field, those wells I mentioned coming back on line weren't drilled any deeper, the slipped in new casings and pumps and are pumping from the original depths.
About a mile down the road from me a family friend has an old natural gas well that is capped off, and has been from 1970, back in 2005 the cap split from rusting and the well was spewing natural gas. The crazy bastard put on his scuba tank and grabbed a big pipe wrench after he had picked up a 4" gate valve from the plumbing supply store and when out and unscrewed the rusted cap, then threaded the gate valve on the exposed pipe threads, with the valve wide open. Once he had the valve tight on the pipe he started closing the valve, he said the only problem he encountered in his plan was when the valve was damn near closed all the way the whistling noise was so loud he thought it was going to bust his ear drums. He said next time he would use ear plugs too.
But that gas well had been abandoned just like the other oil wells because the production just wasn't there, no telling how much gas is in there now, and now there are subdivisions all around his 5 acre tract of land.
I still can't wrap my head around how nothing can explode into something so massive as our universe? Nothing from nothing is still nothing, and nothing times nothing is still nothing... so nothing can't end up being something no matter how you work it in my book. The big bang is a bust with me.

I went to a one-room schoolhouse for a while, maybe 3 years. That was interesting.

I have several theories for the renewed pressure behind the rusty cap and the other wells, including continued production. Someone may find evidence to support one theory over the others, until then I'll let it ride.

Maybe something from nothing is the sort of thing a God might be able to do and control. As I said, the big bang is only the how. A God, your God, Gaia, Yahweh, Zeus, an elephant or a beautiful Black woman may be the why. And besides, the blue touch paper is something.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.18$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #99 (4/9/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Thank you very much, nice to be among such company as is found at The Daily Whistle Stops.

This isn't something I've put a lot of thought into over the years, but I think that's because I maybe wasn't a critical thinker in the past. I certainly am now! I used to generally believe what I was told if it was by someone who was on the TV and dressed in a suit or described as a "scientist".
I'm much more questioning these days - not that I'm anti-science or anything. I've just come to realise that there are many different scientific theories and opinions, and that these change from time to time. And your theory on oil sounds very interesting. There is oil in all living things, not just ancient fossils.

I have to believe that it isn't a process that takes millions of years and relies on waste matter to be the source, since we can produce oils from our metabolism. I think it is just a combination of the right materials in the right amounts and it could be produced anywhere possibly.
The last source I trust is the suits on TV, they are all reading from a script that is written for them, the question becomes, who is writing the script and what is their agenda?

The question is always who is writing the script and what is their agenda.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Exactly. I no longer watch TV.

Here, have your mind blown... you can thank me later ;)

Very interesting, @bigtom13 mentioned something about Emanuel Velikosky's theory of a planet collision, I wonder if this ties into that theory, 424' deep over 1600 acres is quite a pool of oil for sure.

YES! Steinbacher was one of the Electric Universe scientists who are proving that Velikovsky was mostly right.

Okay, then kudos to you and @bigtom13 for giving me something else to check out when I get some time.

Ohhhhh baby... watch your step, you are about to fall into a BIG rabbit hole... ThunderboltsProject and suspicious0bservers on youtube are excellent jumping off points.
I have had a nagging inner knowledge my whole life... we are energy beings having a physical experience, but science and religion could never seem to get on the same page. This is the science that made my spirit soar with that heady feeling of finding the truth.

I have been a "wabbit hunter" my entire life as Elmer Fudd use to call it, so rabbit holes I'm use too. Thanks for the tips on where to peak around.

In the grand scheme of things, we humans know next to nothing. We are still learning. If I look back on what I was taught in science and what my grandchildren are being taught now, there are a whole lot of information deleted or changed. I was a rebel in class and always challenged what I was taught. I didn't make sense to me and the teachers couldn't explain it either. I am still asking questions and not getting very good answers.

We seem very similar in our questioning of things. My brother teaches high school science classes and I drive him nuts with questions he can't answer, or when I give him examples of things the go against their books and the religion of science, because that is about what it has become, a religion.

I'm no geologist but in my hometown there are deep dug quarries nearby. As a teenager I visited some and found fossils of sea creatures inside the quarry rocks. I don't get it because Chicago is so far from the sea. I think the earth was in great catastrophe at one point. A flood might have caused these rocks to form.

Well with Chicago right on the shores of lake Michigan, that might have been ocean at some point in the past.I don't think there is any way to know for sure though.

Hmmmm. I tend to buy the bio-mass theory. When the earth was 20 degrees warmer it was a vast producer of plants. If you've ever been in a genuine rain forest (I've spent a fair amount of time in Olympic National Forest) the ground isn't solid, it's springy from all the green stuff that hasn't had time to rot into brown stuff. And the layer just keeps growing. 10x that over 90% of the earth's surface (yes I included water) for a million years and you end up with a pretty good stack of not brown and not green. It could be...

It seems I had a small problem with lessons taught when I was in school. It was where I learned to keep some things to myself. Or take the beatings. Like, I knew when I was very young I knew what happened to Neanderthal. We screwed them out of existence (literally). That was much the best kept to myself :)

Thanks for another provocative and thoughtful post. You keep writing them and I'll keep reading.

That's the thing about all of these: we always have an incomplete understanding of the world around us, but we get better and better and throw out older theories that don't make sense. It's good to question science for sure.

Curious about the old wells refilling, though I think a more likely explanation is that it spilled in from another location. Hey if we ever figure out how to generate it synthetically that would be something eh?

You can go to the auto parts store right now and by totally synthetic oil for your automobile. It is more expensive than conventional refined crude oil but it is available and lasts several thousands of miles longer than the conventional oil in terms of lubrication protection. Filtration is the big issue with oils and that is where more work needs to be done, if an engine filtration system could be made to extract out the dirt and carbons from the oil that contaminate the oil in normal operation you would never have to change the oil in a car. Right now we just trap the big pieces in the canister type filters, the smaller impurities continue to circulate through the system, giving the oil the dark brownish color.
If the filtration system was better, the only need to put more oil in would be because of leaks in the system, like valve cover gaskets or oil pan gaskets leaking.

Ooh, I did not know that. That is interesting stuff!

Pennzoil has a fully synthetic oil that is actually made from natural gas, I don't know the process they use but I think they have a video or at least a commercial on it, you might try their website or youTube if you want more details.

I've never been to a rain forest, I've been in a forest when it was raining if that counts, but if that bio-mass theory works for you I have no problem with that. Your explanation though leaves me with more questions I didn't even think about , if the temperature of the earth was 20 degrees higher in the past and things flourished why is it the people are pitching a fit about climate change and worrying about a half a degree or one degree temperature rise? When the obvious course of action would be to try and gain 20 and get the ecosystem firing on all cylinders.
The other question would be , where did all the water come from if only 10% of the earth's surface was water?
There is no question that plants produce oils, just like humans do as well, but the way I see it both would only continue to produce while living. A dead body produces no oil and a dead plant wouldn't either, only what is in them at the time of death, plus the decaying process would make up the potential availability. I would be curious to know how many barrels of oil have been produced in total globally since oil production has measured and recorded in barrels?
The last time I checked I think the deepest drilling into the surface of the earth was just shy of eight miles in depth, so there is a lot more unknown than is known on how this earth is really put together. Most all we think we know is from theory and guess work.

First off, I'm going to agree that it's long on guess work and even short on good theory :)

I didn't word my post carefully. When I said 90% I meant that there was a lot of biomass produced in the oceans, too. At 20 degrees higher there wasn't any ice, lots of water.

The reason to pitch a fit is that it's happening too fast and most organisms can't adapt if the temp goes up even 10C. Maybe even us. There is a lot of wailing and gnashing of teeth but if you REALLY listen it's about moving. People are going to have to move if the temp goes up much. And the countries that have really good production belts are really worried that the belts are going to move closer to the poles which makes less total land for growing stuff on and some places are going to have production moved outside their borders.

Ever hear of Emanuel Velikosky? He theorized that all our oil came from Venus when it bumped into us in the way back. Worlds in Collision was his epic work. Got a lot of play in the early 70s.

Which is just a way to say I have no good idea where oil comes from. I have no idea if it's still being produced. Neither does anybody else. Know.

Never heard of Eman V, but his theory may be as good as some, but like you said , we really don't know much about it, meaning the oil , other than it has been very useful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62585.78
ETH 3013.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49