Breaking The Silence - An Autism Journey - Part 1

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Autism is a condition, not a disease. Most don't care. Most others treat people with Autism like shit, like it's the cooties— hey, just being honest. It's rarely overt. Often it's subtle. And always, it's painful.

SSPX8419.jpg

Last month I introduced Steemit to my daughter Kiki. She goes live on Facebook and Twitter through my mobile app quite often. She sings songs that she makes up herself. She dances and greets her friends that are watching her streaming. Then birthday parties roll around, and she doesn't get invited. Such is Autism.

This is all just a preface...

The above photo is of my son Joseph. He's a baby here. This photo was taken after I rushed him to the hospital after having several long seizures. He never had a seizure before. At this time, he wasn't diagnosed with Autism. Before this photo was taken, everything was normal.

SSPX0088.jpg

These seizures were not the first though. They happened once a week for about a month. I was confused and the doctors got him referred to Children's Hospital neurology to test if he was epileptic. Back and forth from the hospital, I wondered if something more was going on each time. They never spoke to me. There was never results. Just more tests.

After a while, he would just sleep. I hate to use the term, but the word in America (as insulting as it is) is vegetable... he was in and out of consciousness for weeks.

168285686572003.jpg

He started developing rashes all over his body. He got a fever. The doctors said he had HFM (which is a virus) but later we found out— after symptoms persisted, he had contracted a virus in the family of scarlet fever. My family thought maybe this was related to the MMR vaccine, but Joseph didn't get his vaccine. There was too much going on for me to have him inoculated in addition to all the other issues we were dealing with. Sometimes I wonder if we had gotten him the vaccine if he would have never contracted this virus.

SSPX8048.jpg

SSPX8051.jpg

Joseph recovered fully after this. And it was a relief. However, the doctors never really told me what happened. The approach was more, "It's over now so don't worry about it." His seizures stopped. And after a year, I almost forgot about the ordeal.

SSPX8463.jpg

Joseph hit his milestones. He started walking and talking normally. But then just before he turned 3, I noticed something wasn't quite right. Joseph would experience spells where he would forget. He would space out. He became clumsy sometimes. It would only last for a few moments at first. Then those moments got longer and longer.He couldn't control his hands anymore for moments at a time. And he would sink into his own world and seem confused. It was if his brain was unwiring.

2013-01-12 08.35.52.jpg

He was still a happy kid most of the time. In between these episodes, he was seemingly normal. I scheduled another appointment with his doctor to report these anomalies. "Are the seizures going to come back?" "Does he have a brain tumor?" I needed answers. But the doctors did test after test again and didn't have any answers.

Joseph started losing his words. He stopped speaking as much or answering in shorter and shorter phrases. Prior to this, I was using a program called Your Baby Can Read to help teach him words. And while he could still read words, he stopped being able to use them productively. Eye contact reduced. And he started doing strange things like walk in circles, rub himself on walls, avoiding touch, and flapping his arms.

He was still a happy kid. But by this point, I had developed severe anxiety. Accident proneness became regular. And I had to use a large playpen to keep him safe. The playpen was really a play-gate that navigated through the whole house. The gate was so big that there was more house inside of it than outside of it.

2012-11-28 07.28.37.jpg

The doctor had set us up with an appointment at Mass General Hospital. After a slew of tests, Joseph was diagnosed with Autism.

"What is Autism?" I never heard about it before then. "Can he die from it?" "No" they said. But he would have a different life than I thought. And I didn't know what they meant at the time.

Time passed. I learned more about Autism. I had a daughter. And Joseph was in Early Intervention. I had quit my job. I had quit Music. I gave up my Record Deal. And I took all my savings and music money, and lived off it. I cashed out of Crypto. I shut down my shops. All I wanted to do was focus on Joseph and my daughter.

Taking care of an Autistic child in Early Intervention is quite extensive. I spent 40 hours a week in and out of various therapies with him. It was a full-time job. In between, I learned to code websites and my only income was working installing Wordpress. I found clients by word of mouth, and cold emailing every day.

2013-04-22_1366668566.jpg

The stress was too much on our family and I found myself single again. Still, my commitment was making sure that my kids have as normal a life as possible— as loving a love as possible.

Over a year past and once again our life was resembling some sense of being under control. Joseph said Mommy for the first time. And he was making great progress learning to speak— more on that in part 2.

1176314_562991640434737_1932785523_n.jpg

Joseph had a spasm while eating and accidentally stabbed himself in the eyeball with a baby fork. He had surgery that day, and it exhausted all of my savings. We were lucky that Joseph didn't hurt his lens, but he fully lacerated his entire eyeball across. Gratefully, the wonderful doctors at Mass Eye and Ear Infirmary saved his eye.

563622993704935.jpg

He spent almost a year as Pirate with an eye patch. We lost our place. Depression set it. I stopped being able to do so much. I'd lived almost 5 years off everything I'd earned for my entire adulthood.

Thanks to my friends and family, Joseph got his first pair of glasses.

563623367038231.jpg

It's a deeply humbling experience to be on top of the world, completing college and making money, thinking you'll have a family and live happily every after... thinking you'll be a rockstar in so many ways, touring the world with big names.

Then your dream ends. Or rather, it changes.

For this was just the beginning of my journey with Autism. My son, the first of 3 diagnosed on the Autism Spectrum. My daughter, the second. But I'll leave that and more for later...

10549243_476219855855743_5086921400888143100_o.jpg

While many have watched our Journey on Facebook over the years— side by side, it can seem at times incredibly tragic. But despite all of this, it's also been deeply rewarding. In fact, Autism diagnoses saved me from a life of delusion and fantasy— a fast life that would have likely resulted in my early undoing. Live fast, die faster.

My kids are my angels. All THREE of them. Yes, I have three kids— my eldest (from my first marriage) is 23 now. He had a different mom (the old me) than my younger two.

Autism as a journey has been one of transformation— while challenging, for the better. It's not something kids are just born with that comes with preparation and a nurse telling you beforehand what to expect. You don't know until things start going wrong for the worst. And you have to adapt really fast to the changes in your life and lifestyle or things could go in the wrong direction fast. Luckily for us, we have gotten this far.

Before I end this part one, I just want to say that this doesn't have an unhappy ending. Oh, on the contrary. No worries. Joseph has grown to be a fine young man, with a bright future. He's integrated in school. He's at the top of his class. And he's Mensa! He wants to be an astro-physicist! Can you believe that?

111 (7).jpg

In later blogs, I'll be talking more about our journey and stories but also about the cutting edge work we've done, studies, and treatments we're using as a family to not only thrive with Autism but excel.

I now believe Autism, no matter how severe, is not a curse but a blessing in disguise. I no longer believe in curing Autism but accepting it and bringing it forward into the world as a variety of new people with unique (and often hidden) gifts.

Thank you for reading. Until next time!


If you want to follow our story, you can follow me on Steemit. We would love it if you Resteem or share this post for exposure as we raise awareness about Autism this April. April is Autism Awareness month.

Keep loving, and as Joseph says, "Keep Gaming!"


Are you online every day? Do you use all of your Steem Power?
If you can spare to loan 1 SP while I build up my own,
it will keep this little Minnow swimming.❤
Delegations are 100% refundable.

Sort:  

happyshark.jpg

Congratulations!

You have been visited by the Shark Of Quality Content! That means this post has been approved by #sharkschool, a place where people go to learn about content creation and marketing.

Keep up the good work!

Want to learn how to be a shark like this author? Then join our Discord chat: https://discord.gg/HfGmzU6

Thanks for the Sharkbite. ♥️

You got a 86.35% upvote from @brandonfrye courtesy of @yallapapi!

Want to promote your posts too? Send a minimum of .10 SBD or Steem to @brandonfrye with link in the memo for an upvote on your post. You can also delegate to our service for daily passive earnings which helps to support the @minnowfund initiative. Learn more here

You got a 83.09% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @yallapapi!

You are such a strong determined mama! I can't imagine how hard and scary your journey must have been and you seem to have glided through it with the utmost grace! Sending all my love to you and your gorgeous family! ❤️❤️❤️

Thank you @iamjamie ♥️ Love goes a long way. Some days were harder than others but overall love is constantly a healing force— you just don't really notice— you just go, ya know? Thank you for your support and kind words. Miss ya posting!

LOL strong and determined mammal :D

yes her story has touched me, I was sad when I heard the baby was having problems and happy to see him doing better but sad again to see his accidental fork in the eye, I'm amazed the doctors saved his eye and that the human eye lens is so strong! Human body is so nice I just want medical science to find answers and treatment for autism and I want human society to integrate people with disabilities better, and we do this through social media!

Very happy to see his eye got better tho , I have tourettes and I'm always getting flashes of terrible things happening and I'm always afraid of losing my vision or teeth or accidentally stabbing myself in the eye lol maybe I should get some safety goggles, I want a force field for babies , I want ways for medical science to regrow limbs and give people with learning diabilities some cognitive upgrades I just want all humans to get to experience the wonders of language and art and literature and music and appreciate it,

It appears I'm late to the party- so I'm adding a comment here and upvoting for visibility. I want to thank EVERYONE for sharing this post with me and it's been incredibly validating and supportive of everyone to encourage me to write and to share this experience with me. Thank you to Curie for the award and everyone who participated. I'm deeply honored. And thank you to everyone who is helping me learn to write better and become part of the community here. You're appreciated. I hope to be able to respond to every comment and upvote although my power is low here today. Doing my best. I'm thankful to my followers and my readers for this opportunity to tell my story and share my insights. Please consider delegating to @curie to support their efforts. They are doing a lot to help new users get discovered. Thanks again.

Thank you for writing this (from someone on the spectrum)

Thank you for your comment @run-the-bits :)

Have you met @jazzyfish?

really great post and what an incredible story! it's great to ready your story about your son with autism...most of us only know what we have seen in movies or tv shows.

Thank you for reading my blog. And I appreciate your honest feedback. You are right that what most people know about Autism is learned in television and the media. Most don't realize our children are born seemingly healthy, then start falling apart neurologically at a very young age. This is incredibly frightening and frustrating for the children as well. The good news, however, is they are in there— and what I mean by that is; despite their differences— they are fully aware on the inside. I'll be writing more on that in part 2. Thank you so much for your attention and time, and for your comment @natureofbeing.

I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for being one of the greatest mothers in the world! Wish you more strength and power to support your kids and make them a better person like yourself @omitaylor. This story motivated me to become a tough person and it moved my heart at the same time. Your kids are so beautiful and charming I must say. Very cute. Haha!

Love and blessings,
@hungryhustle

AWESOME post, mama - you are an amazing person. What a special journey you have! Grateful for your courage in opening yourself and sharing. The curation you have attracted is totally expected :) and well deserved! :)

Thank you so much ♥️ @artemislives. I am very excited about growing here in Steemit. Thanks to you as well and everyone supporting me taking some root here. I'm still shaky and trying to find my footing. But hopefully in time I will be rocking and socking like the rest of everyone else :)

You are doing wonderfully well! :) Supporting you is easy..... :)

This was a powerful and deeply moving post. I have tears in my eyes as I write this. Being a guitarist, musician, and recording engineer for 3 decades I can relate to the dream of making a living off of your creativity and passion. What you have had to deal with, and the way you have dealt with it should get you a 10 Star Mom's award! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️. You have persevered and found the "Gift" in all of this. Not everyone could do that without completely losing it. I feel in my heart that you were chosen for this, as we all have Soul contracts, but the way that you have handled it is an INspiration for everyone. I believe that children with autism have special gifts beyond those of "normal" children, and all of these labels are nothing more than labels made up by a judgemental society. Compassion is my "go to" tool for anything I catch myself judging in myself or others. Sending you and your family much love and waves of blessings. 🙏 <3 PS. I don't have much steam right now as I just paid back Keni for helping me through the verification process, however as I build it up, you would be one of the first persons that I would want to support.

Thanks for the thoughtful and lengthy comment @sourceoftruth. I'm still learning how to blog to strangers and I have stranger anxiety— ha ha ha. Facebook is so different. I have hundreds of people who already know me, friends and family that comfort my posting anxiety with rapid validation. Haha...

Blogging is a whole other experience. I'm a shaking mess posting this! Ha. I'm so glad I did though. I'm starting to feel that this may be therapeutic for me in some ways.

And thanks for your words on soul contracts. Indeed, my children were incarnated into my life as my life partners. I'm so excited for the opportunity this challenge brings me, although at times I question my competence.

In the words of Buzz Lightyear, "To infinity and beyond!"

Awesome content!!! (Mind blowing) delegation 😁

Wow strong lady. I dont even know what to say....

So well brought, so passionate, I can only bow the head and be humble on what you wrote.

You are a true addition to steemit. All is and will be well

I resteemed it for more autism awareness

Thank you for reading, for resteeming and for your encouragement @karinxxl. I'm still not used to this hahaha. I'm not even getting a hang of it yet. But all the inspiration and encouragement from you and others is helping me. The technical part is my hiding place- you know. I can write all about what I think about Steemit. But then when it's time to get a little self-exposing, I can't tell if it's butterflies or an oncoming panic attack. HA HA. Thank you for supporting me. <3

Yeah I can imagine. That is a totally different game there putting yourself in the spotlight with your feelings. One that is high valued, but is also one that is scary to put out there.

Regardless, you forefilled it really good and all of a sudden the votes are rolling in ;)

I really hope steemit can provide you some financial slack in your journey!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99