How to deal with self-doubt as a creative

in #blog6 years ago

Hello Steemit!

Today I want to write about something different. I listen to quite a few podcasts during my bus commutes and today I listened to an episode of the Ground Up Show by Matt D'Avella. His guest was James Clear.

They mostly talked about habit change and how to be productive and this was very interesting to listen to. I highly recommend this podcasts series to anybody that listens to podcasts and is interested in filmmaking or creative things.

Anyways, that's not really what I wanted to get into. Towards the end of the episode, they also talked about how to deal with doubt as a creative. I keep finding myself stuck with this problem. In the past more than now, but it still happens occasionally.

Sometimes I feel discouraged and that is sometimes the reason I stay at home and not go out into forests or somewhere else to find great photos. Heck, photos that might be even better than my current ones, just waiting to be photographed.

They say, every artist has a style and is unique. If you don't create the pictures you want to create, nobody will. In all the decades' cameras have existed, no one has created the same photos as you and will never create photos that you will.

While I do agree with this statement they say, I think it is difficult to apply to landscape photography. It fits very well into other types of photography, like portrait or something else.

The thing I do to motivate myself to create and go out is to look at my old photos. The photos that I took when I got my DSLR or even when I started off with my phone. I knew nothing about photography back then and if I compare them to my current photos. Like those autumn pictures I uploaded the past few days ago, I feel like I have improved tremendously and I am motivated to shoot again.

Seriously, people. Don't compare yourself to others or let the lack of engagement on a photo you thought was THE BEST PHOTO let you down. Pursue your craft and someday you will find success in what you do. Creative passions constantly evolve and heck maybe that's is what you love to do and find success in doing it.

I remember when I thought a photo I shot was THE BEST PHOTO. It was still taken with my cell phone because I didn't have a DSLR back then. Nowadays, the only thing I would do with such a photo is probably hit the delete button.

Here are some of the photos that I thought were great:
17817418_1880323422185938_1711562459074002944_n.jpg
17881541_1885742588377528_4230557114570899456_n.jpg
17881962_532434327144792_1927862496773799936_n.jpg

Sorry for this text-heavy post, I just wanted to get this off of my soul.

Do you also listen to podcasts, if so which ones?

Follow me on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/franzkphotography/

See you in my next post,
@prored

Sort:  

Congratulations @prored! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @prored! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 100

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!
Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57726.29
ETH 2446.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39