Update, 2019 Mar 20: ❌ What's Up with @roleerob ❓

in #blog5 years ago

There is a famous quote attributed to the great American author, Mark Twain, upon learning there was a rumor he was on his deathbed in London:

"The report of my death was an exaggeration."

Since I have not published a Steem post for 16 days, I have begun receiving inquiries about whether I have left the Steem blockchain?! 😉

"No!" Is the short answer ...

But, okay, while I have kept up limited engagement, through commenting and upvoting, I decided to take a few minutes (yeah right ... 😉) to write this post. Sort of in the general spirit of a "free write," although I have never actually created a post of that type before ...

So, not a lot of detail (at least for me ... 😉), here is a bit of what is going on in the life of @roleerob ...

❌ To-Do List ❗


Since returning home from my "Road to Recovery" trip and completing the major effort to write posts about the whole experience, I have turned my attention and focus to a long to-do list ...

Relationships

  • In my reflections on my R2R trip, I spent a lot of time thinking about the "next chapter" and what is important. Truly important. Answer (for me)? People and the time we spend with them!

    So ... Won't elaborate here and now. I have said I may write some Steem posts, in the future, on these reflections. We'll see whether I can get to them ...

  • Over a long career, I have many contacts in five different industries. I have begun revisiting a number of them, as a part of reestablishing a network in search of future employment opportunities.

Responsibilities

  • A key decision on my R2R trip is that I will continue working. While technically not absolutely necessary, I am just not ready to stop.

    So ... Need to work on what exactly that will look like and get with it! 😊

  • Lots and lots of "odds and ends" projects to "check the box" on ... like ... taxes (groan) ... 😞

Life

  • Spring has almost "sprung" here and there is a lot of work to do outside in our yard. Spring is my favorite season of the year and I am really looking forward to it this year. More than I have in a long time ...

  • I have a growing list of responsibilities at our church.

Steem Blockchain

  • I have been maintaining limited engagement, through some commenting and especially upvoting, to ensure I am make good use of my hard-earned stake on the Steem blockchain to invest in the fine efforts of my fellow Steemians.

  • Working on increasing my support of our all-important Steem witnesses. For example, I recently wrote to @holger80, to let him know I had voted ~ 13.4 MVests for him in his role as Witness.

    I was very impressed with his efforts to make it now possible to vote for posts over 7 days old! If interested (you should be!), you can read more about it and SteemRewarding.com in @holger80's detailed post here.

  • Continuing to do my small part to help the efforts of those working hard to add value to our Steem blockchain. Particularly those helping others.

    Some of those which stand out to me - the @pifc community, the @tenkminnows community, and the weekly "Curation & Engagement League" efforts of @abh12345. I have started or increased my investment into each of them ...

Other Blockchains

I have never made it any secret the only reason I ever appeared on the Steem blockchain was due to first being an investor in it. I am an investor in others, as well, and have continued to expand my investments into others.

  • For example, ARK which provides an opportunity to earn some income. While waiting (hoping) for it to appreciate in value. As a great part of being on the Steem blockchain, I recently learned about @arkecosystem who is writing about the "latest greatest" associated with this blockchain. Like this recent post about the most recent upgrade to their wallet.

    True story: "Found" this account due to my "bot bud" @trufflepig ... 😉

    Dislcaimer: No this isn't investment advice ...

  • To stay on top of my "digital asset" investments, I need to know the latest prices. Often. So ... Long delayed due to my job, etc., I have begun working on a database to do just that. By design, it will ultimately replace the spreadsheet I have used up until now. While an order of magnitude more difficult to build, it is also an order of magnitude more powerful. And, it helps me maintain the skills developed during my career ...

  • Depending on whether it seems worth the time and effort, I may try to market some of my database skills on the Steem blockchain. They would be focused on others who are also investing in the "digital asset" class.

Closing

Well, that is enough for now. @steempeak indicates this post has exactly 943 words in it. Small post, at least for me ... Thank you dear reader for reading along on my latest "adventures." As time permits, I will likely do this again. I’d love to hear any feedback you may be inspired to provide.

Until "next time," all the best to you for an even better tomorrow, as we all work together to build our Steem Community! 👍 😊

Respectfully,
Steemian @roleerob

Posted using SteemPeak and “immutably enshrined in the blockchain” on Wednesday, 20 March 2019!

divider 123.png


This account is protected by @dustsweeper

Sort:  

I'm glad you wrote one more, your publications are very nice.

Spring has almost "sprung" here and there is a lot of work to do outside in our yard. Spring is my favorite season of the year and I am really looking forward to it this year. More than I have in a long time ...

I love spring, since I was little I love nature, especially flowers, that's why spring is the best, I like the smell and the color that can be perceived in spring.

I have a growing list of responsibilities at our church.

That is a great responsibility !!! The one we have with God, that is our base!

Blessings.

Great to "hear" @blessed-girl, that you also love Spring. We took our first walk in our neighborhood this afternoon. For the first time in 2019. The weather was that nice.

Exactly one week ago, it was snowing hard. It was literally the worst storm of the entire season. Almost a foot of it ( ~ 31 cm) and very wet. But ... It warmed up remarkably quickly and there is only a little snow on the ground now.

Once back from our walk, I even went out in the yard and cut down our raspberry canes, to get ready for the new season! 😊

Thank you for stopping by. 👋 Blessings to you and yours @blessed-girl!

I was just thinking about you, and how I haven't seen a post from you in a while, so this post is really wonderful to me ! Hi ! So good to see that you haven't left and so good to see what's going on in your head and what are you planning for the future :)

I value the opportunity to reflect on things myself, and sometimes we do need that bit of time to find our next compass, dont we? :D

Until next time, @roleerob !

Yes @veryspider ...

"I value the opportunity to reflect on things myself, and sometimes we do need that bit of time to find our next compass, dont we? :D"

... with you I think quiet times of reflection are important. Life can be so busy, even hectic if we allow it, such that we can rush right past what might be important. Perhaps even very important ...

Thank you my Aussie friend, for stopping by! 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

:) Happy to hear from you :)

People and the time we spend with them!

I couldn't agree more that this is investment-worthy :) Building and maintaining a network could give you a hand when in search for new opportunities. Building and maintaining friendships may give you a sense of fulfillment and joy. I find both of these extremely important, too :)

It's late here and I will leave my comment like this for now. Maybe I will edit it tomorrow and add it a proper ending :)

Yes @insight-out, I don't believe there is anything more important to invest time into than our relationships with other people. Now ... True confessions, I am not the best example of actually living these words out in my life. I hope to change that ...

"It's late here ..."

Yes, I was just thinking that "Wow, it must be late way over there on the other side of the world and @insight-out is still up and at it ... Maybe her little one is keeping her up ..." 😉

Thank you for stopping by. I always look forward to hearing from you! 😊 👍

Always great to hear updates from you my friend! Adjusting to a nee phase in life takes time and is understandable. Look forward to continuing your journey!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes @newageinv, it does take time. Even more as you get older! 😉

Choosing to perhaps do something very different is a big step, so I want to be sure of it. I am fortunate, at this stage of my life, that I don't have to rush through it ...

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi there, again!

Priorities first, right?

I also have a few money thrown into other blockchains but BTC and Steem are my largest investments by far. I also have some MCO and the rest of the projects I have very small positions. Some of them even disappeared. So now they're no positions. Uahhahahah. 😂

Yes @trincowski, gotta keep my priorities straight ... 😉

"Some of them even disappeared.'

Yep, right there with you. I guess they have not entirely disappeared, but close enough to near zero ...

The best analogy I've read / heard is likening these "digital assets" to the auto industry early in American history. Soon after the invention of the car, there were many auto companies here. Over time, however, they went out of business until there were only three left.

But ... Those three changed the world ...

Hi @roleerob!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.110 which ranks you at #3386 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 21 places in the last three days (old rank 3407).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 377 contributions, your post is ranked at #220.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @roleerob! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2000 replies. Your next target is to reach 2250 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Here are the winners
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44